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A Message from the Director 

We regularly say thank you to license buyers for providing the funds 
for fishing and wildlife management in New Mexico. You may not 
realize exactly how much your contribution to wildlife conservation 
means, how far those dollars reach and the impact of your dollar for all 
wildlife species in New Mexico. 

Thanks to the sale of hunting, fishing and trapping licenses, as well as 
related stamps, the Department is able to fund a vast list of projects. These projects include 
big game surveys, terrestrial and aquatic habitat enhancement projects, conservation and 
law enforcement efforts, Wildlife Management Area purchases and maintenance, education 
programs, wildlife migration efforts, hatchery operations and fish stockings and the 
conservation of Species of Greatest Conservation Need as listed in the State Wildlife Action 
Plan. There are many other projects that would fill this book tenfold.

The Game Protection Fund totals nearly $39 million annually, with almost $25 million of 
that coming from license and stamp sales. An average of $14 million comes from federal and 
other grants, with $1,062,689 coming from penalties assessed on wildlife law enforcement, 
interest earned and other revenue sources in fiscal year 2020. The fund is also supplemented 
by additional revenue from the Sikes Act Fund, Trail Safety Fund, Share with Wildlife, 
Habitat Management Fund, Depredations Fund and the Big Game Enhancement Fund, 
giving the Department a total annual budget of just over $43 million.

What I am saying is THANK YOU to New Mexico License buyers for your support, not 
only to this agency and the work that we do, but more importantly thank you for supporting 
wildlife and wildspaces for game and non-game species throughout our great state. We truly 
could not do our jobs without you. 

Thank you for your continued support for wildlife conservation in New Mexico.. 

Michael B. Sloane, Director — New Mexico Department of Game and Fish
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This booklet is only a summary of the laws and rules for hunting in New Mexico. For a complete and specific list of the laws 
and rules that govern hunting, fishing, trapping and other outdoor activities view the appropriate statutes in Chapter 17, 
Chapter 30 and Chapter 66 NMSA 1978 and rules in 19.30.1 through 19.36.3 NMAC. In developing the Spanish edition 
of the Rules and Information Booklet, we tried to incorporate common Spanish terms and phrases. We realize that New 
Mexico has many Spanish dialects that have evolved over hundreds of years. If you need clarification on information 
in the Spanish booklet, or if you have suggestions on how to improve the translations in the document please email  
DGF-Translation@state.nm.us.

New Mexico Hunting Rules and Information 2022–23 is published by the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish,  
Information and Education Division, One Wildlife Way, Santa Fe, NM 87507 © 2022. Cover: NMDGF photo by Martin Perea.
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Our Mission
To conserve, regulate, propagate and protect the wildlife and fish within the State of New Mexico,  
using a flexible management system that ensures sustainable use for public food supply, recreation 
and safety—and to provide for off-highway motor vehicle recreation that recognizes cultural, 
historic and resource values while ensuring public safety.

New Mexico State Game Commissioners
Commissioner emails available online: www state wildlife nm us

Sharon Salazar Hickey, Chair, Los Alamos 
Jeremy Vesbach, Vice Chair, Placitas 
Jimmy Ray Bates, Sr., Albuquerque 
Tirzio J. Lopez, Cebolla 
Roberta Salazar-Henry, Las Cruces

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish
One Wildlife Way, Santa Fe, NM 87507 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1-888-248-6866

Michael B. Sloane, Director
Robert Griego, Colonel – Field Operations

Regional Offices
Northwest Office: 7816 Alamo Rd. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87120  . . . . . . (505) 222-4700
Southwest Office: 2715 Northrise Drive, Las Cruces, NM 88011  . . . . . . . (575) 532-2100
Northeast Office: 215 York Canyon Road, Raton, NM 87740 . . . . . . . . . (575) 445-2311
 P.O. Box 1145, Raton N.M. 87740
Southeast Office: 1615 West College Boulevard, Roswell, NM 88201 . . . . . (575) 624-6135

Conservation Officer Contact Information
http://www wildlife state nm us/enforcement/law-enforcement-contact-information/

Online Licenses, Applications and Harvest Reporting
License Sales, Applications and Harvest Reporting: https://onlinesales wildlife state nm us

Important Telephone Numbers
General Information, License Sales and Harvest Reporting .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 1-888-248-6866 
Bear and Cougar Zone Closure and Harvest Hotline .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . 1-877-950-5466 
Hunter Education Program Information . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (505) 222-4731 
Off Highway Vehicle (OHV) Information . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (505) 222-4728 
Operation Game Thief (OGT)                                         1-800-432-4263
24-hour Depredation Hotline  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1-888-727-4883
TDD (number for hearing impaired) .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  (505) 476-8143
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Mandatory Harvest Reporting
All Barbary sheep, deer, elk, ibex, javelina, oryx, pronghorn, turkey and trapper license holders must 
submit a harvest report, whether they hunted or not. Deadlines for species are listed on page 6. 
Harvest reports may be submitted online, by telephone or in person at New Mexico Department of 
Game and Fish offices. Remember to keep your confirmation number! 

Electronic Tag (E-Tag) Option for Big Game and Turkey
Hunters may choose the E-Tag option when purchasing or applying for any big-game or turkey 
hunt. You will not receive a carcass tag if you choose this option. Hunters who choose to E-Tag 
are required to download the NM E-Tag app on their smartphone, and must be able to show the 
license on their phone while in the field. A printed license and/or carcass tag are not required, but 
the animal must still be physically tagged. See pages 8–9 for details.

License and Tag Combined If Purchased Online or by 
Phone
Hunters who choose to receive a physical carcass tag may not need to carry a separate license. If 
purchased online or by telephone, the top section of the carcass tag will display all annual license 
and stamp purchases, and will serve as a valid license. Hunters must carry the license/carcass tag 
with them in the field while hunting (details, page 8). If you do not purchase the habitat stamp 
through the draw, or prior to May 16, 2022, a printed copy may be required. The combined 
license/tag is not available for license purchases and/or duplicate tags at over-the-counter (OTC) 
license vendors. 

Habitat Stamp
The habitat stamp must be purchased prior to hunting or fishing on BLM and Forest Service lands. 
To be included in a combined license/tag, the habitat stamp must be purchased before May 16, 
2022. Proof of habitat stamp purchase must be carried while in the field.

Draw Carcass Tags will be Mailed
Successful draw applicants who did not choose the E-Tag option will receive the license/tag(s) via 
U.S. Postal Service in late-May or early-June.

Online Hunter Education Course (Residents Only)
New Mexico residents 10 years of age or older can take New Mexico hunter education  
online (page 18).

Purchase 2022 Game Hunting License through Draw Application
Draw applicants purchasing 2022 game-hunting licenses to apply for draw hunts must click “Draw 
Hunt Applications” in the main menu and purchase the license as part of the application process. 
Do not click “License Sales.”

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

2022–2023
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Game Hunting License Options
Big-game draw applicants will be required to purchase a habitat management and access validation 
(HMAV) with their nonrefundable game-hunting license. Applicants will have the option to add 
the habitat stamp, harvest information program (HIP) number and/or second rod validation, if 
applicable, to their purchase. Hunters must purchase the habitat stamp prior to May 16, 2022 to 
avoid having to print it separately.

Early Purchase Available for 2022–23 Licenses
Licenses for the 2022–23 license year which begins April 1 will be available online, by telephone, 
and at license vendors and NMDGF offices beginning March 23.

Duplicate License Fee
A $6 duplicate license fee will be charged for all duplicate tags/licenses in accordance with New 
Mexico state law. This fee will be charged only when a duplicate tag is obtained requiring reprinting 
the license with a new tag number. Big-game and turkey hunters are advised not to purchase their 
licenses online if they plan to obtain the tag(s) at a license vendor.  

Over the Counter (OTC) Licenses for Some Species 
Available July 1
OTC licenses for javelina, fall turkey, private-land deer, private-land pronghorn, private-land 
Barbary sheep, and secondary management zone private-land elk, and federal duck stamps will be 
available beginning July 1.

Information Center Extended Hours 
The NMDGF Information Center is open year-round, Monday–Friday, 8 a.m.–5 p.m. (except 
holidays) to answer your questions and assist with license issues and harvest reporting. Extended 
hours are March 7-11 from 8 a.m.–6 p.m. and March 14-15 from 8 a.m.–8 p.m. The Information 
Center will close at 4:30 p.m. on March 16.

Requirements for Military Documentation
Proof of service for all military only hunts and returning Iraq/Afghanistan veteran oryx hunts must 
be received by NMDGF prior to application.

Mobility Impaired Eligibility Requirements
Individuals must have a permanent impairment that limits mobility to a walker, wheelchair or 
crutches, or have one or more permanent disabilities or conditions that substantially limit their 
ability to walk.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us

2022–2023
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Important Reminders
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

Draw Refunds
Draw license fee refunds for unsuccessful applicants will be processed shortly after draw results are 
released in April. Applications paid by credit card will be refunded directly to the credit card used 
for the transaction within 10 business days. Applications paid by cash will be refunded by check by 
the end of May. Game-hunting license and stamp purchases will not be refunded.

Donate an Unused License
A license may be donated to NMDGF for transfer to a youth (17 years of age or younger), 
a resident veteran or a resident first responder who has been qualified through a nonprofit 
organization that promotes hunting (page 20).

50% Discounts for Resident Military and Veterans
New Mexico residents who are active duty military or honorably discharged veterans are eligible 
for 50% discounts on licenses, permits and stamps. Proof of service may be requested to verify 
eligibility. See page 16 and Glossary, pages 120–125 for eligibility requirements and details.

Private-land Elk Licenses and Fees
See pages 65–68 for private-land elk hunting rules, fees and information. 

Unit-wide Ranch Maps
Unit-wide elk hunting property maps are available online: 
www wildlife state nm us/hunting/maps/

Pronghorn Draw and Private-land Only Licenses
All draw licenses are valid on public lands and private land with written permission within the game 
management unit(s). 
Most private-land only pronghorn licenses are now available over the counter. A public-land hunt 
code must be selected when purchasing this license. These licenses are not valid on any  
public land. Written permission from the landowner is required. 

Eligibility Rules for Encouragement Elk Hunts
Only eligible resident youth hunters may purchase these hunts for the first 14 days of the sale. 
Licenses remaining after the first 14 days of the sale will also be available to eligible resident seniors 
(65 years and older). Nonresidents, and resident applicants who were successful for any species 
(except javelina), are not eligible. See page 81 for eligibility information.

Free Hunting and Recreation Maps (page 126)
Free maps of New Mexico big-game hunting units and recreational areas on public lands can be 
downloaded to your mobile device at: www blm gov/nm/huntingmaps

2022–2023
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Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us

Bear and Turkey Draw Permits
Bear and turkey draw permits cannot be printed until all appropriate licenses have been purchased.

Premium Statewide Deer and Elk Hunts 
Statewide memorial hunts are available by draw for deer and elk (page 36).

Contact Land Management Agencies Before Hunting
Prescribed burns and/or other activities that could affect hunting may be conducted by land 
management agencies during hunting seasons (visit: nmfireinfo.com). NMDGF recommends 
contacting the appropriate management agency prior to your hunt for information on activities 
that may affect access or animal behavior in your hunting area. For contact information, please see 
Federal Lands (pages 38–40).

Mexican Gray Wolf: Encounters and Identification
Know where wolf encounters may occur and how to distinguish the Mexican gray wolf from coyotes 
(pages 117 and 118).

Legal Shooting Hours
Legal shooting hours for big game and turkey are from 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset, 
unless otherwise noted.

Marked Animals
It is legal to harvest an animal with a radiocollar, eartag, or other human-placed identifying mark. 
Please contact the Department at (505) 476-8038 to return radiocollars as they store data and can 
be used on another animals.

2022–2023



 6 

Important Dates
Important Dates to Remember for All Game

Feb. 9 Deadline to apply for bear and turkey draw permits. Applications must be 
completed before 5 p.m. Mountain Standard Time (MST).

Feb. 15 Deadline to submit 2021–22 harvest reports for deer, elk, pronghorn and 
turkey license holders. Reports can be submitted online or by telephone.  
Late fees apply after this date.

Feb. 23 Results for bear and turkey draw permits are available online, by telephone 
and at NMDGF offices  Permits will be available in the E-Tag app and can be 
printed on standard paper after the appropriate license(s) are purchased. 

Mar. 16 Deadline to apply for draw licenses for Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep,  
deer, elk, ibex, javelina, pronghorn, oryx, and private-land only deer licenses 
in Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A. Applications must be completed before 5 p.m. 
Mountain Daylight Time (MDT).

 Deadline to submit late 2021–22 harvest reports for deer, elk, pronghorn and 
turkey. All 2021–22 license holders must report to be eligible for 2022–23 
draw licenses. Reports can be submitted online or by telephone. Failure to 
report for these species by this date will result in rejection of all draw 
applications. An $8 late fee applies after February 15, 2022. Remember to 
keep your confirmation number.

Mar. 23 2022–23 over-the-counter (OTC) license types, including game-hunting 
licenses and game-hunting & fishing licenses, are available online, by 
telephone and at NMDGF offices and license vendors. 

April 1  2022–23 license year begins. All 2021–22 licenses are no longer valid.

April 7 Deadline to submit 2021–22 harvest reports for Barbary sheep, ibex, javelina, 
oryx and trapper license holders to be eligible for big-game licenses. Reports 
can be submitted online or by telephone. Failure to report for these species 
by this date will result in rejection of all draw applications. An $8 late fee 
applies after April 7, 2022. Remember to keep your confirmation number.

April 27 Big-game draw results are available online, by telephone or at  
NMDGF offices.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

2022–2023
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Carry a Single Document in the Field
Purchase the license-tag combo online, by telephone or at NMDGF offices. 
See page 9 for details.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us

2022–2023
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License, Stamp and Validation Requirements
While in The Field You Must Have All of the Following: 

1.  All hunters must possess a valid license, and permit if applicable, for the species and hunt type in 
which they will participate and must produce this upon request by a conservation officer.

2.  All big-game and turkey hunters must possess a game-hunting license.
3. All big-game and turkey hunters must possess a carcass tag(s) for each species hunted, unless the 

E-Tag option is chosen.
4. All hunters or anglers on any Forest Service or Bureau of Land Management lands must possess 

a habitat stamp. See exceptions on page 10.
5. All hunters, trappers or anglers 18 years and older must possess a habitat management &  

access validation on public and/or private lands. See exceptions below.
6. All hunters 17 years of age and younger must possess a hunter education or mentor-youth 

number.
7. All hunters on private lands must possess written permission from the landowner. (See defini-

tion and exceptions on page 26).

Hunter Responsibility
It is the responsibility of each hunter to know and comply with all applicable license, stamp, permit 
and/or tag requirements.

Purchasing Licenses, Stamps and Validations
Each individual purchasing a license or applying for a draw hunt and every student registering for 
a hunter/bowhunter education class, must have a NMDGF account with a customer identification 
number (CIN). Accounts can be set up online: https://onlinesales wildlife state nm us  
or by telephone at 1-888-248-6866. Please do NOT create a duplicate account.
Licenses, tags, stamps and validations are available online, by telephone, and in person at NMDGF 
offices and local vendors. Information and requirements for the habitat stamp and habitat 
management & access validation are described on pages 9–10. Please note, before March 23, 
game-hunting licenses and stamps for the 2022–23 season may be purchased through the draw 
application process. Restrictions may apply for online big-game license purchases.
Licenses and permits can be printed on standard paper, but all big-game and turkey hunters must 
obtain a carcass tag(s) from NMDGF or a license vendor prior to hunting or have chosen the E-Tag 
option. Draw permits for bear and turkey may not be printed until all appropriate license(s) have 
been purchased.

E-Tag Option for Big Game and Turkey
Hunters may choose to E-Tag their big-game animal or turkey rather than receive and carry a paper 
license/tag. Hunters must choose whether to E-Tag or receive a physical tag when purchasing or 
applying for their license(s). If you choose to receive a paper license/tag, you cannot later use the 
E-Tag option. Prior to hunting, hunters must download the NM E-Tag app to their mobile phone, 
login while in service, and remain logged in while hunting. Upon harvesting an animal, hunters 

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

2022–2023
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Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us

will be required to immediately E-Tag the animal using the app. The hunter will receive an E-Tag 
number with the CIN and the date of kill which must be hand written on a durable material (e.g. 
duct tape or flagging ribbon) in permanent ink and attached to the animal (see Tagging Instructions,  
pages 29–30). The app will work even while out of service as long as the license is verified prior 
to leaving cell service. Hunters MUST be able to show their license on their phone. Hunters 
choosing to E-Tag must still submit a harvest report.

