


[image: ]    
New Mexico Department of Game and Fish
Big Game Draw Application - Frequently Asked Questions
Updated for the 2023-24 License Year

APPLYING FOR THE DRAW

Carcass Tag Requirement
A carcass tag is required in conjunction with the license for all big-game species and turkey (unless E-Tag is chosen). Applicants must either verify or provide a mailing address, or select the E-Tag option when they select their hunt codes. If tag mailing is selected and you are successful in the draw for deer, elk, pronghorn, bighorn sheep, Barbary sheep, ibex, oryx or javelina, you will be mailed a combination license/tag in late May or June. Mailing addresses and options can be edited on the My Purchases page until May 15. NOTE: The Habitat Stamp must either be purchased through the draw application, or through License Sales after March 27, and must be purchased before May 15 to be included in the combined license/tag.
If applying for Draw 1 species (bear and turkey), you are required to purchase the bear or turkey license if successful in the draw, and a tag will be issued with the license (unless E-Tag is chosen). Online purchases must allow enough time (up to 14 days) to receive the tag in the mail prior to hunting, otherwise, customers may be required to purchase a duplicate license/tag in person at a license vendor or NMDGF office. 

When will my Tag be mailed if I am successful?
Successful applicants will be mailed a combination license/tag in late May or early June.

Duplicate Licenses/Tags
A duplicate license and tag may be purchased for $6 in person at any license vendor or NMDGF office, or by phone (allow up to 14 days for mailing) after March 27. A $1 vendor fee will apply.

How do I change my tag selection?
Mailing addresses can be edited on the My Purchases page until May 15. NOTE: The Habitat Stamp must either be purchased through the draw application, or through License Sales after March 27, and must be purchased before May 15 to be included in the combined license/tag.
Tagging options can be edited from E-tag to physical tag or vice versa under the My Purchases page until April 1.
If you initially choose the E-Tag option and wish to change to a physical tag after May 15, 2023, you can simply purchase a duplicate tag at any license vendor or NMDGF office. 

Outfitter Pool Tags
Draw applicants in the outfitter pool may select to have their license/tag mailed directly to their contracted outfitter. If this option is selected, the carcass tag will be mailed to the outfitters’ registration mailing address on file. Hunters attaching to an application that has selected this option will also have their tag mailed to the outfitter. Do not enter the outfitter’s mailing address as your personal address. 

What is a Game Hunting license and why am I required to get one before I apply for the draw?
A game hunting license is valid for small game (migratory birds, upland game birds and squirrel) and is required by state law prior to purchasing or applying for a big game license (antelope, bear, cougar, Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, ibex, javelina, oryx). Game hunting licenses and/or stamps purchased through the draw application are nonrefundable. 

Why am I required to purchase the Habitat Management and Access Validation (HMAV) with my Game Hunting license?
New Mexico state law states that the HMAV must be purchased by anyone 18 or older once per year and that licenses not accompanied by a HMAV are invalid. The HMAV will therefore be added to the shopping cart automatically when a Game Hunting license is selected. 
Applicants will have the option to also add the Habitat Stamp, which is required for hunting on Forest Service or BLM lands, as well as the HIP number for migratory bird hunting, and the second rod validation if a combination hunting/fishing license is purchased. Please see the Big Game Rules and Information booklet for requirements and exceptions. Purchasing additional stamps/validations at the time of application is not required; however all hunters must possess the appropriate stamps in the field. Stamps will be available beginning March 27, 2023. If successful in the draw, any additional stamps and/or validations must be purchased by May 15, 2023 to be included in the combined license/tag.

No refund for the Game Hunting license?
New Mexico state law requires purchase of the game hunting license in order to apply for or purchase any big-game or turkey license. The law does not provide for a refund of the game hunting license fee. 

In OTC Licenses, Permits and Stamps when I try to purchase the Game Hunting license, I get a message that says the license will expire March 31?
The 2023 Game Hunting license will only be available through the draw application prior to March 22, 2023. Click Draw Hunt Applications in the MAIN MENU, do not go to License Sales 2023.

