SOUTHEASTERN NEW MEXICO

LAW ENFORCEMENT ACADEMY

Course Description

This program is a para-military
style police academy for the
State of New Mexico, and
meets the State of New
Mexico’s training requirements
for police officer certifications.
This program consists of
about 720 hours or 17 weeks
of basic iaw enforcement
training. This academy will
require all applicants to live on
campus in our cadet dorms for
the entirety of the course. All
classes are scheduled to meet
approximately 48 hours per
week, Monday through '
Thursday. Some evening or
Friday classes may be
required.

Why Take this
Course?

Our mission is to provide a
superior academic and
vocational basic law
enforcement training program
that meets the needs of
students pursuing a career as a
professional law enforcement
officer.

The Southeastern New Mexico
Law Enforcement Academy
abides by all laws as ‘
established by the New Mexico
Law Enforcement Act, Chapter
29, Article 7 NMSA 1978, and
will follow all rules and

" regulations as set by the New
Mexico Law Enforcement
Academy Board.
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Course Requirements

A completed Basic Police
Officer Training packet and
registration form is required.
Application packets are due on
or before the date indicated on
the registration form. Note that
a number of the forms must be
notarized prior to submission.

If you are not affiliated with a
Police agency, a criminal
history and background
investigation will need to be
conducted.

Pre-service applicants will be
responsible for payment of
their medical and
psychological examinations,
and will be responsible for
uniforms, duty belts,
ammunition, gym gear, and
other required items.

One month prior to the
Academy start date, each
applicant will be required to
participate in the

pre- assessment of four
physical fitness standards.
Applicants must score within
the NMLEA BPOT entrance
standards to be admitted to the
Academy.
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Who Can Take this
Course?

e Must be a U.S. citizen
e Must be at least 18 years of

age

e Must have a high school

diploma or the equivalent

e Must have a valid driver’s

license

e Cannot be convicted, or

pled guilty to a crime within
a 3-year period of:
- Aggravated assault
- Theft
- DWIl or DUI
- Controlled
Substances
- Crime involving moral
turpitude

Military service members:

e Must have DD-214
paperwork

e Cannot have a dishonorable
discharge from the Armed
Forces of the United States

Department of Public Safety | New Mexico Junior College | Bob Moran Building | 575-492-2716 |

snmlea@nmjc.edu

www.nmjc.edu/community/public_safety/enforcement/index.aspx