Online and Draw Big-game License/Tag Combo
Hunters who do not choose the E-Tag option will be issued a license/tag combination. You can carry 
a single document and will not be required to print your license separately if:  
1) You have purchased all required stamps prior to May 16, 2022; and/or  
2) You purchase your license online, by telephone or at an NMDGF office.
The license/tag will include the game-hunting license, any stamps purchased, the big-game license, 
carcass tag and an antler/horn tag (depending on species and bag limit) and/or a second tag (cougar 
and spring turkey).  
•  A license/tag and permit are available immediately if purchased at an NMDGF office or  

license vendor.
•  A license/tag will be mailed to all successful draw hunt applicants, unless the E-Tag option  

is chosen.
•  Telephone or online purchases for javelina and private-land Barbary sheep, deer, elk, oryx and 

pronghorn licenses must be made at least 14 days prior to the start of the hunt to allow time to 
mail the license(s)/tag(s). License(s)/tag(s) will be mailed to the address provided by the customer 
for each species. Customers may obtain a duplicate license and tag in person at any OTC license 
vendor or NMDGF office. Duplicate license/tags will be charged a $6 fee. If obtained at an 
OTC license vendor, both a printed license and separate tag will be required. If a duplicate tag is 
obtained, the original tag number will be invalidated. It is illegal to use an invalidated license/tag.

• See pages 29–30 for more information and instructions for tagging.

Purchases at OTC License Vendors
The license/tag combination will not be available for big-game or turkey licenses and duplicate 
tags purchased at OTC license vendors. Both a tag and a printed license will be required.

Required Stamps
Habitat Management & Access Validation (HMAV)
A habitat management and access validation (HMAV) must be purchased and possessed by all 
hunters, trappers or anglers, except individuals 17 years of age and younger, resident anglers 70 
years and older (free fishing license) and 100% disabled veteran card holders. Only one stamp 
each license year is required. Fees are used to: lease access to private lands for public use; provide 
public access to landlocked public land; and provide improvement, maintenance, development and 
operation of State Game Commission property for fish and wildlife habitat management.  
The HMAV will automatically be added to the shopping cart with your first purchase of a hunting, 
fishing or trapper license if required.

2022–2023
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Habitat Stamp
Hunters and anglers must purchase and possess a current habitat stamp for U.S. Forest Service 
and Bureau of Land Management (BLM) lands in New Mexico, except anglers 11 years of age 
and younger, resident anglers 70 years and older (free fishing license) and 100% disabled resident 
veterans in conjunction with privileges covered by the Disabled-Veteran card. Only one stamp is 
required each license year for these lands. The stamp is not required on other public property, or 
on private property. The stamp is not required in Unit 28, a predominately BLM property under 
military withdrawal. Funds from the sale of habitat stamps are used to improve wildlife habitat. All 
hunters, trappers and anglers are encouraged to purchase a habitat stamp.

New Mexico Residency Requirements
To qualify for New Mexico resident license(s), an individual must meet one of the following criteria:
1. A United States citizen who has resided in N.M. for a period of not less than 90 days  

immediately preceding the date of application (or purchase) for the license, has been domiciled 
in N.M., and has not claimed residency elsewhere for any purpose. Temporary or seasonal 
residents and home owners, who maintain a primary residence outside of N.M., do not 
qualify for resident licenses.

2. A citizen of another country who is legally in the United States and has lived in N.M. for at 
least 90 days immediately preceding his/her license application (or purchase).

3. A student, not otherwise entitled to claim residence, who is attending any educational institu-
tion in N.M., has attended and actually has lived in the state for at least one full semester imme-
diately preceding the application (or purchase) for a license. Students must present a certificate 
or letter verifying their enrollment and attendance from the proper authorities of the educa-
tional institution.

4. A member of the U.S. military, not otherwise entitled to claim residence, who is permanently 
assigned to a military installation located within N.M. and who presents with his/her applica-
tion a certificate or letter that verifies the military assignment and is signed by the commanding 
officer. The spouse or dependent of such person, living within the same household and similarly 
certified by the person's commanding officer may also purchase resident licenses.

5. A member of the U.S. military who is officially stationed at Fort Bliss and who presents a certifi-
cate or letter to NMDGF that verifies the military assignment and is signed by the commanding 
officer, prior to application. This applies only for draw-hunt licenses on Fort Bliss. Fort Bliss 
personnel must pay nonresident license fees for all other hunts. The 50% resident military 
and veteran discount does not apply.

License Information Is Public Record
Pursuant to the New Mexico Inspection of Public Records Act, Sections 14-2-1 et. seq. NMSA 
1978, all information provided when applying for licenses and permits is public record and must be 
disclosed to anyone when properly requested except as provided by law. 

License Requirements
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

2022–2023
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OTC License Fees
Over-the-Counter (OTC) License fees
Private-land elk license fees see page 67  
License Type Resident Nonresident

Game-hunting License 1  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $15 $65
Game-hunting & Fishing License 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $30 Not Issued
Junior Game-hunting License 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $10 $15
Junior Game-hunting & Fishing License 2.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $15 Not Issued
Senior or Handicapped Game-hunting License 1  . . . . . . . $15 Not Issued
Senior or Handicapped Game-hunting & Fishing License 2 . . $20 Not Issued 
Disabled Veteran Game-hunting & Fishing License 2, 3 . . . . $10 Not Issued
Private-land Only Deer License - Standard . . . . . . . . . . $34 $270
Private-land Only Deer License - Quality . . . . . . . . . . . $34 $355
Private-land Only Deer License - Junior/Senior . . . . . . . . $22 Not Issued
Private-land Only Pronghorn License . . . . . . . . . . . . . $53 $270
Turkey License (Spring or Fall Season)  . . . . . . . . . . . . $25 $100
Bear License.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $47 $260
Cougar License . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $43 $290
Private-land Only Oryx License .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $153 $1,610
Private-land Only Barbary Sheep License . . . . . . . . . . $103 $360
Barbary Sheep License  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $103 $360
Ibex License.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $103 $1,610
Javelina License . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $58 $165 
Temporary Game-hunting License (4 days) 1 . . . . . . .  Not Issued $33
Does not enable the purchaser to purchase big-game or turkey licenses.
Also required for nonresidents trapping coyotes and skunks.
Nongame Hunting License . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Not Issued $65
Does not allow trapping (pages 32, 124).
Habitat Stamp  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $10 $10
Mandatory for hunting or angling on all Forest Service and Bureau of Land Management properties. For age 
requirements and exceptions, see page 10.
Habitat Management & Access Validation  . . . . . . . . . . . $4 $4
Mandatory for hunting, angling or trapping. This validation does not replace the habitat stamp. For age 
requirements and exceptions, see page 9.
Duplicate license/tag . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $6 $6
________________________________________________________________

One dollar ($1) vendor fee will apply for all purchases.
1 Valid for small game. 2 Valid for small game and fishing. 3 50% N.M. resident military/veteran discount 
does not apply. (See page 14 for age requirements).
Before March 23, game hunting licenses, game hunting & fishing licenses and stamps for the 2022–2023 season are 
unavailable through license sales and must be purchased through the draw application process.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Draw License Fees
All prices listed include a nonrefundable application fee (residents: $7; nonresidents: $13).
License Type Resident Nonresident

Standard Elk License (Residents 18–64 years of age and all nonresidents)
A (Antlerless)  .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   . $60  .   .Not Issued 
MB (Mature Bull)   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   . $90  .   .   $548 
ES (Either Sex)   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   . $90  .   .   $548
Quality or High Demand Elk License (pages 124, 123)
A    .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   . $60  .   .Not Issued 
MB .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   . $90  .   .   $773 
ES  .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   . $90  .   .   $773
Junior/Senior Elk License (See page 14 for eligibility requirements)
A    .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   . $58  .   .Not issued 
MB .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   . $58  .   .Not issued 
ES  .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   . $58  .   .Not issued
Deer License
Standard (S)  .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   . $41  .   .   $283 
Quality (Q)   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   . $41  .   .   $368 
High Demand (HD).   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   . $41  .   .   $368 
Junior/Senior  .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   . $29       .Not issued
Pronghorn License  .   .   .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $60  .   .   $283
Javelina License  .   .   .   .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $65  .   .   $178
Bighorn Sheep License
Ram    .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .   $160  .   . $3,173 
Ewe .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    . $85  .   . $3,173
Oryx License.   .   .   .   .   .   .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .   $160  .   . $1,623
Ibex License  .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .   $110  .   . $1,623
Barbary Sheep License    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .   $110  .   .   $373
Bear Permit  (application fee only1)  .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .  $7  .   .   . $13
Turkey Permit (application fee only1)   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .   .  $7  .   .   . $13
______________________________________
1 Successful applicants must purchase a 2022-23 game-hunting license or a game-hunting & fishing 

license, plus the applicable over-the-counter license and stamp(s) beginning March 23. Carcass tag 
required, unless the E-Tag option is chosen.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Draw Hunt Licenses
Application Requirements
When applying for draw licenses for Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, ibex, javelina, oryx and 
pronghorn, hunters must purchase a nonrefundable 2022–23 game-hunting license or game-hunting & 
fishing license and HMAV if applicable.
Game-hunting licenses are available online or by telephone through the draw application process (Jan. 19, 
2022–March 16, 2022). Before March 23, game-hunting licenses and stamps for the 2022–2023 season may 
be purchased only through the draw application process. Successful applicants for draw licenses will be mailed 
a combination license/tag, unless the E-Tag option is chosen.
Application and full license fees for each species are charged at the time the application is submitted. 
Unsuccessful draw applicants will be refunded the draw license fee, but not the application fee. 
To apply for bear and turkey draw permits, prior purchase of a bear, turkey or game-hunting license is not 
required. If the applicant is successful in the draw, purchase of a license with tag will be required after  
March 23. Permits will not be available until the appropriate license(s) are purchased.

How the Draw Hunt System Works 
All draw applications are entered into an automated system that randomly assigns each application a sequence 
number. Based on this number and the quotas listed below, the system matches the first, second, then third 
choices on the application with available licenses or permits. If all choices have already been awarded, the 
system advances to the next application. New Mexico does not grant preference to previously unsuccessful 
applicants. If an applicant selects a fourth-choice hunt, she/he will be placed in a second pool from which 
licenses or permits may be awarded if a hunt has not allocated all available licenses. Only successful 
applicants will be notified by email. Unsuccessful applicants will not be notified, but may check their 
NMDGF account online. For more information about the draw hunt system, visit:  
www wildlife state nm us/hunting/applications-and-draw-information/ 

Nonresident and Outfitted Applicants Please Note: It is extremely unlikely for an 
outfitted applicant to draw a hunt code with six or fewer licenses or for a nonresident to draw a hunt code with 
twelve or fewer licenses. Residents planning to apply with one or more nonresidents should also be aware of 
this when applying. 

Drawing Quotas: New Mexico state law has established the following quotas for draw hunts for all 
big-game and turkey licenses and permits:
• A minimum of 84% of draw licenses are awarded to New Mexico residents.
• Up to 10% of draw licenses are awarded to residents and nonresidents applying with a New Mexico 

registered outfitter. See page 33. 
• Up to 6% of draw licenses are awarded to nonresidents applying without a New Mexico registered outfitter. 
• 100% of draw licenses for antlerless elk and hunts held exclusively on Wildlife Management Areas are 

awarded to New Mexico residents.
• Population management hunts are not subject to quota.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Reduced-Fee Licenses for Juniors
Reduced-fee licenses for resident junior game-hunting & fishing, junior deer, junior elk and junior 
game-hunting (resident and nonresident) are available to individuals 17 years of age and younger at 
the time of purchase, on or after April 1, 2022. Resident junior licenses for hunting deer and/or elk 
on private land may be purchased at license vendors, NMDGF offices, by telephone or online.

Youth-Only Hunts 
To qualify for youth-only hunts, applicants must be 17 years of age or younger on opening day  
of the hunt and must possess a hunter education number or mentor-youth number (pages 18–19). 
The mentor-youth number is valid only for deer, pronghorn, turkey, javelina and small-game hunts.

Reduced-Fee Licenses for Seniors
Reduced-fee licenses for senior game-hunting and fishing, senior elk or senior deer are available to 
residents 65 years or older at the time of purchase. Senior licenses for hunting deer and/or elk on 
private land can be purchased at NMDGF offices and license vendors, by telephone or online.

Reduced-Fee Licenses for Handicapped Residents
A reduced-fee game-hunting & fishing license is available to New Mexico residents with a 
permanent disability in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act. Applicants must attest 
that they have one or more disabilities that substantially limit major life activities.
Resident handicapped license holders must purchase and possess a habitat stamp and habitat 
management & access validation (pages 9–10) as applicable. All other laws and rules must be 
followed.

Mobility-Impaired Certification (MI)
MI certification by NMDGF is required prior to submitting an application for MI-only pronghorn, 
oryx, elk or deer hunts. To qualify for MI certification, an individual must have a permanent 
impairment that: 1) limits his/her mobility to a walker, wheelchair or crutches; 2) have one or 
more permanent disabilities or conditions which substantially limit his/her ability to walk. The MI 
certification form is available online or may be requested by telephone. This form must be signed 
by the applicant’s physician and attest that one or more of the above mobility-impaired conditions 
apply. 
The MI card is valid for 48 months from the date approved/issued by NMDGF. The MI card holder 
must purchase and possess a habitat stamp and habitat management & access validation 
(pages 9–10) if applicable. All other laws and rules must be followed.

For further information call: 1-888-248-6866 or email: specialhunts@state nm us.

Junior, Senior & Disabled
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Mobility-Impaired (MI) Hunters
A mobility-impaired card allows a hunter to: 1) Shoot from a stationary motor-driven vehicle only 
when it has been parked completely off of the established road surface and there is no right-of-way 
fence;  2) Have one assistant to help track and kill big game that has been clearly wounded by the 
MI hunter. The assistant must have written authorization from the MI hunter and must use the 
same sporting-arm type as the MI hunter. 3) Use a crossbow during a bow hunt.

Reasonable Accommodation Permits
Hunters with temporary injuries or conditions that don't qualify for the Mobility Impaired 
certification may request specific disability accommodations on a case by case basis. For more 
information, call 888-248-6866.

 

 
Title VI Funding
Certain programs of the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish receive federal funds from the U.S. Department of the Interior. These programs 

are therefore subject to requirements of the New Mexico Human Rights Act and Title VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, which prohibit discrimination 

because of ancestry, sex, race, color, religion, national origin, age or physical or mental handicap. If you believe you have been discriminated against in 

any program, activity or facility, please send a detailed description of the incident by certified mail to the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish. 

If you desire further information on Title VI, write: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish, ADA Coordinator, One Wildlife Way, Santa Fe, 

NM 87507 or Office of Equal Opportunity, U.S. Dept. of the Interior, Office of the Secretary, Washington, DC 20240. The Department of Game 

and Fish will schedule public meetings and operate facilities that are accessible to physically impaired persons. Reasonable accommodations will be 

made for other impairments, including hearing and sight. If special aids are required, call (505) 476-8027 or write to One Wildlife Way, Santa 

Fe, NM 87507 at least three working days prior to the meeting date. To initiate a complaint, write to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Office of 

Diversity and Inclusive Workforce Management, Public Civil Rights Accessibility & Disability Coordinator, 5275 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church, VA 

22041; (703) 358-1724.

Financiación del Título VI
Ciertos programas del Departamento de Caza y Pesca de Nuevo México reciben fondos federales del Departamento del Interior de los EE. UU. Por lo 

tanto, estos programas están sujetos a los requisitos de la Ley de Derechos Humanos de Nuevo México y el Título VI de la Ley de Derechos Civiles de 

1964, que prohíben la discriminación por ascendencia, sexo, raza, color, religión, nacionalidad, edad o discapacidad física o mental. Si cree que ha sido 

discriminado en algún programa, actividad o instalación, envíe una descripción detallada del incidente por correo certificado al Departamento de Caza  

y Pesca de Nuevo México. Si desea obtener más información sobre el Título VI, escriba a: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish, ADA Coordinator, 

One Wildlife Way, Santa Fe, NM 87507 o a Office of Equal Opportunity, U.S. Dept. of the Interior, Office of the Secretary, Washington, DC 20240. 

 El Departamento de Caza y Pesca programará reuniones públicas y operará instalaciones accesibles para personas con discapacidades físicas. Se 

realizarán adaptaciones razonables para otras discapacidades, lo que incluye las auditivas y de la vista. Si se requieren ayudas especiales, llame al  

(505) 476-8027 o escriba a One Wildlife Way, Santa Fe, NM 87507 al menos tres días hábiles antes de la fecha de la reunión. Para iniciar 

una queja, escriba a U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Office of Diversity and Inclusive Workforce Management, Public Civil Rights Accessibility & 

Disability Coordinator, 5275 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church, VA 22041; (703) 358-1724.

Junior, Senior & Disabled
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Military and Veteran Licenses and Hunt Opportunities 
The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish acknowledges the contribution and sacrifice of active 
military and veterans with several discounted licenses and special hunting opportunities. Information 
about active military and veteran hunting and fishing opportunities and how to apply is available 
online and by telephone. 

50% Discount for Resident Active Military and Veterans
50% discounts on all licenses, permits and stamps are available to New Mexico residents who are 
active duty military or honorably discharged veterans. The discount may be claimed by applying for 
or purchasing any license, permit or stamp online, by telephone or at any license vendor. Residents 
claiming this discount must be able to provide proof of active duty military (page 120) or honorably 
discharged veteran status (page 125) upon request. Discount does not apply to: application fees, 
license vendor fees, administrative fees, duplicate license fees, the federal duck stamp, or the resident 
disabled veteran game-hunting & fishing license.