What is the Harvest Information Program (HIP) Number and why is it offered through the Big-Game Draw?
The HIP number is required for hunting migratory birds (ducks, geese, doves, Sandhill cranes, band-tailed pigeons, etc.). As a courtesy it is offered as an option with the Game Hunting license purchase because the Game Hunting license is valid for hunting of migratory game birds. If selected, the customer will be asked to complete a federal survey regarding their migratory bird hunting for the previous year.

Why don’t I have the option to purchase the game hunting license when I apply for bear or turkey hunts?
Licenses are not issued for bear and turkey draw hunts. If successful, the applicant will be required to purchase the appropriate over-the-counter license, as well as applicable stamps after March 27. Because licenses are not issued, youth applicants without hunter education or mentor youth certifications are not prevented from applying. Permits for successful applicants will not be available to print until the appropriate license(s) have been purchased.

The system doesn’t give me the option to purchase a game hunting license-Disabled Veterans
If applying for Draw 2, resident Disabled Veteran card holders are not required to purchase a game hunting license. Resident veterans who are 100% disabled as a result of service in the armed forces qualify for this card, which is a lifetime game hunting and fishing license and allows them to apply for deer hunts free of charge. Disabled Veteran card holders should be aware that if they draw any species other than deer, they would be required to purchase the Habitat Stamp after March 27 if they plan to hunt on Forest Service or BLM lands. The system will skip the game hunting license purchase screen if the applicant’s account shows a Disabled Veteran card has been issued.

How do I create a group or party application?
The initial applicant will log into the system and choose the "Create New Application" option. Once the hunter has successfully applied, an application number (8 digits) and an attach code (6 alpha-numeric characters) will be assigned to the application.
Attaching hunters will log into their own account to apply and select "Attach to an application." Attaching applicants will be prompted to enter the first hunter’s application number and attach code to attach to that application. Every hunter must apply and pay separately, even when attaching. Please note the number of applicants per application is different for each species, refer to the Hunting Rules and Information Booklet for more information. Anyone wishing to attach to an application must be eligible for all hunts selected.

I am trying to attach to another application but the application number and attach code don’t seem to be working?
Make sure you are entering the correct application number obtained from the first applicant. The attach code is 6 characters (letter, number, letter, number, letter, number). Finally make sure the application is not full and that you are eligible to attach to the application. If there is an error, it will be noted towards the top of the page in a yellow box. 

I get an error message when trying to attach to another application?
In order to attach, you must be eligible for all hunts selected on the application. For example, adults can’t attach to applications with youth hunts selected, customers without a current mobility-impaired certification can’t attach to applications with a mobility-impaired hunt selected, and nonresidents can’t attach to resident applications with WMA hunts or antlerless elk hunts selected. 

The system is asking for a private land authorization code for deer?
Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A have deer hunts available on private land only. To apply for these hunts, the applicant must have an authorization code obtained from the landowner. When applying for these hunts as a party application with the exception of 5A, the applicant who creates the application must have the authorization code and provide the party with the application and attachment codes. These authorization numbers may only be used one time. Landowners can obtain authorization numbers from the Northwest Area Regional Biologist (505-222-4710).


I am trying to attach but it says the application is full.
If the number of applicants has been met no more applicants may attach to the application. The total number of applicants that can be on an application is: 1 for Bighorn sheep and bear; 2 for turkey, oryx, ibex, and 4 for antelope, deer, elk, Barbary sheep and javelina. 

If I’m a resident does it hurt my chances if I apply with a nonresident?
Yes. Because there must be licenses available for all applicants on an application, applying with a nonresident is unwise for residents. They are essentially subjecting themselves to availability of a license for the nonresident in the 6% nonresident pool.

I’m seeing a message that says I am unlikely to draw for a particular hunt?
Because of changes to the draw quota distribution directed by the State Game Commission, nonresidents are extremely unlikely to draw any hunt code with 12 or fewer licenses and outfitter pool applicants are unlikely to draw any hunt code with 6 or fewer licenses. 
If attaching to an application with one of these hunt codes selected, a similar message will appear.
Nonresidents who attach to a resident application with a hunt code selected with 12 or fewer licenses may negatively affect the residents’ chance of drawing that hunt.