Proof of Active Military Status Required  Prior to Application(s) for  
All Military-only Hunts
Each license year, applicants must provide proof of full-time active duty status. Veterans and 
reservists are not eligible for these hunts. Proof of current active-duty service must be received by 
NMDGF prior to application. Proof may be submitted by email: specialhunts@state nm us, 
fax: (505) 476-8180 or U.S. Mail: NMDGF Special Hunts, One Wildlife Way, Santa Fe, NM 
87507. 

100% Disabled Resident Veterans
New Mexico residents who are 100% disabled as a result of having served in the armed services are 
eligible for a free lifetime game-hunting & fishing license. The disabled veteran must apply for a 
Disabled Veteran card. This card is issued by the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish and 
allows the cardholder to fish, hunt small game and obtain a deer hunting license free of charge. The 
deer hunting license will be issued only if the cardholder has applied and been successful in the draw 
for deer, or if the cardholder obtains written permission from a landowner for a private-land deer 
hunt. The free deer hunting license must be applied for each license year, and no preference is given 
for public-land deer draws. A habitat stamp, if applicable, is required for any privilege not covered 
by the Disabled Veteran card.  

Disabled Veteran Game-hunting & Fishing License
New Mexico residents who are disabled veterans of the armed services, but do not meet the  
100% disabled qualification, are eligible for a $10 combination game-hunting & fishing license. 
Disabled veterans may purchase this license online, by telephone or at license vendors. A habitat 
management & access validation and a habitat stamp if applicable (pages 9–10) are required. 

Military & Veterans
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Oryx Hunts for Returning Iraq-Afghanistan Veterans
New Mexico residents deployed in Iraq or Afghanistan are eligible to apply for once-in-a-lifetime 
oryx hunts, available by drawing each license year. New Mexico resident fees apply. Each year, the 
applicant must submit proof of service prior to application. Copies may be submitted by email: 
specialhunts@state nm us, fax: (505) 476-8180 or U.S. Mail: NMDGF Special Hunts,  
One Wildlife Way, Santa Fe, NM 87507.

Fort Bliss Opportunities
Active-duty military personnel stationed at Fort Bliss in El Paso, Texas are eligible for resident  
fees on draw hunt licenses only for hunts that occur on Fort Bliss Military Reservation in New 
Mexico. Each year, prior to application, proof of assignment must be submitted by email: 
specialhunts@state nm us, by fax: 505-476-8180 or received by mail.

Nonresident Disabled Active Duty and Veteran Licenses for 
Rehabilitation Enrollees
Nonresident active-duty members or veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces who are undergoing a 
rehabilitation program that involves hunting activities are eligible for a resident fee on deer, elk, 
javelina, oryx, pronghorn and turkey licenses. The rehabilitation program must be sponsored by the 
federal government, or a nonprofit organization authorized by the federal government, and it must 
be under the direction of a military or federal Veterans Administration rehabilitation center.  
This benefit is not available through the draw. Proof of eligibility must be provided. This benefit 
is available only through the NMDGF Santa Fe office.     

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Hunter Education
Hunter Education Program 
Before purchasing a game-hunting license, all hunters 17 years of age and younger must obtain a 
hunter education number issued by New Mexico or another state or possess a New Mexico mentor-
youth number. The hunter education number is valid for hunting all game species. The mentor-youth 
number is valid only for deer, pronghorn, turkey, javelina and small-game hunting (page 19).
Online Hunter Education Course: Hunters 10 years or older can obtain a New Mexico 
hunter education number by completing an online hunter education course. Online course options can 
be found at: www wildlife state nm us/education/hunter-education. A service fee may apply.
Instructor-Led Hunter Education Courses: New Mexico hunter education numbers 
can also be obtained by completing a NMDGF instructor-led hunter education course. The NMDGF 
offers two types of in-person courses, a traditional course for students of all ages or a field-day course 
for students 10 and over. Please note that students 10 years of age and younger must be accompanied 
by an adult to attend an in-person course. Before the first class session for all instructor-led courses, 
students are required to complete a homework assignment. Homework may be completed online 
through a downloadable PDF file or a hardcopy manual. Hardcopy manuals are available at local 
NMDGF locations, after registration. Students must attend all class sessions and pass both a written 
exam and a firearm proficiency evaluation to be issued a New Mexico hunter education number. 
Courses are offered year-round and statewide. Early registration is encouraged to avoid missing 
a deadline to apply for a hunt. For complete information on course types, dates, locations, and 
requirements, as well as course content and homework, visit NMDGF at: www wildlife state nm us/
education/hunter-education 

Registration for Hunter and/or Bowhunter Education Courses
All students wishing to register for a hunter and/or bowhunter education course must have a 
personal NMDGF account with a customer identification number (CIN). If you require assistance 
obtaining class information or a hunter education number please contact the New Mexico hunter 
education program: (505) 222-4731 or dgf-he@state nm us  Bowhunter education is not 
mandatory for bowhunters in New Mexico, but is highly recommended.

Become A Volunteer Instructor
The hunter education program is looking for volunteer instructors. If you are interested in 
contributing to and preserving our hunting heritage, please contact the New Mexico hunter 
education program at: (505) 222-4731 or online: www wildlife state nm us/education 

Fort Bliss
All hunters, regardless of age, on Fort Bliss - including all of Unit 28 and portions of Unit 19 and 
Unit 34 - are required to have proof of passing a state-certified hunter education course. Mentor-
youth hunters are not eligible.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Mentor-Youth Hunter Program
First-time hunters 8-17 years of age must pass an online quiz and receive a mentor-youth number. 
This number enables a youth to hunt under the supervision of an adult mentor, purchase a game-
hunting license or game-hunting & fishing license. Mentor-Youth hunters 8-9 years of age may 
hunt small game only. Mentor-Youth hunters 10-17 years of age may apply for or purchase hunting 
licenses for deer, pronghorn, turkey, javelina, and small game.
Youth participation in this program is a one-time opportunity and good for two consecutive license 
years, beginning when a game-hunting license is purchased. When the mentor-youth hunter has 
completed the program and successfully passed a hunter education course, he or she can hunt any 
legal species independently with no age restriction.
Mentors must: be either a parent, guardian, or an adult with parental consent; be 18 years of age or 
older; possess a valid game hunting license; and possess a Department-issued mentor certification 
number or a Department-approved hunter education certification number. Courses are available 
on the Department's website. The mentor-youth hunter and mentor must be in unaided sight and 
audible distance from one another at all times while hunting.
For more information about the mentor-youth hunter program visit: www wildlife state nm us/
education/hunter-education or call: 1-505-222-4731 

Volunteer Opportunities
Volunteers play an important role helping NMDGF provide programs and services across the state. 
From hunter and angler education to off-road vehicle safety and wildlife conservation, volunteers 
share time and talent to support initiatives that otherwise would not be possible.
If you enjoy hunting, angling and New Mexico’s great outdoors, consider giving back to your 
community by becoming a volunteer with the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish.
For information about the variety of volunteer opportunities available, call: (505) 222-4704.

Mentor-Youth Hunter
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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License Refunds and Transfers
New Mexico hunting licenses are nonrefundable and nontransferable, except: The director of 
NMDGF may grant refund or transfer of a hunting license, if the licensee: 1) is deceased; 2) has 
sustained a severe injury or suffered a life-threatening illness which prevents participation; 3) is 
deployed by the U.S. military prior to the start of the hunt which prohibits participation; or  4) 
a hunt is cancelled due to a natural disaster. Refund or transfer requests must be submitted in 
writing to the NMDGF Santa Fe office or specialhunts@state nm us prior to the hunt start 
date. Transfer requests received within three days of the hunt start date might not be processed. For 
further information call 1-888-248-6866. If a license transfer is not completed at least 14 days 
prior to hunt start date, the recipient may be required to obtain a license and tag at a license vendor 
or NMDGF office, unless the E-Tag option is chosen. Written requests may not be withdrawn once 
received.

Donation of a Hunting License 
If ineligible for refund or transfer, a hunting license may be donated to NMDGF to provide an 
opportunity for a youth 17 years of age or younger, a resident veteran or a resident first responder 
who has been qualified through a nonprofit organization that promotes hunting. Refunds are not 
offered for donated licenses. Qualifying nonprofit organizations must be approved by the  
New Mexico State Game Commission.
Requests to donate licenses must be in writing and submitted to the NMDGF Santa Fe 
office or specialhunts@state nm us. For further information call 1-888-248-6866. If 
transfer of a donated license is not completed at least 14 days prior to the hunt start date, 
the recipient may be required to obtain a license and tag at a license vendor or NMDGF 
office unless E-Tag option is chosen. Written requests may not be withdrawn once received.

Draw Licenses
A draw license may not be traded for a private-land license, returned for refund or transferred, 
sold or bartered, except as defined above. 

Transfers & Donations
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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It is unlawful to:
• Recklessly or carelessly handle a firearm.
• Hunt while under the influence of alcohol or other intoxicants, including marijuana.
• Litter and/or pollute streams, lakes and other waters.
• Leave a fire unattended or improperly control fire.
• Hunt protected species without a license and all applicable permits, tags, stamps or valida-

tions, or fail to tag any big game or turkey.
• Hunt protected species using licenses, tags, permits, stamps or validations belonging to 

another individual, or take or attempt to take a protected species for another person, except as 
permitted when assisting a licensed mobility-impaired hunter (pages 14–15).

• Kill more than one of the following: elk, pronghorn, Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, ibex, 
javelina, oryx, bear or deer during any license year, except as permitted by rule. 

• Apply for, buy or use more than one license for any species per license year.
• Shine spotlights or other artificial lights into areas where big-game species or livestock may  

be present, while in possession of any sporting arm.
•  Take or attempt to take game species by the aid of baiting. An area is considered to be baited 

for 10 days after the removal of the bait. It is also unlawful to take bear by the aid of scent.
• Use live protected species as decoys to take or attempt to take game species.
• Use electronically or mechanically recorded calling devices, except as permitted for protected 

furbearers, cougars, bears, javelina and nongame species.
•  Use tracer ammunition, full-metal jacketed bullets or fully automatic weapons.
• Park any motor vehicle or camp within 300 yards of any man-made water hole, water well 

or watering tank used by wildlife or domestic stock, without the prior consent of the private 
landowner, private-land lessee, public-land lessee or public-land management agency.

•  Shoot at protected species or artificial wildlife from a motor vehicle.  
• Shoot at game on, from or across any paved, graded or maintained public road or within the 

fenced right-of-way of any paved, graded or maintained public road.
• Shoot at, pursue, harass, harry, drive or rally any protected species by any means except while 

legally hunting.
•  Use motor-driven vehicles on roads closed under the Habitat Protection Act or other  

federal regulation.
• Hunt or shoot at any animal from an aircraft or drone or fly an aircraft in any manner which 

causes any non-domesticated animal to move from its place of rest or change its direction of 
travel.

• Hunt from, signal locations of protected species to hunters from or harass game with aircraft; 
hunt protected species observed from aircraft within 48 hours of observation; or hunt protected 
species the same day of air travel, except by commercial airline or direct flight to a landing strip.

•  Discharge a firearm within 150 yards of a dwelling or building (not including abandoned or 
vacated buildings on public land) without the permission of the owner or lessee.

• Take any animal that is protected by law but not listed as a game species and/or any animal 
that is listed as an endangered or threatened species.

• Use any cellular, Wi-Fi or satellite camera for the purpose of hunting or scouting remotely for 
any big game animal.  

General Rules
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Vehicle Use: Driving Off-road or on a Closed Road 
1. During the seasons established for any protected species, it is unlawful to drive or ride in a  

motor vehicle which is driven off an established road on public land or on a closed road on 
public land when the vehicle bears a licensed hunter, angler or trapper.

2. During the seasons established for any protected species, it is unlawful to drive or ride in a  
motor vehicle which is driven off an established road on private land, without written permis-
sion from the landowner, when the vehicle bears a licensed hunter, angler or trapper.

3. It is unlawful to drive or ride in a motor vehicle which is being driven off an established road or 
on a closed road when gathering or searching for shed antlers on public land.

4. EXCEPTION: Snowmobiles may be driven off established roads, and lawfully taken game may 
be retrieved in areas not closed to vehicular traffic.

5. Public land as used in this section shall mean any federally owned or managed property, any 
state owned or managed property, any private property which is part of a unitization hunting 
agreement, ranch-wide agreement or unit-wide agreement for the species being hunted, any 
private property NMDGF has paid for public access for the species being hunted or any New 
Mexico State Game Commission owned or managed property.

Established Road Means:
1. A road, built or maintained by equipment, which shows no evidence of ever being closed to 

vehicular traffic by such means as berms, ripping, scarification, reseeding, fencing, gates, bar-
ricades or posted closures;

2. A two-track road which shows use prior to hunting seasons for other purposes such as recre-
ation, mining, logging, and ranching and which shows no evidence of ever being closed to 
vehicular traffic by such means as berms, ripping, scarification, reseeding, fencing, gates,  
barricades or posted closures.

Harassment of Legal Hunters, Anglers and Trappers
New Mexico Law (Chapter 17-2-7.1, NMSA 1978) prohibits interference with another person 
who is lawfully hunting, trapping or fishing in an area where those activities are permitted. The first 
offense is a petty misdemeanor, the second offense is a misdemeanor.
If a person committing interference possesses a license, certificate or permit issued to him/her by the 
New Mexico State Game Commission, the license, certificate or permit will be subject to revocation.

Interference means:
1.  Intentionally locating one’s person where human presence may affect the behavior of a game 

animal, bird or fish, where human presence may interfere with the taking or killing of a game 
animal, bird or fish, and/or where human presence may interfere with another who is lawfully 
hunting, trapping or fishing.

2. Intentionally creating a visual, auditory, olfactory or physical stimulus to affect the behavior 
of a game animal, bird or fish and interfere with another person who is lawfully hunting, fishing  
or trapping.

General Rules
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Harassment of Legal Hunters, Anglers and Trappers—continued.
3. Intentionally altering, removing or affecting the placement or condition of personal property 

used for taking a game animal, bird or fish.
If you witness any violation, please document the vehicle description, license plate 
number or aircraft tail number and contact Operation Game Thief: 1-800-432-4263 

Waste of Game
Anyone who takes a Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, ibex, oryx, pronghorn or turkey 
must transport from the field the edible portions for human consumption. The edible portions of 
game animals include all four quarters, backstraps, tenderloins and the neck meat. Hunters are not 
required to remove the rib cage or organs of game mammals from the field. The edible portions 
of turkey include the breast, legs and thigh meat. Anyone who wounds or may have wounded any 
big-game species must go to the place where the animal sustained the wound or may have sustained 
the wound and make a reasonable attempt to track and kill the animal. This requirement does not 
authorize trespass on private land. Call 1-800-432-4263 for assistance recovering a wounded 
animal that enters private land.

Anyone who takes or kills a Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, ibex, oryx, pronghorn or turkey 
outside of the legal season or without a valid license, which taking or killing results in waste of the 
animal, is guilty of a 4th-degree felony.  Waste of the animal consists of removing from the animal 
only the head, antlers or horns or abandoning any of the four quarters, backstraps or tenderloins 
of the carcass. A violation of the provisions of this paragraph is intended to be separate from and 
cumulative to any other violation of Chapter 17 NMSA 1978. 

License Privileges Can Be Revoked
Points are assessed against privileges based on the type of violation committed. This includes 
providing false information when harvest reporting. Any person accumulating 20 points or more 
within any consecutive three-year period shall be considered for revocation of the following: all 
hunting, fishing and trapping license privileges; any guiding and outfitting registration; landowner 
authorizations; and/or any permit or certificate issued under Chapter 17, NMSA 1978 and its 
implementing rules.

Defendants may request to be heard by an outside hearing officer. Recommendations for revocation 
are made to the New Mexico State Game Commission, which has final authority to revoke privileges. 

New Mexico is a member of the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact (IWVC) and may recognize 
the suspension or revocation of license privileges of any person listed as a wildlife violator by 
another participating state. New Mexico will notify IWVC of all revocations, and other states  
may reciprocate N.M. revocations. Contact NMDGF Field Operations for specific information  
at: (505) 476-8065.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Federal Law
Transporting illegally taken game across state lines is a violation of the federal Lacey Act, and may 
be classified as a felony.

Parental Responsibility Act
The Parental Responsibility Act requires the New Mexico State Game Commission to suspend  
the recreational and professional licenses of anyone who does not comply with court-ordered child 
support obligations. Hunting and fishing privileges are suspended until court-ordered child support 
payments are up-to-date and a $25 reinstatement fee has been paid. For more information, please 
contact NMDGF Field Operations: (505) 476-8065.

Forfeitures
Sporting arms may be seized and forfeited if used to take, attempt to take, illegally possess or 
transport big game during a closed season; if used while exceeding the bag limit for big game during 
an open season; or if used to take or attempt to take big game with the use of a spotlight or artificial 
light. Vehicles used by anyone charged with spotlighting or hunting with the aid of artificial light 
may be confiscated at the scene and are subject to forfeiture and sale upon conviction. 

Criminal Penalties
Poachers may incur criminal penalties, including:
• First offense: Up to $1,000 in fines and one year in jail.
• Second offense: Up to $4,000 in fines and one year in jail.
• Third offense: Up to $6,000 in fines, mandatory 90 days in jail and up to one year in jail.
• Felony waste of game: Up to $5,000 in fines and 18 months in prison.

Substantial Civil Assessments for Poaching
To recover the loss of the state's wildlife, the New Mexico State Game Commission has adopted 
substantial civil assessments for the illegal taking of trophy game animals. The assessments are:

Elk  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $10,000*
Deer. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $10,000*
Bighorn sheep . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $10,000*
Ibex .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  $10,000*
Oryx  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $10,000*
Pronghorn. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $8,000*
Barbary sheep .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  . $6,000*
Turkey. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $500*
Trout  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $150*
* Higher dollar amounts may be sought in certain cases.

Firearm Eligibility
Any convicted felon according to New Mexico law shall be restricted to the use of archery 
equipment only.  Per New Mexico statute 30-7-16 NMSA 1978, firearm includes any handgun, rifle, 
muzzleloader, and shotgun.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Criminal Trespass
Criminal Trespass 30-14-1 NMSA 1978
A. Criminal trespass consists of knowingly entering or remaining upon posted private property 

without possessing written permission from the owner or person in control of the land. The 
provisions of this subsection do not apply if: 1) the owner or person in control of the land has 
entered into an agreement with NMDGF granting access to the land to the general public for 
the purpose of taking any game animals, birds or fish by hunting or fishing; or 2) a person is in 
possession of a landowner license given to him by the owner or person in control of the land 
that grants access to that particular private land for the purpose of taking any game animals, 
birds or fish by hunting or fishing.

B. Criminal trespass also consists of knowingly entering or remaining upon the unposted lands of 
another, knowing that such consent to enter or remain is denied or withdrawn by the owner or 
occupant thereof.  Notice of no consent to enter shall be deemed sufficient notice to the public 
and evidence to the courts, by the posting of the property at all vehicular access entry ways.    

C.  Criminal trespass also consists of knowingly entering or remaining upon lands owned, operated 
or controlled by the state or any of its political subdivisions, knowing that consent to enter or 
remain is denied or withdrawn by the custodian thereof.      

D.  Any person who enters upon the lands of another without prior permission and injures, dam-
ages or destroys any part of the realty or its improvements, including buildings, structures, trees, 
shrubs or other natural features, is guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall be liable to the owner, 
lessee or person in lawful possession for civil damages in an amount equal to double the value of 
the damage to the property injured or destroyed.      

E.  Whoever commits criminal trespass is guilty of a misdemeanor. Additionally, any person who 
violates the provisions of Subsection A, B or C of this section, when in connection with hunt-
ing, fishing or trapping activity, shall have their hunting or fishing license revoked by the state 
game commission for a period of not less than three years, pursuant to the provisions of Section 
17-3-34 NMSA 1978.      

F.  Whoever knowingly removes, tampers with or destroys any "no trespass" sign is guilty of a petty 
misdemeanor; except when the damage to the sign amounts to more than one thousand dollars 
($1,000), is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be subject to imprisonment in the county jail for 
a definite term less than one year or a fine not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or to 
both such imprisonment and fine in the discretion of the judge.      

Posting Requirements for Trespass 30-14-6 NMSA 1978
A.  The owner, lessee or person lawfully in possession of real property in New Mexico, except 

property owned by the state or federal government, desiring to prevent trespass or entry onto 
the real property shall post notices parallel to and along the exterior boundaries of the property 
to be posted, at each roadway or other way of access in conspicuous places, and if the property 
is not fenced, such notices shall be posted every five hundred feet along the exterior boundaries 
of such land.   

Continued on page 26
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Posting Requirements — continued.
B.  The notices posted shall prohibit all persons from trespassing or entering upon the property, 

without permission of the owner, lessee, person in lawful possession or his/her agent. The no-
tices shall: 1) be printed legibly in English;  2) be at least one hundred forty-four square inches 
in size; 3) contain the name and address of the person under whose authority the property is 
posted or the name and address of the person who is authorized to grant permission to enter the 
property; 4) be placed at each roadway or apparent way of access onto the property, in addition 
to the posting of the boundaries; and 5) where applicable, state any specific prohibition that the 
posting is directed against, such as "no trespassing," "no hunting," "no fishing," "no digging" or 
any other specific prohibition.     

C.  Any person who posts public lands contrary to state or federal law or regulation is guilty of a 
petty misdemeanor.

Hunting on Private Property without Written Permission
A. It is unlawful to knowingly enter upon any private property to hunt, capture, take, attempt to 

take, or kill any game animal, furbearer, game bird, or game fish without possessing written per-
mission from the landowner or person in control of the land or trespass rights unless otherwise 
permitted in rule or statute.

B. Any game animal, furbearer, or game bird taken in violation of this section or section 30-14-1 
NMSA 1978 is unlawfully killed and shall be subject to seizure.

C. All shed antlers collected in violation of any New Mexico State Game Commission, state or 
federal land closure, in violation of section 30-14-1 NMSA 1978 or in violation of any of the 
provisions of Chapter 17 or state game commission rule remain property of the State of New 
Mexico and shall be seized.

D. EXCEPTION: Written permission is not required on any property which is participating in a 
unitization, receives compensation for allowing public access, receives unit-wide authorizations, 
or has agreed to a ranch-wide agreement when species being harvested is part of any of these 
agreements.

Written Permission shall mean a document (which may include a valid hunting, trapping, or 
fishing license) that asserts the holder has permission from the private landowner or their designee 
to hunt, fish, trap, or drive off road on the landowner’s property. The information on the document 
must be verifiable and include the name of the person(s) receiving permission, activity permitted, 
property’s location and name (if applicable), name of person granting permission, date and length of 
time the permission is granted, and phone number or e-mail of the person granting the permission. 
Licenses issued for private land which have the ranch name printed on them constitute written 
permission for that property and no other permission is required except for private-land elk licenses 
in the secondary management zone pursuant to 19.30.5 and 19.31.14 NMAC.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Operation Game Thief
Poaching Harms Everyone
Poachers are thieves stealing New Mexico’s wildlife which is harmful to hunters, anglers and 
outdoor enthusiasts alike. Operation Game Thief (OGT) is a silent witness program to help stop 
illegal poaching and wildlife trafficking by offering rewards for information leading to the arrest of 
poachers. 

Turn Tips into Cash! 
Funded by donations from individuals and organizations and not from tax and license fees, rewards 
include: $750 for cases involving elk or bighorn sheep; $500 for cases involving deer or oryx; $350 
for cases involving pronghorn; $250 for cases involving turkey, bear, cougar, javelina, ibex, Barbary 
sheep, endangered species, small game, fish, raptors and furbearers; and $50 for cases where a 
warning citation is issued. 
OGT’s toll-free hotline: 1-800-432-4263 is available 24–7–365 or call your local New Mexico 
State Police office. Wildlife violations also can be reported online at: 
https://onlinesales wildlife state nm us/public/ogt.

Operation Game Thief Needs Your Support
Individuals or organizations concerned about poaching and its impact on New Mexico’s wildlife can 
send tax-deductible donations to Operation Game Thief or call: 1-800-432-4263. Donations can 
be mailed to: OGT, New Mexico Department of Game and Fish, One Wildlife Way, Santa Fe, NM 
87507.  All donations received are used solely to pay rewards and promote the program.

Rewards Offered for Reporting Off-Road Vehicle Abuse 
The illegal use of off-highway vehicles (OHV) can degrade big-game habitat and negatively impact 
the quality of hunting and angling opportunities. The New Mexico chapter of Backcountry Hunters  
and Anglers (BHA) offers rewards up to $250 for information leading to the arrest of violators.  
For information about how to report abuse, visit online: www backcountryhunters org  
or contact your local NMDGF officer.

To report violations call: 1-800-432-4263
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Big Game & Turkey Rules
License Requirements and Fees: See page 8–13.
Understanding Hunt Codes: The hunt code printed on your license indicates the species, 
legal sporting arms, dates, area, fee type and bag limit for the license issued.
For example: DER-1-100 
• "DER" indicates a deer hunt.
• "1" indicates any legal big-game sporting arm (2 = bow only; 3 = muzzleloader, crossbow or bow 

only).
• "100" indicates an individual hunt for specific dates, area and bag limit.
This example (DER-1-100) found on page 49 is a deer hunt for any big-game sporting arm, standard 
fee, valid in GMU 2A from October 30–November 3 with a bag limit of one fork antlered deer (FAD).

Legal Sporting Arms 
Legal sporting arms for deer, elk, pronghorn, bighorn sheep, ibex, oryx, 
Barbary sheep and bear (big-game sporting arms): Any centerfire firearm at least  
.22 caliber or larger, any muzzle-loading firearm at least .45 caliber or larger, any shotgun .410 caliber 
or larger firing a single slug (including muzzle-loading shotguns), any bow or any crossbow. All 
firearms, except handguns, must be designed to be fired from the shoulder. Hunters must use only 
bullets designed to expand or fragment upon impact. Full metal jacket (FMJ) and tracer bullets are 
illegal. No fully automatic firearms may be used. Arrows and bolts must have broadheads (fixed or 
mechanical) with cutting edges. Sights on bows and crossbows may not project light (lighted pins 
are acceptable). No drugs may be used on arrows or bolts, and they cannot be driven by explosives, 
gunpowder or compressed air.
Legal sporting arms for cougar, javelina and furbearers: Any firearm, muzzle-
loader, compressed air gun, shotgun, bow or crossbow. All firearms, except handguns, must be 
designed to be fired from the shoulder. For cougar and javelina, compressed air guns must be .22 
caliber or larger and shotguns must fire a single slug or #4 buckshot or larger. Arrows and bolts must 
have broadheads (fixed or mechanical) with cutting edges. Sights on bows and crossbows may not 
project light. No drugs may be used on arrows or bolts, and they cannot be driven by explosives, 
gunpowder or compressed air.
Bow only: Any compound, long or recurve bow. Draw locks are illegal. Arrows must have 
broadheads (fixed or mechanical) with cutting edges. Sights on bows may not project light (lighted 
pins are acceptable). No drugs may be used on an arrow, and arrows cannot be driven by explosives, 
gunpowder or compressed air. 
Muzzleloader, bow or crossbow only: Any sporting arm in which the charge and 
projectile(s) are loaded through the muzzle. Only blackpowder, Pyrodex or equivalent blackpowder 
substitute may be used. Use of smokeless powder is prohibited. Scopes, sabots and in-line ignition 
may be used with muzzleloaders except during restricted muzzleloader deer hunts. Hunters may 
also use any bow or crossbow.  Arrows and bolts must have broadheads (fixed or mechanical) with 
cutting edges. Sights on bows and crossbows may not project light. No drugs may be used on arrows 
or bolts, and they cannot be driven by explosives, gunpowder or compressed air.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Restricted Muzzleloader for deer: Only a muzzle-loading rifle using open sights, black 
powder or equivalent propellant and firing a full bore diameter bullet or patched round ball is legal. 
The use of in-line ignition, scopes, and smokeless powder are prohibited.  Bows and crossbows are 
legal during restricted muzzleloader deer hunts.

Legal sporting arms for turkey: Any shotgun firing shot, bow and crossbow.  Arrows and 
bolts must have broadheads (fixed or mechanical) with cutting edges. Sights on bows and crossbows 
may not project light. No drugs may be used on arrows or bolts, and they cannot be driven by 
explosives, gunpowder or compressed air.

All Big-game and Turkey Harvests Must Be Tagged  
(E-Tag instructions, page 30)
1. Immediately after harvesting any big game or turkey, the carcass tag must be notched. The 

carcass tag must be attached to the kill before leaving the kill site. Instructions for notching and 
attaching are listed below and are provided on the reverse side of the tag.

2. Antlered or horned big game require an antler/horn tag be attached in addition to a carcass tag. 
Instructions for attaching are listed below and provided on the reverse side of the tag.

3.  Any big game or turkey kill left unattended in the field, in a vehicle or in camp must have  
a properly notched carcass tag and antler/horn tag (if applicable) attached.

 It is unlawful to possess any big-game species or turkey in the field without a properly notched 
carcass tag or handwritten E-Tag.

4.  Bear and cougar must be both carcass tagged and pelt tagged. Bear or cougar must be presented 
for pelt tagging within five (5) days after harvest (pages 108–109, 114). 

Tagging Instructions
The carcass tag or handwritten E-Tag authorizes possession of the big-game animal or turkey for one 
(1) year from date of kill. Bear and cougar carcass tags authorize possession of the animal for five 
days or until pelt tagged, whichever occurs first. Keep your tags!
1. Do not remove backing on the carcass tag until you are ready to tag.

Left to right: 
Carcass  tag, turkey 
tag and antler tag.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Big Game & Turkey Rules
Tagging Instructions — continued.
2. Upon killing your big-game animal or turkey, immediately and completely notch the month 

and day of kill on the carcass tag and then attach to the hock tendon of the animal or above the 
leg spur of the turkey (see illustrations above) prior to moving the big-game animal or turkey 
from the kill site. For bear and cougar the carcass tag may be wrapped around a hind leg above 
the foot if skinned.

3. Do not leave any backing material on the tag. Wrap the tag on carcass as shown, matching the 
ends together and pressing adhesive sides together evenly and tightly. Leave entire face of tag 
visible and readable. Do not overlap tag ends or cover any of the print.

4. Tags must remain attached until the big-game animal or turkey arrives at a taxidermist, meat 
processing facility or place of final storage (e.g. your home), or if required, until it is inspected, 
documented or pelt tagged by a NMDGF official. If multiple trips are required to transport the 
animal from the field, NMDGF recommends the tagged portion be transported first.

5. If a big-game animal is boned out or when a javelina is killed and nothing is removed or only 
the skull is taken, fold and adhere the carcass tag to itself leaving the entire face of the carcass 
tag visible. The adhered carcass tag must physically remain with parts of the animal that are 
removed and possessed.

Antlered and Horned Game Tag Instructions
When ready to tag, detach antler tag from backing. Attach the antler/horn tag to the main beam of 
the antler or horn, as close to the base as possible, where it will not slide off. Leave entire face of 
tag visible and readable. 

E-Tag Instructions (Big Game and Turkey)
If the E-Tag option is chosen, hunters will be required to obtain their E-Tag number through the  
NM E-Tag app upon harvesting a big-game animal or turkey. Hunters will receive an E-Tag number 
with their CIN and the date of kill which must be hand written on a durable material (e.g. duct tape or 
flagging ribbon) in permanent ink and attach it to the animal (see Tagging Instructions, pages 29–30). 
This procedure must be repeated for antlered/horned game as described above.

Mandatory Harvest Reporting: Deadlines see page 6. 
Harvest reporting is mandatory for all Barbary sheep, deer, elk, ibex, javelina, oryx, pronghorn, 
turkey and trapper license holders, whether or not a hunt or harvest occurred. Big-game, turkey and 
trapper license holders who do not report will be ineligible the following year for all draw hunts, 
population management hunts, private-land licenses and trapper licenses. Harvest reports can be 
submitted online or by telephone. Remember to keep your confirmation number!

One License per Species
It is illegal to apply for, buy or use more than one license for any big-game species during any 
license year—except when permitted by rule.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Proof of Sex
Hunters must keep proof of sex with all game species (except javelina) until the game has been transported 
where it will be consumed or stored. The antlers or horns must remain attached to the skull or skull plate of all 
male Barbary sheep, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, ibex, oryx or pronghorn. Immature males must be accompanied 
by the scalp and both ears. Female must be accompanied by either the scalp and both ears or the external 
genitalia naturally attached to one quarter. The external genitalia of any bear or cougar must remain 
naturally attached to the hide and be readily visible until the hide has been inspected and pelt tagged by a 
NMDGF representative. The beard must remain with the carcass when the bag limit is a bearded turkey.

Possession, Donation or Sale of Game
It is unlawful to possess any protected species or parts thereof without a properly notched carcass tag, 
handwritten e-tag, or other evidence the game has been taken legally. Carcasses, meat and internal organs of 
game mammals and game birds may not be sold or bartered, but can be donated. Only the skins, heads, antlers, 
horns, rendered fat, teeth or claws of legally taken or possessed protected species, any parts of furbearers and the 
feathers of non-migratory game birds may be bartered or sold. 
Any person giving  items to another person must supply the recipient with a written description which states: 
the parts (skin, head, antlers, horns, claws, feathers, etc.) and/or the kind and number of game; the date when 
and county where game was taken; the conveyor’s name, address and hunting license number used to take the 
game; and the date and place of the transaction or donation. A sample certificate is provided on page 119 and 
downloadable at www wildlife state nm us. 
It is unlawful to possess the head, horns or antlers of any big-game species found in the field without a receipt 
from NMDGF (except for shed antlers).