Can I change the hunt codes on my application?
Once an application is paid in full, it cannot be edited. If you must change your hunt codes, you will need to delete the application and start over. To change hunt codes on a party application, all applicants would need to delete and start over. Please note: once you delete yourself from a party application, you can’t re-attach. The application fee is non-refundable ($7.00 residents and $13.00 non-residents); the license fee for deleted applications paid for with a credit or debit card will be refunded immediately. 

How do I know my application is submitted correctly?
You will receive a receipt that you may print to show that you have applied. When you review the application in either My Purchases or Draw Hunt Applications, it should show the status “Paid” assigned to your application. It is the applicant’s responsibility to complete all mandatory harvest reports prior to the deadlines and fulfill all other requirements to avoid rejection of their applications. Please check your 2022 mandatory harvest report requirements and all other requirements prior to the deadlines. You should receive an email confirmation from NMSpecHunts@state.nm.us when your application is completed and paid for. Please make sure you are able to receive email from this address and that the email address in your account is correct. 

How can I tell if people are attached to my application?
Log in to your account and select Draw Hunt Applications in the Main Menu. Click Review next to the application in question. All applicants on the application will be displayed.

How do I view my application once it has been submitted?
Log in to your account; go to My Purchases or Draw Hunt Applications in the Main Menu. All the species you have applied for should be displayed. If you’re in My Purchases, make sure the current license year is displayed in the drop-down menu at the top. Click Review to display each individual application.

I am trying to apply for another person, but all I see is my information?
If you see your information then you are logged in to your account. Log out of your account by clicking in the upper right-hand corner of the page and have the other person log in to their account so they may apply for the draw.

Can I apply for different sporting arms on the same application?
Yes, you can select any valid hunt code as a choice on your application, as long as you’re eligible for that hunt. 

I don’t see the hunts I am trying to apply for?
Generally, if you don’t see a hunt code in the drop-down list, the reason is because you are ineligible for that hunt. Hunt codes are listed in the Rules and Information Booklet. Please ensure you are referring to the correct year’s publication. Make sure you have chosen the correct species. If you are trying to apply for youth hunts, you must be under 18 on the first day of the hunt to see it. If you are trying to apply for mobility impaired hunts, you must have a current mobility impaired certification with the Department to see those hunts. Only residents of New Mexico may apply for antlerless elk hunts or hunts held exclusively on a Wildlife Management Area. If you have previously held a once-in-a-lifetime license, you will not see those hunt codes for that species. If applying for returning Iraq/Afghanistan veteran oryx hunts or military only hunts, you must have submitted your military documents to verify eligibility prior to applying. 

I am trying to apply for hunts in Wildlife Management Areas but do not see the hunt codes?
Only New Mexico residents may apply for draw hunts held exclusively on Wildlife Management Areas.  Nonresidents may only apply for hunts that occur concurrently on both WMAs and other public land.

I am trying to apply for a cow elk hunt but do not see the cow elk hunt codes. 
Only New Mexico residents are eligible to apply for cow elk licenses.  

Do I need to submit a separate application for each species?
Yes, a separate application is required for each species. 

Mentor youth hunters ages 10-17
Mentor youth hunters ages 10-17 are eligible to apply for pronghorn, javelina and deer. Mentor youth hunters ages 8-9 are not eligible to apply for Draw 2 species, but may purchase a 2022-23 game hunting license through License Sales 2023 beginning on March 27. 

Fourth Choice Option for Deer and Elk.
By selecting a fourth choice for deer or elk you indicate you will accept any hunt in the quadrant of the state you select (NE, NW, SE, and NW). Success rates may be low due to small, localized populations.  Hunters who apply for and receive a 4th-choice hunt will not receive a refund and may not obtain any other deer or elk license if dissatisfied with the hunt drawn.
The awarded hunt will always be the same sporting arm type as your first hunt choice; however the hunt may be for a different bag limit (i.e. you may receive a cow license even if your hunt choices were all bull). You must make a selection, if you don’t wish to select a quadrant, you must still select No on this option.  

Fifth Choice Population Management Hunts.
Occasionally, the department conducts population management hunts to control overpopulation in a certain area. When this occurs, we will contact hunters who have expressed interest in this type of hunt via the 5th choice option. If unsuccessful in the draw, applicants will receive a refund for the license fee and be placed on a population management call list. If they are contacted for a population management hunt and they wish to participate they must purchase a license at that time. For oryx, applicants who want to be considered for population management hunts that occur on White Sands Missile Range in addition to other areas must enter a WSMR authorization code at the time of application.


CHANGING/DELETING AN APPLICATION

Can I change my application?
Only before you have submitted payment. Draw applications can be edited while they are in the shopping cart by clicking the Edit link. Once the payment is processed for an application, no changes may be made.  

I applied for the wrong hunt and want to change to another hunt code?
Once payment has been submitted for an application, it may not be edited. You may delete your application and submit another, but you will forfeit the non-refundable application fee. If you paid for the application with a credit or debit card, you will be refunded the license fee immediately.
If the wrong hunt choice was selected on a party application after payments have been submitted, all party members must delete their application and then reapply with the new application number and attach code.

I want to withdraw my application, how do I do that?
You may delete your application from the draw, but doing so will forfeit your non-refundable application fee. To delete an application, log in to your account. Select Draw Hunt Applications in the Main Menu then choose the application you want to delete and click Review. On the review page, in the top right-hand corner, there will be an option to delete. If you delete yourself from an application you may submit another application for the same species, but you may NOT re-attach to the application from which you were deleted. If you have submitted payment for an application and then choose to delete it and your original payment was by credit or debit card, you will be refunded automatically. 

If I delete my application, will the other applicants on a party application be affected?
Deleting an application from a party application does NOT affect the other applicants. If the person deleting their application was the owner (the person who initially created the application), the second applicant will become the owner of the application. 
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If you are deleted from an application it is final. You may submit another application for the same species, but you may NOT re-attach to the application from which you were deleted.

When will I know if I am successful?
Check the current Rules and Information Booklet for draw results release dates. Online accounts are updated at 10am on the day the results are released. Login to your account and click Draw Hunt Applications in the Main Menu. There will be a hunt code in green next to all successful applications, or “Unsuccessful” in red for all unsuccessful applications. As a courtesy, the Department will attempt to notify successful applicants by email. Make sure the email address in your account is correct and that you can receive emails from NMSpecHunts@state.nm.us. It is the applicant’s responsibility to check their draw results. NMDGF does not notify unsuccessful applicants. 

GENERAL QUESTIONS

Will I receive my game hunting or game hunting and fishing license in the mail?
Only if you are successful in the draw. The game hunting license will be part of your combined license/tag, unless the E-Tag option is chosen. All licenses purchased through the online system or draw application can be printed from your account on any printer. Login and select My Purchases in the Main Menu, then click the Print License link under License Purchases. If you do not have access to a printer, you may request a license be mailed to you by calling 1-888-248-6866 or by email at ispa@state.nm.us 

Will I receive my big-game or turkey license or permit in the mail?
All draw licenses will be mailed to successful applicants as part of the combined license/tag, unless the E-Tag option is chosen. Permits will not be mailed, but can be printed from your account after the appropriate license(s) have been purchased. All licenses and permits are still printable from your online account. Login and select My Purchases in the Main Menu, then click the Print License link next to the successful application under Special Hunt Drawing Applications. If you do not have access to a printer, you may request a license be mailed to you by calling 1-888-248-6866 or email at ispa@state.nm.us.  Please note: Successful bear and turkey applicants are issued a permit, and must purchase the species license and applicable stamps after March 23. 