Storage
A properly notched carcass tag or handwritten E-Tag must remain with the meat, and authorizes possession and 
storage for one (1) year from the date of kill. To store or possess meat after this date, individuals must have a 
storage permit from NMDGF. Bear and cougar carcass tags authorize possession of the animal for five days or 
until pelt tagged, whichever occurs first. 
Trophies taken to a taxidermist or carcasses taken to a meat processor must be accompanied by a properly 
notched carcass tag and antler/horn tag (if applicable), a handwritten E-Tag, or a possession (donation) certificate. 
Keep your tags!

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Use of Dogs
Dogs may not be used to hunt big game, except bear and cougar. Certain exceptions apply (see specific species 
sections). When dogs are used to hunt bear or cougar, the licensed hunter must be present continuously once 
any dog is released. Leashed dogs may be used to locate wounded or dead big game. If dogs are used to locate 
wounded or dead big game, hunters must keep the dog(s) on a leash, and no more than two dogs may be 
used at a time.

Blaze Orange: Hunters on military properties must wear a minimum of 244 square inches 
of blaze orange. Hunters participating in any firearm elk hunt on Valles Caldera National Preserve 
must wear a minimum of 244 square inches of blaze orange. Though not required elsewhere by law, 
NMDGF strongly encourages hunters to wear blaze orange. (Ft. Bliss requires a blaze orange vest.)

Transportation of Horses: All horses being transported must be inspected by a 
local livestock inspector. Nonresidents with horses must have proof of ownership and health papers. 
For further information contact the New Mexico Livestock Board: (505) 841-6161.

Nongame Hunting License: Residents do not need a license to take nongame 
species. Nonresidents must purchase a nonresident nongame license or any New Mexico 
nonresident hunting license. Nongame species include prairie dogs, ground squirrels, Himalayan 
tahr, porcupine, rabbits, coyotes and skunks. Nongame hunting is not permitted on wildlife 
management areas (WMAs) unless otherwise posted, except Water Canyon WMA, where hunting 
nongame species is permitted January 1–March 31, 2023. 

Feral Hogs: Feral hogs are an unprotected species that can damage habitat, contaminate 
water and compete with native wildlife. Because of the negative impact this non-native intruder 
causes, anyone may hunt feral hogs year-round without a license. Basic hunting rules apply—such 
as obtaining permission if hunting on private land. Hunting with the aid of an artificial light 
and discharging of firearms within 150 yards of an occupied dwelling is illegal. Feral hogs should 
not be confused with javelina, which look similar but are a protected game species. Javelina are 
smaller than feral hogs and do not have a tail. Javelina also have a white stripe of hair near the 
shoulders and neck, giving them the common name 'collared peccary'. For information about 
where to hunt feral hogs contact the USDA: (505) 346-2640.

Big Game & Turkey Rules

Feral hog Javelina
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Outfitted Hunts
All outfitters and guides in New Mexico must be registered with NMDGF. Hunters who would like 
to use the services of an outfitter are strongly encouraged to do their research. Here are a few things 
you should look for in a reputable outfitter:
• Book your hunt with a registered outfitter. The outfitter list is updated weekly and available on the  

NMDGF website at www.wildlife.state.nm.us/enforcement/guide-and-outfitter-info.
• Ask for references. Ask for successful hunters and unsuccessful hunters to get an accurate idea of what to 

expect on your hunt. It’s also a good idea to search the internet, but remember that anyone can make a 
website or advertise on social media.  

• Ask questions. Make sure you have asked about all of the things you want on your hunt. Make a list so you 
remember what items you want to discuss with the outfitter and take notes.  

• Know whether you will be hunting private land or public land.  
• Applying for public-land draw hunts with an outfitter may improve your odds of drawing a license. Please 

reference the “outfitter list” and search for outfitters that have “Yes” in the 10% pool column. Contracts 
must be signed and dated prior to applying for draw hunts.

• If you draw a 10% pool license, it is not valid unless your outfitter or their guide is physically with you in 
the field for at least the first two days during the contracted dates of your hunt where your license is valid.

• Contracts are required by law. In an effort to protect both parties, contracts must designate the terms, hunt 
dates, guide to hunter-client ratio and compensation charged. Contracts must be signed prior to applying in 
the draw or for private-land hunts, prior to hunting. Read the contract carefully before signing it.

Outfitted Hunts on Private Land
• Outfitted hunts on private land must be conducted by a registered outfitter, unless the hunt is outfitted by 

the landowner, their authorized agent or their ranch employees. If you are planning to book a hunt with an 
“agent” who is not a registered outfitter, please call (505) 476-8066 before booking your hunt. An agent is 
a person who is legally authorized by employment or written contract to act on behalf of a private landowner 
to oversee the landowner’s hunting operation on their deeded property. Agents may not act independently 
from the landowner. Any person who purchases landowner permits or private-land licenses for a hunter-client 
or pays for access to a landowner’s deeded property for a hunter-client in any way, shall be considered an 
outfitter and must be registered with NMDGF.

• Private-land Authorizations: Know the difference between ranch-only and unit-wide (see page 66).  
Ranch-only authorizations are restricted to the property’s deeded acreage and not valid on public land. If you 
will be hunting private land make sure you know how big the property is before you book your hunt. Finding 
out you can only hunt on minimal acres can lead to an undesirable experience, and hunting illegally where 
your license is not valid can be costly.  

If any person claiming to be a registered outfitter is not on the registered list, do not do business with them. 
Guides are not outfitters, and it is illegal to book a hunt with a guide. A list of registered outfitters is provided 
online at www.wildlife.state.nm.us/enforcement/guide-and-outfitter-info.

For more information email: DGF-Guide-Outfitter@state.nm.us or call: (505) 476-8066 

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Management Hunts
Population Management Hunts
Hunters wishing to be considered for population management hunts for Barbary sheep, bighorn 
sheep, deer, elk, ibex, oryx or pronghorn must select the 5th-choice option on the draw 
application for the appropriate species. Hunters who do not select the 5th-choice hunt for 
population management hunts will not be considered; nor can hunters be added to the list after the 
public draw deadline. Applications must be completed online or by telephone by March 16 before 
5 p.m. 
Applicants must apply for at least one regular draw hunt choice to be eligible for the population 
management hunt for the same species. By choosing this option hunters are indicating their 
willingness, if unsuccessful in drawing their 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 4th choice, to be contacted by 
NMDGF if a population management hunt is scheduled for that species.
If a population management hunt is scheduled, a NMDGF official will contact the hunter to 
notify him/her of the hunt areas, dates, bag limit, allowable sporting arms and any other special 
restrictions. The hunter will be asked to accept or decline a hunt. If a hunter declines, another 
hunter will be contacted. Bag limits for population management hunts will be primarily female 
animals, since these hunts are intended to reduce populations in specific areas.
Choosing a population management hunt option is not a guarantee the applicant will be contacted 
for a hunt. Population management hunters must file a harvest report.
White Sands Missile Range (WSMR): If selecting the 5th-choice option for oryx, applicants must 
have arranged to receive a hunt authorization code from an approved WSMR 2022 security sponsor 
(see page 103). The applicant must enter the hunt authorization code in his/her oryx  
5th-choice hunt application. This applies only to population management oryx hunts that occur on 
WSMR. Do not select WSMR options if you do not have an authorization code.

Population Management Hunt Fees 
If unsuccessful for the 1st, 2nd, 3rd or 4th choice, applicants will be refunded the license fee.
If a hunter is contacted and accepts a 5th-choice hunt, she/he will be required to purchase the 
appropriate license(s) with tag for the species that she/he will hunt (page 12, Draw License Fees).
White Sands Missile Range and Jornada Experimental Range each charge a $150 access fee to 
all oryx hunters. Other federal agencies may charge access fees. Choosing the oryx population 
management hunt implies acceptance of additional fees should a hunter be called for one of  
these hunts. Population management hunters must file a harvest report, and may be required to 
obtain a carcass tag in person at a license vendor or NMDGF office.

Avoid Late Fees: Harvest Reporting for Late-season Management Hunts
Population management license holders for hunts that occur late in the license year or after the 
reporting deadlines must submit a harvest report on or before April 7 to maintain draw eligibility. 
NMDGF recommends reporting by telephone at:1-888-248-6866 to avoid late fees.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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All proceeds from enhancement hunts are used solely for habitat enhancement, conservation, 
research and management projects in New Mexico for the species auctioned or raffled. Authorizations 
may be used either by the recipient or any individual of the recipient’s choice through sale, barter or 
gift. These hunts do not count as once-in-a-lifetime hunts. 

Big-game Enhancement Packages
Two big-game authorization packages will be auctioned by NMDGF — one through the Mule 
Deer Foundation at the Western Hunting and Conservation Expo on February 10–13, 2022 in 
Salt Lake City, Utah — and one through The Wild Sheep Foundation at their convention in Reno, 
Nevada, January 13–15, 2022. Each package will consist of five authorizations, one for each of the 
following: deer, elk, ibex, oryx and pronghorn. The season dates are: Sept. 1, 2022–Jan. 31, 2023 
for deer and elk; April 1, 2022–March 31, 2023 for ibex and oryx (for oryx hunts, WSMR access 
must be prearranged); and Aug. 1–Nov. 1, 2022 for pronghorn. 

Bighorn Sheep Enhancement Authorizations
Two authorizations will be auctioned by NMDGF with the assistance of the Wild Sheep 
Foundation—one for desert bighorn sheep and one for Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep—during 
their convention January 13–15, 2022, in Reno, Nevada.

Two authorizations will be raffled by NMDGF with the assistance of the New Mexico chapter of the 
Wild Sheep Foundation (NMWSF)—one for desert bighorn sheep and one for Rocky Mountain 
bighorn sheep. 

Raffle tickets can be ordered by contacting NMWSF President Bryan Bartlett: (575) 635-3499 
or bartlebc@yahoo com. Tickets will be on sale from April 1–June 20, 2022. Tickets cannot be 
paid by telephone or email. Tickets are $20 each, and there are no volume discounts. Hunt dates 
are August 1–December 31, 2022, except in GMU 53 (Wheeler Peak), where the dates are August 
1–15, 2022 and September 1–December 31, 2022.
The successful auction bidder for desert bighorn sheep will choose their exclusive hunt area from 
the desert bighorn hunt area list on page 93, and the successful auction bidder for Rocky Mountain 
bighorn sheep will do the same from the hunt area list on page 92 (excluding Unit 58, Dry 
Cimarron). Each successful auction bidder must select their exclusive hunt area by June 30, 2022. 
Raffle winners for desert bighorn sheep and Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep must do the same by 
July 29, 2022, however, they may not choose the same exclusive area declared by the successful 
auction bidders. The units remaining after both the auction and raffle winners have chosen their 
hunts may be hunted by either or both enhancement license holders.  

Deer Enhancement Authorizations
One deer authorization will be auctioned by NMDGF with the assistance of the Mule Deer 
Foundation at the Western Hunting and Conservation Expo on February 10–13, 2022 in Salt 
Lake City, Utah. One deer authorization will also be raffled with the assistance of the Mule Deer 
Foundation. Tickets must be purchased by 6 p.m., June 9, 2022 to be considered for the June 10, 
2022 drawing. The bag limit for these hunts is one fork-antlered deer, and the season dates are: 
Sept. 1, 2022–Jan. 31, 2023.

Enhancement Hunts
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Elk Enhancement Authorizations
One bull-elk authorization will be auctioned by NMDGF with the assistance of the Mule Deer 
Foundation at the Western Hunting and Conservation Expo February 10-13, 2022 in Salt Lake 
City, Utah. One bull-elk authorization will be raffled with the assistance of the Rocky Mountain Elk 
Foundation at the NMDGF Santa Fe office in June, 2022. Enhancement license holders choosing 
to hunt on the Valles Caldera must arrange access with the National Park Service (575) 829-4100 
at least 2 weeks prior to hunting. For more information please visit the RMEF website: www rmef 
org. The bag limit for these hunts is one mature bull elk, and the season dates are: Sept. 1, 2022–
Jan. 31, 2023.

Gould’s Turkey Enhancement Permits
One Gould’s turkey enhancement permit will be auctioned virtually by NMDGF with the 
assistance of the National Wild Turkey Federation (NWTF) at the NWTF Convention and Sport 
Show. Additional information will be available on the NWTF website: www nwtf org/convention. 
A second permit will be raffled by NMDGF with the assistance of the New Mexico chapter of 
NWTF. Winners of the auction and raffle for Gould's turkey authorizations also will receive a 
regular New Mexico spring turkey license with tag(s). 

Premium Statewide Deer and Elk Hunts
The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish premium deer and elk hunts are in honor of two 
NMDGF employees, Austin Roberts and Ocie Gray, who were killed in a January 1960 plane crash 
while delivering hay to starving pronghorn on the snow-covered plains outside of Las Vegas.

Pilot Austin Roberts, 40, of Roswell, was a 14-year veteran of NMDGF at the 
time of his death. A cause of the accident was never determined. Before joining 
NMDGF Roberts served as a bomber pilot during World War II and survived 62 
bombing runs and being shot down six times. Lake Roberts in the Gila National 
Forest is named after him. 

Ocie Gray, 25, was a NMDGF biologist and a 1959 graduate of New Mexico State 
University in Las Cruces where a scholarship in his name is available to biology students. 

The two premium hunts were authorized by the New Mexico State Game 
Commission, one for deer and one for elk, to provide the public an affordable 
chance at a high quality hunting experience. The hunt codes are DER-1-700 
and ELK-1-700 and allow hunting with any big-game sporting arm in any unit 
statewide, including NMDGF’s wildlife management areas and private land with 
written permission, anytime between Sept. 1, 2022 and Jan. 31, 2023. The hunts 
are available through the draw and are subject to quota (nonresident and outfitted 
applicants are extremely unlikely to draw).  
___________________________________
 Right (top–bottom): Austin Roberts and Ocie Gray. NMDGF photo taken the day of the crash.

Enhancement Hunts
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Chronic Wasting Disease
Chronic Wasting Disease Rules Apply to Units 19, 28 and 34
It is unlawful to transport any deer or elk or their parts outside of these GMUs if they were taken 
from any chronic wasting disease (CWD) control area designated by the director of the New 
Mexico Department of Game and Fish. The exceptions are:
• Meat that is cut and wrapped either privately or commercially.
•  Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the head or spinal column attached.
•  Meat that has been boned out.
•  Hides with no heads attached.
•  Clean skull plates with antlers attached. Skull plate must be immersed in a bath of at least one 

part chlorine bleach and two parts water with all meat and tissue removed.
•  Antlers with no meat or tissue attached.
•  Upper canine teeth, also known as ivories.
•  Finished heads mounted by a taxidermist.
• By prior arrangement, a harvested deer or elk or their parts may be moved to an NMDGF  

office.
You may not remove the whole head and spinal column. You must keep proof of sex with all game 
species until you get the game to the place where it will be consumed or placed in cold storage.

Win an Elk or Oryx Incentive Authorization by Helping  
Test for Chronic Wasting Disease! 
To participate, bring your freshly harvested deer or elk head to any NMDGF office or field 
collection station, where tissues can be collected for CWD testing. In Units 19, 28 and 34 hunters 
must present the head for testing within the unit where the animal was harvested. Hunters must 
deliver the unfrozen head within 48 hours of killing the animal to be eligible. Participating 
hunters may be selected by drawing to receive an elk or oryx incentive authorization. Incentive 
Authorizations can be used by the recipient or by any individual of the recipient’s choice through 
sale, barter or gift. 

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Federal Lands
Access to Public Lands
New Mexico contains approximately nine million acres of national forest and 13 million acres of 
BLM lands. NMDGF recommends contacting the appropriate land management agency prior to 
hunting. Many public lands in New Mexico are also interspersed with privately owned property. A 
private landowner has the right to control the use of his/her private land. Where no public access exists, 
sportsmen/women must obtain written permission from the landowner or leaseholder to cross private 
land for access to public land. It is unlawful for persons to post or restrict lawful use of public land. 

National Parks and Monuments
National parks and national monuments are closed to hunting, except the following  
BLM managed national monuments:
Rio Grande Del Norte National Monument . . . . . (575) 751-4899
Prehistoric Trackways National Monument and Organ Mountains–Desert Peaks National 
Monument  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . (575) 525-4300

Valles Caldera National Preserve
All of unit 6B is closed to hunting and trapping, except elk and turkey draw hunts. All hunters and 
participants in any firearm hunt on Valles Caldera National Preserve (VCNP), except turkey hunters 
using shotguns, must wear a minimum of 244 square inches of blaze orange. A special-use permit 
fee ($35) and 7-day entrance fee ($20) must be paid. The Valles Caldera National Preserve honors 
any NPS pass to waive the $20 entrance fee. This includes NPS Annual, Lifetime, Senior, Military, 
Volunteer, and Access passes in addition to the America the Beautiful Pass. A hunter orientation also 
is required before hunting on VCNP. Hunters should review all information regarding VCNP hunting 
rules and regulations at: www nps gov/vall   For more information call: (575) 829-4100. 

National Wildlife Refuges (NWR)
NWRs are closed to hunting unless specified open by federal refuge regulations for hunting 
particular species. If specified open, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service approved nontoxic shot is required 
for hunting on all NWRs.
Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge:  . . .(575) 835-1828
Bitter Lake National Wildlife Refuge:  . . . . . . .(575) 622-6755
Las Vegas National Wildlife Refuge:  . . . . . . . .(505) 425-3581
Sevilleta National Wildlife Refuge: .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .(505) 864-4021

Forest Service Lands 
Most national forest lands in New Mexico are open to public hunting and fishing. Each national 
forest requires outfitters and guides to obtain a permit to provide services. Vehicle-use restrictions 
may apply on Forest Service properties. Specific roads are closed in some national forests to protect 
natural resources. It is unlawful to use vehicles in areas closed under the Habitat Protection Act. 
Late Season Road Closures: If intending to utilize roads through Forest Service or BLM property, 
it is advisable to contact the appropriate land management field office (pages 39–40) beforehand for 
late season or winter closures and other access restrictions.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Stay Informed about Controlled Burns
The U.S. Forest Service and other public-land management agencies routinely conduct controlled 
burns in forested areas during the fall months. Prescribed fires maintain a diverse and healthy forest 
ecosystem and improve wildlife habitat. Hunters are encouraged to be aware before their hunt 
and check nmfireinfo.com for burn advisories. No refunds will be offered if a controlled burn is 
conducted in your hunt area.

Sandia Ranger District: Cibola National Forest
The Sandia Ranger District is restricted to bow and crossbow only during established seasons. 

Valle Vidal: Carson National Forest
The Valle Vidal is closed seasonally to public access: the west side is closed May 1–June 30, and the 
east side is closed Jan. 1–March 31. The Valle Vidal unit is open to big-game and turkey hunting 
by draw only and is closed to all small-game hunting. Off-road travel is prohibited, and camping 
is allowed only in designated campgrounds or more than one-half mile from the road. Other 
restrictions may apply. For more information, contact the U.S. Forest Service office in Questa: 
(575) 586-0520.

For More Information about Forest Service Lands 
For information visit www fs fed us or contact the national forest of interest.  
Apache-Sitgreaves National Forest (928) 333-4301; Carson National Forest (575) 758-6200; 
Cibola National Forest (505) 346-3900; Coronado National Forest (520) 388-8300;  
Gila National Forest (575) 388-8201; Lincoln National Forest (575) 257-4095; or  
Santa Fe National Forest (505) 438-5300.

Bureau of Land Management Lands
Most land under Bureau of Land Management jurisdiction, including Wilderness Study Areas, is 
open to public hunting and fishing. However, it is the responsibility of each hunter and angler to 
know what restrictions apply. Outfitters and guides providing services on BLM lands must possess a 
permit issued by each specific BLM district.  Off-road vehicle travel may be restricted or prohibited 
on BLM lands, depending on location. Obey all posted rules and check with local BLM offices for 
regulatory changes that may occur in special management units. 

Rio Bonito Acquired Lands: Contact Roswell BLM office, (575) 627-0272.

Santa Cruz Lake Recreation Area: Contact Taos BLM office, (575) 758-8851  

Rio Grande Recreation Area: Wild Rivers Zone is open to hunting with the exception of 
the closed area: beginning from the fence at the pay station; east following the southern boundary 
of State Land section 32 to where it intersects the power line; south following the Red River to its 
confluence with the Rio Grande; north following the Rio Grande to Sheep’s Crossing; east to the 
right of way fence of the Backcountry Byway; and south following this right of way fence to the pay 
station. Taos Valley Overlook Zone and Orilla Verde Zone are closed to hunting.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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For More Information about BLM Lands
For more information visit: www blm gov/nm/st/en html or contact:  
Albuquerque: (505) 761-8700; Carlsbad: (575) 887-6544; Farmington: (505) 599-8900; 
Las Cruces: (575) 525-4300; Roswell: (575) 627-0272; Socorro: (575) 835-0412,  
Taos: (575) 758-8851, or Santa Fe: (505) 954-2000. 

Military Reservations
With the cooperation of the U.S. Department of Defense, hunting is allowed on some military 
reservations. Hunters must obtain permission and conditions of access directly from the military 
reservation. Hunters may be required to sign-in and sign-out at check stations for some hunts. The 
U.S. military may delay or cancel hunts (see closures below).
Kirtland Air Force Base: Contact: (505) 846-7420.
Lake Holloman Wildlife Refuge: Contact: (575) 572-7381.
Fort Bliss / McGregor Range: All hunters on Fort Bliss, including all of Unit 28 
and portions of Unit 19 and Unit 34, are required to obtain an access pass and have proof 
of passing a state-certified hunter education course. Mentor-youth hunters are not eligible. 
Hunters are required to wear a blaze-orange vest and are subject to security searches.  
McGregor Range (Unit 28) is open for big-game hunting by draw only (see species and season 
listings) and is considered on range. Hunters are required to visit  
https://ftbliss isportsman net/ to acquire an access pass and obtain access information, or 
E-mail christopher a taylor154 civ@mail mil
GMU 34: Grapevine Canyon (McGregor Range Buffer Zone): All hunters on Fort 
Bliss are required to obtain an access pass and have proof of passing a state-certified hunter education 
course. Mentor-youth hunters are not eligible. Hunters are required to wear a blaze-orange vest and are 
subject to security searches. This area is subject to closure by the Forest Service and/or Fort Bliss during 
military training events, and is accessible with military permission only. Hunters may obtain access 
information and passes through https://ftbliss isportsman net/. 
White Sands Missile Range: For access information, contact White Sands Missile Range 
at: (575) 678-7909 or (575) 678-2993.

U.S. Forest Service & Military Closures: In the interest of public safety, 
the U.S. Forest Service and U.S. military may delay or cancel hunts in portions of GMUs 10, 
13, 18, 19, 20, 28 and 34. Closures usually occur between 3 p.m. and 8 a.m., during which time 
roadblocks leading into closed areas will be placed and evacuation required of all persons in these 
areas. The area subject to closure by the U.S. Forest Service and/or the military during missile firings 
in Unit 34 is located in Grapevine Canyon (McGregor Range Buffer Zone). Closures of these areas 
can occur throughout the year and may affect a number of hunts listed in this booklet. The area 
subject to closure in GMU 10 includes approximately 29 square miles of the Mount Taylor Ranger 
District, Cibola National Forest—located in the Zuni Mountains, directly south and east of the Fort 
Wingate Launch Complex and south of U.S. Hwy. I-40. The area subject to closure in GMU 13 
includes approximately 200 square miles of the western portion of the Magdalena Ranger District, 
Cibola National Forest—located in the Datil Mountains, north of U.S. Hwy. 60 and northeast of 
Datil, N.M. Authority for the closures is 36 CFR 261.53 (E) and 36 CFR 261.54 (e).

Federal Lands
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New Mexico State Lands
New Mexico State Trust Land 
The New Mexico State Game Commission and the Commissioner of Public Lands have an 
agreement that provides access for hunting and fishing of protected species on State Trust Land by 
NMDGF licensees during the seasons for which their licenses are valid. Trapping is not allowed on 
State Trust Lands. A copy of this agreement and other information about hunting access on State 
Trust Land can be found at:  www nmstatelands org/resources/hunting-access-information/  
People seeking to use State Trust Land for uses not addressed under this agreement must secure 
separate approval from the New Mexico State Land Office (NMSLO). For more information, 
contact NMSLO at: (505) 827-5760 or visit: www nmstatelands org.

Access
Certain areas may be unavailable for hunting or fishing. For specific locations, contact NMSLO at the phone 
number above or use the interactive map at: mapservice nmstatelands org/HuntingInformation.
The right to enter State Trust Land via vehicle is allowed if access is available by public road (defined in  
Section 67-2-1, NMSA 1978) or on other established roads on State Trust Land that have not been closed to 
vehicular traffic. Access is also allowed on foot from roads mentioned above or from adjacent public and private 
lands that have been lawfully accessed. 
NMDGF and NMSLO have identified specific hunting access points on State Trust Land that must be unlocked 
during any open season. These access points are shown on NMSLO’s interactive map.
To ensure access and create large and better defined hunting areas, hunting privileges for some State Trust Land 
have been exchanged for similar privileges on private lands. The private-land areas have signs posted with notices 
that the land has been unitized (page 44). Observe these signs and contact NMDGF if you have questions about 
which lands are open for public use.
On legally accessible State Trust Land, you may:
• Scout for big game fourteen days prior to the open season.
• Hunt for big game or take protected furbearers during open hours and seasons.
• Hunt nongame species on State Trust Land, but only during the period in which your license is valid for 

protected species on those lands.
• Camp with the permission of the State Trust Land agricultural lessee, in campsites designated under this 

agreement and shown on NMSLO’s interactive map, or as otherwise authorized by the commissioner.
• Take up to three guests per license holder on your hunt.
If you have problems or questions about gaining access to State Trust Land, record complete details including 
the location, date, time, and names of parties involved, and contact one of the following:
•  The local NMDGF Conservation Officer or NMDGF Operation Game Thief: 1-800-432-4263.
• NMSLO in Santa Fe at: (505) 827-5760 or the appropriate local NMSLO Field Office, using the  

directory at: www.nmstatelands.org/divisions/surface-resources/district-offices.
• Submit a Multiple Use Incident Reporting From, found at: www nmstatelands org/resources/

hunting-access-information/ 

On State Trust Land, you must:
• Have in your possession all required and valid fishing and hunting licenses with tags which must be avail-

able on demand by employees of NMSLO or NMDGF.
• Respect other permitted or leased uses of State Trust Land, including agriculture, mineral activities,  

and recreation.
• Drive only on established roads. 
• Close all gates that you pass through.
• Respect private property.
• Pack out trash.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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New Mexico State Parks
All New Mexico State Parks are closed to hunting, unless specified open in a designated area.  
For information contact the  New Mexico State Parks Division at: 1-888-667-2757 or  
https://www emnrd nm gov/spd/. 

Other State Lands
Chihuahuan Desert Research Center: The Chihuahuan Desert Rangeland Research 
Center (College Ranch) is closed to unescorted public access. For information, call:  
(575) 646-2554 or visit: http://chihuahuansc nmsu edu/index html.

Jornada Experimental Range: Jornada Experimental Range in Doña Ana County is 
closed to unescorted public access. 

Middle Rio Grande Conservancy District: For information or to obtain access, call: 
(505) 864-7466.

Portions of the Rio Grande in Valencia County: In the interest of public safety, 
areas posted along the Rio Grande in Valencia County may be closed to hunting. For further 
information regarding closures contact the NMDGF Northwest Office: (505) 222-4700, ext  0. 

Don’t Bring Firewood into New Mexico from Other States!
Bringing firewood from one state to another has become the principal method by which damaging 
insect pests and diseases are introduced to forests. Emerald ash borer, Sirex woodwasps, gypsy moth, 
Asian longhorn beetle, and oak wilt disease can be transported in firewood and are the cause of 
significant damage to forests in other states. If established, these pests are almost always fatal to trees 
and will decimate forested areas and riparian areas. In the event you bring firewood from another 
state, please burn all of it immediately.  

Purchase or collect firewood within New Mexico.
For more information contact the New Mexico Department of  
Agriculture: (575) 646-3207 or the U.S. Department of  
Agriculture–Plant Protection and Quarantine: (575) 527-6985  

New Mexico State Lands
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

New Mexico State Trust Land—continued.
It is illegal to:
• Attach blinds to private property, such as windmills, tanks, etc.
• Drive off-road for any reason.
• Enter during seasons for which you are not licensed or before the hours and allowed  

scouting periods for which you are licensed.
• Use private roads or cross private lands without prior written permission from the landowner.
• Remove wood, sand or gravel or conduct commercial activities.
• Harass or injure livestock or wildlife or damage private property, such as dwellings, stock tanks 

or fences. 
• Use a Private-land Only License to hunt on state land, even if the state land is leased by a  

landowner whose property you have permission to hunt.
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New Mexico State Game Commission Lands 
The New Mexico State Game Commission owns and manages lands across New Mexico for 
the benefit of fish, wildlife and their habitats. Wildlife management areas (WMAs) have been 
designated to provide public hunting opportunities. 

Big-game and Turkey Hunting on Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)
All WMAs are closed unless specifically open. If designated open:
• WMAs open for big-game and turkey hunting are listed in this booklet for each big-game spe-

cies by GMU.  All WMAs not listed are closed to big-game and turkey hunting.
• Only New Mexico residents may apply for big-game hunts held exclusively on WMAs.  Non-

residents may apply only for hunts open concurrently on both a WMA and other public lands. 
• Scouting is allowed by each properly licensed big-game hunter with up to three guests during 

the seven-day period prior to the published start date of his/her hunt.

General Rules for Hunting on Wildlife Management Areas
• WMA access is allowed by each properly-licensed hunter with up to three guests, during the 

hunt period on their license (includes scouting period for big-game and turkey hunters only).  
• Individuals may not enter closed areas as posted on site.
• Vehicles may not be operated off established roads or on closed roads.
• Camping is restricted to designated areas. Individuals may not camp more than 14 consecutive 

days, unless the combined hunting and scouting periods for which the hunter is licensed   
exceeds the 14 days.

• Campfires must be safely contained.
• Dogs must remain on leash, except when being used for hunting purposes as allowed by rule.
• Domestic livestock feed, other than pelleted, grain feed or hay certified as weed free, is prohib-

ited.
• Individuals may not deface or remove rocks, minerals, plants (including fruits, nuts, and  

berries), animals (except for legally harvested game), firewood, or man-made features (including 
artifacts).

• Individuals may not violate access rules for specific WMAs posted  on site or otherwise  
published by NMDGF.

Hunting for nongame animals or unprotected species (feral hogs) is not allowed on WMAs, except 
Water Canyon WMA where nongame hunting is allowed January 1–March 31, 2023.

For further rules and specific information about each WMA, visit Conservation/State Game 
Commission Lands at www wildlife state nm us.

 

 

Wildlife Management Areas
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Private Lands
Hunting on Private Land
Hunters must possess written permission before entering private lands, (see Criminal Trespass, 
pages 25–26). It is unlawful to knowingly enter any private property to hunt, capture, take, attempt 
to take or kill any protected species on posted private property without written permission from 
the landowner or person in control of the land. It also is unlawful to remain on private property if 
consent has been denied or withdrawn. Any game taken in violation of the above, shall be subject to 
seizure. Written permission form downloadable at:  
http://www.wildlife.state.nm.us/wpfb-file/written-permission-to-hunt-private-land-pdf/

Unitization Agreements: Access and Use
Unitization agreements are cooperative temporary agreements between landowners and the 
New Mexico Department of Game and Fish, the State Land Office and/or the Bureau of Land 
Management (BLM). These agreements increase public hunting access during the hunting season 
to previously inaccessible areas, while diminishing trespass issues for landowners and enabling them 
to better manage ranching operations. Each agreement is reviewed annually, and the public may 
provide comments.
To take advantage of the hunting opportunities unitized ranches provide, hunters must have a valid 
license for the season and species identified in each agreement.
For maps and information on ranches that have entered into unitization agreements visit:  
http://www wildlife state nm us/hunting/maps/unitized-ranch/  Also, to assist and inform 
hunters in the field, signs will be posted on public and private property where unitization 
agreements are in effect. CarryMap shows all current unitizations (see page 126).
Hunters may hunt on private lands that have been opened through an unitization agreement. 
Hunters must have permission from the lessee to hunt on BLM/State lands that have been closed 
through a unitization agreement. Game animals taken in violation of unitization agreements may 
be seized.

 
Hunting on Native American lands is outside the jurisdiction of the New Mexico Department of 
Game and Fish. Permission must be obtained from the pueblo, tribe or nation that owns the land.
Game and/or fish taken on or from native lands must be accompanied by an official document, 
such as a license or receipt from tribal authorities, which demonstrates lawful possession.
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Native American Lands 
Contact individual pueblos, tribes and nations for more information 

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Open Gate
Open Gate Program
Open Gate is a voluntary access program available to outdoor users and landowners statewide. 
The program leases lands and waters from private landowners to provide access to the public for 
hunting, fishing and trapping. 
Each property participating in Open Gate will have specific rules for permitted activities agreed 
upon by the landowner and NMDGF. These rules will be posted on the property and are also 
available on the NMDGF website. Hunters, anglers and trappers can use this information to locate 
and learn about properties that match their interests.
It is the responsibility of the individual using the property to know and obey posted rules. Citations 
may be issued for violation of any rules or regulations.

Leave no trace. Be a respectful and courteous guest.
• Follow all posted rules.
• Leave all gates as you found them.
• Don’t block gates or roads with parked vehicles.
• Don’t shoot towards livestock, buildings or equipment.
• Do not leave trash and pick up any trash found along the way.
• If you see the landowner, don’t forget to offer an appreciative thank you!