How can I see everything I have applied for and purchased?
Login to your account and select My Purchases in the Main Menu. The system will default to the upcoming license year, so you’ll need to change the year in the drop-down menu at the top if you want to see information from previous years. This will display all purchases, including draw applications that have occurred.

ONLINE LICENSE SYSTEM ACCOUNTS

How do I create an account?
Go to www.wildlife.state.nm.us, then click Customer Login at the top of the screen. This will take you to the login page, select Create a New Account and enter your information for all required fields.


When creating an account, a message says “It appears you already have an account.”
Choose the “Forgot Username and Customer ID” option. This will take you to the Recover Your Account page, where you can either enter your first name, last name, date of birth and the last four digits of your social security number or enter an Email Address (Please Note: the Email address must be unique, if it exists in more than one account, this option will not work). If your information is recognized it will prompt you to continue and answer your security question. The answer to the security question must be entered exactly as it was originally typed. Make sure you search for your account using any alternate first names you may have registered with (i.e. William, Will, and Bill etc.). If neither option works for you, please call us at 1-888-248-6866 for assistance during normal business hours (8am to 5pm Monday through Friday—See the Hunting rules booklet, page 4, for extended hours during draw application).

Residency Changes
Customers are not permitted to change their residency status prior to the release of draw results. Please call 888-248-6866 or email ispa@state.nm.us if you need to change your residency status. Additionally, NMDGF will require all customers to certify that their residency status is correct prior to submitting application(s).

Military/Veteran Discount
All New Mexico residents who are active duty military or veterans qualify for a 50% discount on all licenses, permits and stamps. The system will ask all applicants and/or customers 17 and older if they qualify and wish to claim this discount. Active-duty military personnel will be required to reclaim the discount each year. Customers claiming this discount must certify that they can provide valid proof of active duty or veteran status upon request. 

I qualify for the Military/Veteran discount, but didn’t claim it 
If you didn’t claim the discount when the system initially asked, or if you didn’t qualify when asked but now you do, please contact the Department at 1-888-248-6866 or email ispa@state.nm.us to claim it. You may be asked for valid proof of service. If you change your discount claim status, you may owe the fee difference, or you’ll be refunded the difference during the normal draw refund process. If you owe money, you must pay the fee difference prior to the application deadline or the application will be rejected.
Applicants who incorrectly claim the discount should call us to have it removed and pay the fee difference. 

I have never created an account, but I have one? Who created an account for me?
Accounts have been migrated from old systems such as the local vendor license system, the hunter education program, or NMDGF Law Enforcement database, so your information may have come from one of these sources. If other people have had access to your information (parents, grandparents, or outfitters) they may have set up an account in your name. Once you’ve successfully logged in to your account, make sure your account is secure by selecting My Account in the Main Menu and changing your password and updating your security question using the links at the top right. 

When I login the system tells me I have duplicate accounts?
Please call 1-888-248-6866 or email ispa@state.nm.us and we will help resolve your accounts.


When creating an account, the system says “username is not available.”
Usernames must be unique. As you are entering your username, the system will display either “Username available” or “Username not available.” Enter your desired username. If the system displays “Username not available” please choose another username. When you have chosen a unique username the system will display “Username available” in green.

I forgot my username or password.
From the “Login” page choose “Recover Username and/or Password.” Passwords can be reset automatically if you have a UNIQUE email address in the system. Enter your unique email address and our system will send you a password so you may gain access to your account. Please reset your password as soon as you are logged in by choosing MY ACCOUNT and the RESET PASSWORD option. 
·  If you cannot remember your username, enter the information in the required fields under RECOVER ACCOUNT LOGIN INFORMATION and click the “Get Username and Reset Password” button. You’ll be asked to provide the answer to your security question or set up a security question. Once this answer is provided you’ll be able to reset your password. 

If you need further assistance gaining access to your account, please call us at 888-248-6866. See the Hunting rules booklet, page 4, for extended hours during draw application.

The answer to the security question is wrong or not working.
The answer to the security question must be typed in exactly as it was entered when the answer was originally provided. If you cannot get past the security question, please call the Department at 1-888-248-6866.

When creating an account, the system says “New password is not formatted properly.”
New passwords must be 10-30 characters, and must contain at least one uppercase letter, one lowercase letter, one number and one special character. Passwords are case sensitive. Please click on the blue information icon for more information. 

My outfitter created my account, how do I gain access?
First, contact your outfitter for the information, if the outfitter cannot provide the information use the “Recover Username and/or Password” feature. If you cannot recover the information through the system, please call us at 1-888-248-6866 or email ispa@state.nm.us for assistance.


PAYMENTS/REFUNDS

I am entering my credit card for my application, but the system is not accepting it?
We accept MasterCard, Visa, Discover and American Express debit or credit cards only; please make sure you are using a credit card we accept. Enter the credit card number with NO spaces or dashes. Make sure the card is not expired, correct billing zip code is entered, and that the three or four-digit CVV code on the back of the card is entered correctly. If you’re sure the credit card information is entered correctly but the payment still doesn’t go through, please contact your financial institution.  

When will my credit card be charged?
Credit cards are charged the non-refundable application fee and the full license fee at the time you submit the application. A notice will appear in green at the top of the page when your card is successfully charged. If your card is not successfully charged, an error message will appear. Please ensure your card is approved before exiting the application. If your application is left unpaid it will NOT be valid for the draw.
	
What happens if I change my residency or military/veteran status after I have applied and paid?
If you need to change your residency or resident military/veteran status after you have completed an application, please call the Department at 1-888-248-6866 or email ispa@state.nm.us. We will change your status. If you are changing from a resident to a non-resident or removing the military/veteran discount claim, you will owe additional fees. We will collect those fees over the phone via credit card. If you are changing from a non-resident to a resident or claiming the resident military/veteran discount, the department will refund you the difference in fees. You must meet the residency requirements as defined in the Hunting Rules and Information Booklet.

My credit card was lost or stolen; can I change the number?
Credit cards are charged at the time of application, and the numbers may not be changed. If the department is unable to refund your credit card for any reason when refunds are issued you will instead be refunded by a paper check; please ensure the mailing address in your account is correct. In most cases, the financial institution will apply the refund to your new credit card. 

When will refunds be issued?
Credit card refunds will be issued within two days after draw results are released in April. 

What happens if my credit card is declined?
If your credit card is declined when initially submitting the application, you do not have a valid application.   Please ensure you have the appropriate funds in your account before applying for the draw. If you’re sure the credit card information was entered correctly and the card is still declined, you’ll need to contact your financial institution.

If I am not successful, do I get a refund for the game hunting license?
Refunds are no longer issued for game hunting license and stamp purchases made through the draw application. The license fee for each species an applicant is unsuccessful for in the draw will be refunded after the draw results are released.

How will I receive my refund?
Applications paid by credit card/debit card will be refunded directly to the card that was charged. Credit card refunds are issued in late April. 

PERSONAL INFORMATION

My name, date of birth, last four digits of my social security number and/or my residency status has changed, how do I correct this in the system?
Call NMDGF at 1-888-248-6866 or email ispa@state.nm.us. 

My address, email and/or phone number have changed, how do I update the information?
Select My Account in the Main Menu to update your contact information. To save, click the Update button at the bottom of the page when you’re finished. Please make sure your address and phone number are correct. IMPORTANT: You can now provide a license/tag mailing address for each species you apply for on the My Purchases page. This will not change the physical address in your account. See below under Applying for the Draw for information on outfitter draw applications. If you don’t receive the license/tag in the mail, you may be required to purchase a $6 duplicate license/tag in person at a license vendor or NMDGF office. A $1 vendor fee applies.

Are email addresses required?
Email accounts are not required, but are highly recommended. All purchase and application receipts are emailed to customers, as well as hunter harvest confirmation information and successful draw information. 

ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS
If you have additional questions, please call 1-888-248-6866 or email ispa@state.nm.us (regular business hours are 8am to 5pm Monday through Friday—extended hours see page 4 of the Hunting rules booklet).
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