Landowners Can Earn Extra Cash for an Open Gate Lease
The New Mexico Department of Game and Fish is interested in leasing more lands with quality 
habitat for hunting, fishing, and trapping. Willing landowners can sign an agreement with 
NMDGF and receive a per-acre payment based on opportunities provided. In addition to property 
leases, NMDGF will also pay for right-of-way access across the property of a landowner to allow 
hunters and anglers access to otherwise inaccessible tracts of state trust or federal lands. New 
Mexico provides liability protection to landowners who participate in Open Gate.
Funding for the Open Gate program is provided by a portion of  
annual habitat management & access validation sales. 
To learn more about the Open Gate program please visit:  
www wildlife state nm us or call:  
(505) 476-8043.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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General Information
• While in The Field You Must Have All of the Following (page 8)
• All Deer Harvests Must Be Tagged (pages 29–30)
• License Requirements and Fees (see pages  8–13)
• Legal Sporting Arms for Deer Hunting (specified by hunt code,   

see pages 28–29)
• Hunting on Military Reservations (see page 40)
• Mobility–impaired Hunts (see pages 14–15) 
• Youth–only Hunts (see page 14)
• Chronic Wasting Disease Rules (see page 37)
• It is Legal to Harvest a Marked Animal (see page 5)

Deer Draw Licenses 
The deadline to apply for deer draw licenses is March 16, 2022. Up to four hunters may apply per 
application for a deer draw license.
Successful applicants will be mailed a deer draw license/tag, unless the E–Tag option is chosen. The 
license includes a hunt code and description of the unit, sporting–arm type, season dates and bag 
limit. Tags include instructions for proper tagging.

Fee Types for Deer Draw Licenses (see glossary, pages 123–125)
Resident and nonresident fees are listed on page 12.
S Standard hunt 
Q Quality hunt
HD High–demand hunt
Q/HD Quality and high–demand hunt combination 
If allotted a license in the draw that has a fee lower than that submitted when applying, the 
difference will be refunded. 

Fourth Choice Hunts
By selecting 4th–choice, an applicant is indicating she/he will accept a deer hunting license for  
any hunt in a specific quadrant of the state. The 4th–choice assignment will always be for the same 
sporting arm type as the 1st choice on an application.
Hunters should understand that success rates for 4th–choice hunts may be low, due to small and/
or localized deer populations. Not all hunts are available in the 4th–choice hunt pool. Hunters who 
draw a 4th–choice hunt will not receive a refund and may not obtain a private–land only license 
if dissatisfied with the hunt drawn. 
If applying for a 4th–choice hunt, applicants must select one of the four quadrants listed below.

NW Northwest: Units 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12 or 14 

NE Northeast: Units 41, 42, 43, 45, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58 or 59 

SW Southwest: Units 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26 or 27 

SE Southeast: Units 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 38, 39 or 40 

Deer Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Bag Limit (see glossary, pages 120–122)
FAD Fork antlered deer (white-tailed or mule deer) 
FAMD Fork antlered mule deer 
FAWTD Fork antlered white-tailed deer 
ESWTD Either sex white-tailed deer 
A Antlerless deer 

Private–land Only Deer Licenses
To hunt on private land only (except in Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A listed below), hunters must 
obtain a private–land only deer license and carcass tag—available online, by telephone, from license 
vendors or at NMDGF offices. Online and telephone purchases must be made at least 14 days prior 
to the hunt start date to allow mailing of tags (see page 9), unless the E–Tag option is chosen. When 
obtaining a private–land only deer license, the hunter must select a hunt code which corresponds 
with a deer–draw hunt code for the unit, bag limit, sporting arm type and season date. If the hunter 
is a nonresident and selects a corresponding deer–draw hunt code designated as quality (Q) or high 
demand (HD), she/he must purchase a quality deer license. 

Private–land Deer Hunting in Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A
Hunters wishing to hunt on private land in these units must obtain an authorization code and a 
hunt code from the landowner, and must apply through the regular public draw. When applying for 
private–land hunts in Unit 5A, only one person per application may apply. The application must be 
completed by March 16, 2022. Private–land only licenses are not issued by license vendors  
for hunts in Units 2A, 2B, 2C,  4 and 5A. Hunt codes must be obtained from a landowner.
Landowners must obtain an authorization code and hunt codes from the NMDGF Northwest 
Area office located in Albuquerque or call: (505) 222–4710. 

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Private-land Deer Hunting in Units 8, 46, 54, 55 and 55B
Units 8, 46, 54 and 55 have limited public–land hunting opportunities. Private–land hunters in 
these units must select one of the hunt codes listed below. The fee type is standard (S).

Hunt Dates Hunt Code Fee Type Licenses Bag Limit
Unit 8
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-501 S Unlimited FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-502 S Unlimited FAD
Any Legal Oct  15-19 DER-1-500 S Unlimited FAD

Unit 46
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-505 S Unlimited FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-506 S Unlimited FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-503 S Unlimited FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-504 S Unlimited FAD

Unit 54
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-511 S Unlimited FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-512 S Unlimited FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-507 S Unlimited FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-508 S Unlimited FAD
Any Legal Nov  23-27 DER-1-509 S Unlimited ESWTD
Any Legal -  
Youth Only

Nov  19-27 DER-1-510 S Unlimited FAD

Unit 55A, 55B
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-516 S Unlimited FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-517 S Unlimited FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-513 S Unlimited FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-514 S Unlimited FAD
Any Legal -  
Youth Only

Nov  19-27 DER-1-515 S Unlimited FAD

Unit 55B ONLY
Any Legal Nov  23-27 DER-1-518 S Unlimited ESWTD

Deer Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Deer Draw Licenses
Draw licenses authorize the hunter to hunt on any open public land within the specified unit or 
hunt area and on any private land in that unit (except Units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A), with written 
permission from the landowner of the property.
Closed Areas: Military reservations, national parks and monuments, state parks and monuments, 
recreation areas, national wildlife refuges, state wildlife management areas, and other locations 
may be closed or restrict hunting. All state wildlife management areas are closed unless officially 
designated open to hunting.

Hunt Dates Hunt Code Fee Type Licenses Bag Limit

Premium Statewide 
Deer Hunt  (see p. 36)

Any Legal Sep  1-Jan 31, ‘23 DER-1-700 S 1 FAD

Unit 2A
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-103 S 40 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-105 S 80 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-107 S 50 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-100 S 150 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-102 S 40 FAD

Unit 2B
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-116 S 130 FAD
Bow - Youth Only Sep  1-24 DER-2-117 S 20 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-119 Q/HD 180 FAD
Bow - Youth Only Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-120 Q 50 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-122 S 175 FAD
Muzzle - Youth Only Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-123 S 20 FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-109 S 275 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-111 S 400 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-113 Q 475 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-115 HD 150 FAD

Unit 2C
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-127 Q/HD 50 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-129 Q/HD 20 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-125 Q/HD 30 FAD

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Hunt Dates Hunt Code Fee Type Licenses Bag Limit
Unit 4 Humphries/ 
Rio Chama/Sargent 
WMAs (NM Residents Only)
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-139 Q 10 FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-131 Q 20 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Oct  22-26 DER-1-132 Q 10 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-134 Q 20 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-136 Q 10 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  23-27 DER-1-138 Q 5 FAD

Unit 5A (Public land only)
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-144 S 30 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-146 S 10 FAD
Any Legal Nov  8-14 DER-1-142 S 40 FAD

Unit 5B
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-150 Q 10 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-151 Q 10 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-148 Q/HD 25 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-149 Q/HD 10 FAD

Units 6A, 6C
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-154 S 100 FAD
Muzzle Oct  1-5 DER-3-155 S 115 FAD
Any Legal -  
Mobility Impaired Only

Oct  15-19 DER-1-152 S 20 FAD

Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-153 S 100 FAD

Unit 7
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-157 S 10 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-158 S 20 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-156 S 25 FAD

Unit 8
Bow - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-2-159 S 50 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-160 S 65 FAD

Unit 9 (including Water 
Canyon and Marquez WMAs)
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-163 S 10 FAD
Muzzle - Restricted 
muzzleloader only

Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-164 S 10 FAD

Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-161 S 10 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-162 S 10 FAD

Deer Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Hunt Dates Hunt Code Fee Type Licenses Bag 
Limit

Unit 10
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-170 S 100 FAD

Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-171 S 90 FAD

Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Oct  22-26 DER-1-165 S 20 FAD

Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-166 S 70 FAD

Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-167 S 65 FAD

Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-168 S 90 FAD

Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-169 S 25 FAD

Unit 12
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-173 HD 20 FAD

Muzzle Nov  12-16 DER-3-174 S 40 FAD

Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-172 S 90 FAD

Unit 13
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-178 S 125 FAD

Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-179 S 75 FAD

Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-180 S 200 FAD

Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-175 S 150 FAD

Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-176 S 150 FAD

Any Legal -  
Youth Only

Nov  19-27 DER-1-177 S 50 FAD

Unit 14
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-182 S 30 FAD

Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-183 S 25 FAD

Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-184 S 50 FAD

Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-181 S 50 FAD

Unit 15
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-185 S 75 FAD

Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-186 S 25 FAD

Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-187 S 165 FAD

Muzzle - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-3-188 S 100 FAD

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Unit 16 
(A, B, C, D, and E)

Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-193 S 230 FAD

Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-194 S 175 FAD

Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-195 S 300 FAD

Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-189 S 300 FAD

Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Nov  12-16 DER-1-190 S 25 FAD

Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-191 S 300 FAD

Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-192 S 100 FAD

Unit 17
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-199 Q 75 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-200 Q 75 FAD
Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-201 Q 80 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-196 Q 80 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-197 Q 80 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-198 Q 80 FAD

Unit 18
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-204 S 50 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-205 S 40 FAD
Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-206 S 75 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-202 S 70 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-203 S 70 FAD

Unit 19 (excluding  
WSMR portion)
Bow1 Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-208 S 10 FAD
Muzzle1 Dec  3-7 DER-3-209 S 10 FAD

Unit 19 (WSMR  
portion only)
Any Legal2 Jan  13-15, '23; 27-29, ‘23 DER-1-207 S 5 FAD

Unit 20
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-212 S 40 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-213 S 25 FAD
Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-214 S 85 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-210 S 90 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-211 S 90 FAD

Deer Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

1 Mandatory check-in/check-out  Chronic wasting disease (CWD) detected in this area 
2 White Sands Missile Range (WSMR) ONLY, mandatory check-in/check-out  WSMR will charge a $50 per 
hunter access fee  Successful WSMR applicants will receive an email from WSMR with instructions for fee 
payment  Hunters are responsible for timely payment and will not be allowed to hunt if the access fee has not 
been paid by the specified deadline. Chronic wasting disease (CWD) detected in this area.
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Unit 21
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-218 S 300 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-219 S 200 FAD
Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-220 S 350 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-215 S 425 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-216 S 425 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-217 S 100 FAD

Unit 22
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-224 S 30 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-225 S 25 FAD
Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-226 S 65 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-221 S 70 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-222 S 70 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-223 S 20 FAD

Unit 23 (excluding 
Burro Mountain Area)
Bow1 Sep  1-24 DER-2-232 S 205 FAMD
Bow1 Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-233 S 50 FAMD
Bow1 Sep  1-24 DER-2-234 S 100 FAWTD
Bow1 Jan  16-31, ‘23 DER-2-235 S 50 FAWTD
Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-236 S 225 FAMD
Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-237 S 45 FAWTD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-227 S 450 FAMD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-228 S 450 FAMD
Any Legal Nov  19-23 DER-1-229 HD 100 FAWTD
Any Legal Dec  3-11 DER-1-230 HD 50 FAWTD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-231 S 75 FAD

Unit 23 (Burro 
Mountain Area only)
Bow only1 Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-241 Q 40 FAMD
Bow only1 Sep  1-24 DER-2-242 Q 20 FAWTD
Bow only1 Jan  16-31, ‘23 DER-2-243 Q 50 FAWTD
Muzzle only Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-244 Q 40 FAMD
Muzzle only Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-245 Q 40 FAWTD
Any Legal Nov  5-13 DER-1-238 Q 35 FAMD
Any Legal Dec  3-11 DER-1-239 Q/HD 40 FAWTD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-240 Q 25 FAD

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us

1  Hunters holding a valid Bow Deer License for Unit 23 and who did not harvest a deer during an above 
hunt, will be allowed to hunt antlerless deer within the Silver City Deer Management Area (as determined by 
NMDGF) from Jan  16-Feb  5, 2023 

2022–2023
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Unit 24  
(excluding Fort Bayard 
Management Area)
Bow1 Sep  1-24 DER-2-252 S 125 FAMD
Bow1 Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-253 S 75 FAMD
Bow1 Sep  1-24 DER-2-254 S 60 FAWTD
Bow1 Jan  16-31, ‘23 DER-2-255 S 40 FAWTD
Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-256 S 280 FAMD
Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-257 S 40 FAWTD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-247 S 400 FAMD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-248 S 400 FAMD
Any Legal Nov  19-23 DER-1-249 S 100 FAWTD
Any Legal Dec  3-11 DER-1-251 HD 50 FAWTD

Unit 24  
(Including Fort Bayard 
Management Area)
Any Legal -  
Youth Only2

Oct  1-9 DER-1-246 S 50 FAD

Any Legal -  
Youth Only2

Nov  19-27 DER-1-250 S 50 FAD

Unit 25
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-260 S 45 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-261 S 30 FAD
Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-262 S 45 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-258 S 100 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-259 S 100 FAD

Unit 26
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-265 S 25 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-266 S 15 FAD
Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-267 S 60 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-263 S 100 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-264 S 100 FAD

Unit 27
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-273 Q 40 FAMD
Bow Jan  16-31, ‘23 DER-2-274 Q 40 FAWTD
Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-275 Q 40 FAMD
Muzzle Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-3-276 Q 50 FAWTD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-268 Q 50 FAMD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-269 Q 50 FAMD

Deer Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

1 Hunters holding a valid Bow Deer License for Unit 24 and who did not harvest a deer during an above 
hunt, will be allowed to hunt antlerless deer within the Silver City Deer Management Area (as determined by 
NMDGF) from Jan  16-Feb  5, 2023 
2 Including Fort Bayard Management Area
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Any Legal Nov  19-23 DER-1-270 Q/HD 40 FAWTD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-271 Q 25 FAD
Any Legal Dec  3-11 DER-1-272 Q/HD 25 FAWTD

Unit 28 McGregor 
range (CWD detected  
in this area, see p. 37)
Any Legal Dec  17-18 DER-1-277 HD 25 FAD
Any Legal -  
Military Only

Dec  17-18 DER-1-278 HD 25 FAD

Unit 29
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-281 S 100 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-282 S 50 FAD
Muzzle Oct  22-26 DER-3-283 S 70 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-279 S 170 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-280 S 170 FAD

Unit 30
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-287 S 200 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-288 S 100 FAD
Muzzle Oct  22-26 DER-3-289 S 325 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-284 S 800 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-285 S 800 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-286 S 250 FAD

Unit 31 (including 
Prairie Chicken WMAs)
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-292 S 175 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-293 S 100 FAD
Muzzle Oct  22-26 DER-3-294 S 175 FAD
Muzzle - Huey WMA 
only / NM Resident 
Only / Youth Only

Nov  19-27 DER-3-307 S 10 ES

Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-290 S 465 FAD
Any Legal Nov  19-23 DER-1-291 S 460 FAD

Unit 32 (including 
Prairie Chicken WMAs)
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-299 S 150 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-300 S 100 FAD
Muzzle Oct  22-26 DER-3-301 S 175 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-295 S 625 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-296 S 625 FAD
Any Legal -  
Youth Only 1

Dec  16-31 DER-1-297 S 15 A

Any Legal 1 Jan  16-31, ‘23 DER-1-298 S 15 A

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us

1 Roswell and Fort Sumner hunt areas ONLY 
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Unit 33 (including 
Prairie Chicken WMAs)
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-304 Q 60 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-305 Q 50 FAD
Muzzle - Restricted 
muzzleloader only

Oct  22-26 DER-3-306 Q 140 FAD

Muzzle - Huey WMA 
only / NM Resident 
Only / Youth Only

Nov  19-27 DER-3-307 S 10 ES

Muzzle - Huey WMA 
only / NM Resident 
Only / Youth Only

Dec  26-Jan 1, ‘23 DER-3-308 S 10 A

Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-302 Q 150 FAD
Any Legal Nov  19-23 DER-1-303 Q 150 FAD

Unit 34  
(CWD detected in  
this area. See page 37)
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-313 S 450 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-314 S 350 FAD
Muzzle Nov  5-9 DER-3-315 S 340 FAD
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Oct  22-26 DER-1-309 S 50 FAD

Any Legal - Youth Only Oct  22-26 DER-1-310 S 45 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-311 S 735 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-312 S 735 FAD

Unit 36 (including 
Fort Stanton)
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-319 S 225 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-320 S 125 FAD
Muzzle - Youth Only Oct  22-26 DER-3-322 S 25 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-318 S 25 FAD

Unit 36 (excluding 
Fort Stanton)
Muzzle Oct  22-26 DER-3-321 S 115 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-316 S 300 FAD
Any Legal Nov  12-16 DER-1-317 S 300 FAD

Unit 37
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-325 S 100 FAD

Deer Licenses
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Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-326 S 80 FAD
Muzzle Oct  22-26 DER-3-327 S 125 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-323 S 375 FAD
Any Legal Nov  19-23 DER-1-324 S 375 FAD

Unit 38
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-330 S 65 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-331 S 40 FAD
Muzzle Oct  22-26 DER-3-332 S 100 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-328 S 175 FAD
Any Legal Nov  19-23 DER-1-329 S 175 FAD

Unit 39
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-335 S 25 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-336 S 15 FAD
Muzzle Oct  22-26 DER-3-337 S 40 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-333 S 40 FAD
Any Legal Nov  19-23 DER-1-334 S 40 FAD

Unit 40
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-340 S 15 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-341 S 10 FAD
Muzzle Oct  22-26 DER-3-342 S 25 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-338 S 50 FAD
Any Legal Nov  19-23 DER-1-339 S 50 FAD

Unit 41
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-348 Q 10 FAD
Bow Jan  1-15, ‘23 DER-2-349 Q 10 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-350 Q 25 FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-343 Q 40 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-344 Q 40 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-345 Q 5 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Dec  3-7 DER-1-346 Q 15 ESWTD
Any Legal Dec  10-14 DER-1-347 Q 10 ESWTD

Unit 42
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-354 S 10 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-355 S 10 FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-351 S 40 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-352 S 35 FAD
Any Legal Nov  23-27 DER-1-353 S 10 ESWTD

Unit 43
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-357 S 10 FAD
Muzzle Oct  22-26 DER-3-358 S 10 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-356 S 35 FAD

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Deer Licenses
Unit 45
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-363 S 150 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-364 S 160 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-359 S 250 FAD
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Nov  5-9 DER-1-360 S 25 FAD

Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-361 S 250 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-362 S 25 FAD

Unit 47
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-367 S 10 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-368 S 20 FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-365 S 20 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-366 S 20 FAD

Unit 48
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-371 S 45 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-372 S 25 FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-369 S 40 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-370 S 50 FAD

Unit 49
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-375 S 100 FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-373 S 90 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-374 S 90 FAD

Unit 50
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-378 S 5 FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-376 S 50 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-377 S 50 FAD

Unit 51A
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-380 S 65 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-379 S 145 FAD

Unit 51B
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-383 S 10 FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-381 S 15 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-382 S 15 FAD

Unit 52
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-386 S 80 FAD
Muzzle - Restricted 
muzzleloader only

Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-387 S 25 FAD

Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-384 S 90 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-385 S 90 FAD

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Unit 53
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-390 S 90 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-388 S 85 FAD
Any Legal Nov  5-9 DER-1-389 S 85 FAD

Units 54 and 55 
(NM Residents Only)
Bow - Colin Neblett 
WMA

Sep  1-24 DER-2-393 S 10 FAD

Any Legal - Colin 
Neblett WMA

Oct  22-26 DER-1-391 S 15 FAD

Any Legal - Colin 
Neblett WMA

Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-392 S 15 FAD

Unit 55  
(NM Residents Only)
Any Legal - ES Barker 
WMA

Oct  22-26 DER-1-394 S 5 FAD

Any Legal - ES Barker 
WMA / Youth Only

Nov  19-27 DER-1-395 S 5 FAD

Any Legal -  
Urraca WMA

Oct  22-26 DER-1-396 S 10 FAD

Any Legal -  
Urraca WMA

Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-397 S 10 FAD

Unit 55A  
(Valle Vidal Only)
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-398 Q 10 FAD

Unit 56
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-403 S 10 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-404 S 10 FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-399 S 15 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-400 S 15 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-401 S 10 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Dec  3-7 DER-1-402 S 10 ESWTD

Unit 57  
(Sugarite Canyon  
State Park Only)
Bow Nov  1-30 DER-2-410 Q 20 FAD

Unit 57  
(excluding  
Sugarite Canyon)

Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-409 S 20 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-411 S 15 FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-405 S 25 FAD

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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BIG GAME
DRAW? 
Don’t wait until the last minute. 

Take advantage of extra incentives 
for early application for 2022-23.

TO QUALIFY
➤ APPLY ONLINE BEFORE

5:00 P.M. ON MARCH 95:00 P.M. ON MARCH 9
➤ PROVIDE A VALID EMAIL ADDRESS
➤ CHECK THE BOX THAT ALLOWS

THE DEPARTMENT TO CONTACT YOU VIA EMAIL

EASY ACCESS:
SCAN THIS CODE WITH 
YOUR SMART PHONE

NMDGF PARTNERS
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Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-406 S 25 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-407 S 10 FAD
Any Legal Nov  23-27 DER-1-408 S 10 ESWTD

Unit 58
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-417 S 10 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-418 S 25 FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-412 S 40 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-413 S 35 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-414 S 10 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Dec  3-7 DER-1-415 S 15 ESWTD
Any Legal Dec  10-14 DER-1-416 S 10 ESWTD

Unit 59
Bow Sep  1-24 DER-2-424 S 10 FAD
Muzzle Sep  27-Oct 3 DER-3-425 S 25 FAD
Any Legal Oct  22-26 DER-1-419 S 40 FAD
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 DER-1-420 S 40 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  19-27 DER-1-421 S 5 FAD
Any Legal - Youth Only Dec  3-7 DER-1-422 S 15 ESWTD
Any Legal Dec  10-14 DER-1-423 S 10 ESWTD

2022–2023
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5:00 P.M. ON MARCH 95:00 P.M. ON MARCH 9
➤ PROVIDE A VALID EMAIL ADDRESS
➤ CHECK THE BOX THAT ALLOWS
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General Information
• While in The Field You Must Have All of the Following (page 8)
• All Elk Harvests Must Be Tagged (pages 29–30)
• License Requirements and Fees (see pages 8–13)
• Private land Elk License Fees (see page 67)
• Legal Sporting Arms for Elk Hunting (specified by hunt code,   

see page 28)
• Hunting on Military Reservations (see page 40)
• Mobility-impaired Hunts (see pages 14–15) 
• Youth-only Hunts (see page 14)
• Chronic Wasting Disease Rules (see page 37)
• It is Legal to Harvest a Marked Animal (see page 5)

Elk Draw Licenses 
Deadline to apply for elk draw licenses is March 16, 2022. Up to four hunters may apply per 
application for a public-land elk draw license. Nonresidents are ineligible for any hunts held 
exclusively on WMAs or any antlerless (A) elk draw licenses.
Successful applicants will be mailed an elk draw license/tag, unless the E-Tag option is chosen. The 
license includes a hunt code and description of the unit, sporting-arm type, season dates and bag 
limit. Tags include instructions for proper tagging.

Fee Types for Elk Draw Licenses (see glossary, pages 123–125)
Resident and nonresident fees are listed on page 12.

S Standard hunt 

Q Quality hunt

HD High–demand hunt

Q/HD Quality and high–demand hunt combination 

If allotted a license in the draw that has a fee lower than that submitted when applying, the differ-
ence will be refunded.  Each elk draw license is valid only for a specific hunt in a specific area and 
for the dates designated on the license issued. 

Fourth-Choice Elk Hunts
By selecting 4th-choice an applicant is indicating that she/he will accept an elk license for any hunt 
in a specific quadrant of the state. The 4th-choice assignment will always be for the same sporting-
arm type as the 1st choice on the application.
Hunters should understand that success rates for 4th-choice hunts may be low, due to small and/
or localized elk populations. Not all hunts are available in the 4th-choice hunt pool. Hunters who 
apply for and receive a 4th-choice hunt will not receive a refund if dissatisfied with the hunt 
drawn.
A hunter drawing a 4th-choice hunt could receive a license with an antlerless bag limit, even if his/
her prior three choices were for mature bull licenses.
If applying for a 4th-choice hunt, applicants must select one of the four quadrants listed. 

Elk Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Fourth-Choice Elk Hunt Quadrants
NW Northwest: Units 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12 or 14

NE Northeast: Units 42, 43, 45, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58 or 59

SW Southwest: Units 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 23 or 24

SE Southeast: Units 28, 30, 33, 34, 36, 37 or 38

Bag Limit (Glossary, page 120–123)
MB Mature bull (any forked antler bull)  A spike bull is not legal 

MB/A Mature bull or antlerless elk  A spike bull is not legal 

A Antlerless elk  

ES Either sex (any one elk, includes spike bull) 

APRE/6 Antler-point-restricted elk (six or more points on at least one antler) 

APRE/6/A Antler-point-restricted elk (six or more points on at least one antler) or antlerless  

Valle Vidal
Once-in-a-Lifetime Mature Bull/Either Sex: Only persons who have never drawn a MB or ES 
hunt on the Valle Vidal are eligible to apply.
Once-in-a-Lifetime Antlerless: Only New Mexico residents who have never drawn an  
antlerless (A) hunt on the Valle Vidal are eligible to apply.
Note: If a youth has drawn any Valle Vidal once-in-a-lifetime hunts, she/he will not be 
eligible as an adult for that hunt. 
Once-as-a-Youth Mature Bull: Only persons 17 years or younger who have never drawn a youth-
only MB hunt and who possess a hunter education number (page 18) are eligible to apply.
Once-as-a-Youth Antlerless: Only New Mexico residents 17 years or younger who have never 
drawn a youth-only antlerless hunt and possess a hunter education number (page 18) are eligible to apply.

Private-land Hunts
Private-land elk hunts are available in the primary, secondary and special elk management zones. 
Participating primary- and special-elk-management-zone landowners and their contact information 
is available online: https://www wildlife state nm us/hunting/maps/eplus/ 
Private-land elk licenses may be purchased at NMDGF offices, license vendors, online or by 
telephone. Online and telephone purchases must be made at least 14 days prior to the hunt start 
date to allow time for mailing. For assistance with this process please call: 1-888-248-6866.

Primary Management Zone: Areas within the state where elk management is focused 
and the number licenses are limited. Private-land elk authorizations are issued in the primary 
management zone to landowners partici-pating in the Elk Private Lands Use System (EPLUS). 
Authorizations can be bartered, sold or traded. An authorization allows the holder to purchase a 
private-land elk license. 

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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To purchase a private-land elk license for the primary management zone a hunter must have an 
authorization number and hunt code from a landowner participating in the EPLUS program.  
Secondary Management Zone: Areas not part of the primary or special management 
zones where no specific elk management goals are set. Private-land elk licenses in the secondary 
management zone are unlimited and available over the counter with a ranch code provided by a 
registered landowner (Written permission from the landowner while hunting is required for the 
license to be valid).
Special Management Zone: Areas not part of the primary or secondary management zones 
where private-land elk authorizations are issued to private landowners on a ranch-by-ranch basis 
through EPLUS. Authorizations can be bartered, sold or traded. To purchase a private-land elk 
license for the special management zone a hunter must have an authorization number and hunt 
code from a landowner participating in the EPLUS program.

Obtaining Authorizations
Hunters seeking private-land authorizations are encouraged to communicate clearly with 
landowners regarding conditions associated with the license purchased and any other special 
considerations. Hunters are further encouraged to obtain these communications in writing.  
Obtaining private-land elk authorizations is considered a private matter. NMDGF is not a party to 
these transactions or communications and is not responsible for resolving disputes.

Landowners participate voluntarily in private-land programs, and the courtesy each hunter exercises 
can affect future access for all hunters.  

Hunters may not hold both a private-land elk license and a draw elk license in the same license year 
and may not exchange a draw license for a private-land license.

Ranch-only or Unit-wide Authorizations
Unit-wide: A unit-wide authorization number allows a hunter to purchase an elk license  
valid on any legally accessible public lands, other unit-wide ranches, and other private land with 
written permission within the GMU. Unit-wide authorizations are only available in the primary 
management zone. 
Ranch-only: A ranch-only authorization number allows a hunter to purchase an elk license valid 
only on the private deeded acres of the designated ranch, except as otherwise allowed by rule. In 
GMUs 4, 5A, and in secondary and special management zones, ranch-only elk licenses may also be 
valid on other private lands within the same GMU and management zone, with written permission. 
Ranch-only licenses are not valid on any public land.
It is not considered trespassing if a hunter is in possession of a landowner elk license that has been  
obtained from the owner or person in control of the land and which grants access to that particular 
private land for the purpose of lawfully taking elk (pages 25–26). However, in the secondary 
management zone written permission from the landowner is required for the elk hunter.

Maps of the elk management zones and unit-wide ranches 

Maps of the elk management zones and unit-wide ranches are available online:  
www wildlife state nm us/hunting/maps/eplus/

Elk Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us

License Fees (additional requirements, pages 8–13)
Resident Nonresident

Antlerless $69 $347 
Mature-Bull or Either-Sex $99 $557
Quality Antlerless $69 $782
Quality Mature-Bull or Either-Sex $99 $782
Junior/Senior Elk License $67 Not Issued

Quality Elk Hunt Fees for Private-land Authorizations
For all hunt dates from Sept. 15–Oct. 15, quality elk license fees apply to any mature-bull (MB) or 
either-sex (ES) ranch-only authorization (except Youth-Only) on private lands that lie within the 
primary management zone in Units 13, 15, 16 and 17.
Quality elk license fees shall apply to any mature-bull (MB) or either-sex (ES) unit-wide license 
(except Youth-Only), for the following hunts:
Bow-only Hunts: ELK-2-224, ELK-2-232, ELK-2-240, ELK-2-247, ELK-2-252, 

ELK-2-259, ELK-2-266 and ELK-2-273 
Muzzleloader, Crossbow and Bow Hunts: ELK-3-226, ELK-3-234, ELK-3-268 and ELK-3-275 
Any Legal Sporting Arm Hunts: ELK-1-242, ELK-1-248, ELK-1-249, ELK-1-254, ELK-1-261, 

ELK-1-241 (MI) and ELK-1-260 (MI) 

Primary Management Zone Seasons

Ranch-only Season Dates: Ranch-only authorizations within the primary management 
zone are restricted to the following season dates and sporting arm type. 

Bow-only Hunts
License valid for either season (select one or the other)
Dates Units
Sept  1–14 2, 4, 5A, 5B, 6A, 6C, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16A, 16B/22, 16C, 

16D, 16E, 17, 21A, 21B, 23, 24, 34, 36, 45, 48, 49 and 50–53
Sept  15–24 2, 4, 5A, 5B, 6A, 6C, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16A, 16B/22, 16C, 

16D, 16E, 17, 21A, 21B, 23, 24, 34, 36, 45, 48, 49 and 50–53

Muzzleloader, Crossbow and Bow Hunts
License limited to any five consecutive days within a season listed below
Dates Units
Oct  8–Dec  31 2, 6A, 6C, 7, 10, 36, 45, 48, 52 and 53
Oct  15–Dec  31 9, 13, 15, 16E, 17, 23, 24 and 34
Jan  1–31, '23 13 (antlerless elk only; muzzle-loading rifles  

only; pending ranch approval by NMDGF)
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Elk Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

Primary Management Zone Seasons: Ranch-only Season Dates—continued.
Any Legal Sporting Arm Hunts
License limited to any five consecutive days within a season listed below.

Dates Units

Oct  1–Dec  31 4

Oct  8–Dec  31 5A, 5B, 12, 16B/22, 21A, 21B, 49, 50 and 51

Oct  15–Dec  31 2, 10, 6A, 6C, 7, 16A, 16C, 16D, 36, 45, 48, 52 and 53  

Oct  22–Dec  31 16E, 23, 24 and 34

Jan  1–31, '23 36 (rifle only; antlerless only; pending ranch approval by NMDGF), and 48 
(any legal weapon; antlerless elk only; pending ranch approval by NMDGF)

Youth–only Season Dates:
Any Legal Sporting Arm Hunts

Dates Units

Oct  8–12 16C, 16E, 23, 24 and 34

Muzzleloader, Bow or Crossbow Hunts
Oct  8–12 13, 15 and 17

Mobility–impaired Season Dates:
Any Legal Sporting Arm Hunts

Oct  8–12 16A, 16D and 34

Muzzleloader, Bow or Crossbow Hunts
Oct  8–12 9

Unit-wide Season Dates: Unit-wide authorizations within the primary management zone 
correspond with an elk draw hunt code for the same GMU and are restricted to the same bag limit, 
sporting arm, and hunt dates.

Special and Secondary Management Zones 

Season Dates: All authorizations within the special and secondary management zone are 
ranch-only. Bow-only hunts are limited to Sept. 1-24. Any legal sporting arms hunts are limited to 
any five consecutive days from Oct. 1 –Dec. 31 unless otherwise allowed by NMDGF.
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Elk Draw Licenses
Draw licenses authorize the hunter to hunt on any open public land within the specified unit or hunt 
area and on any private land in that unit, provided that written permission has been obtained from the 
landowner of the property.
Closed Areas: Military reservations, national parks and monuments, state parks and 
monuments, recreation areas, national wildlife refuges, state wildlife management areas, and other 
locations may be closed or restrict hunting.  All state wildlife management areas are closed unless 
officially designated open to hunting.

Hunt Dates Hunt Code Fee Type Licenses Bag Limit

Any Legal Sep  1-Jan 31, '23 ELK-1-700 S 1 MB

Unit 2
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-100 S 120 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-101 S 120 ES
Muzzle Oct  8-12 ELK-3-102 S 125 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-103 S 75 MB
Any Legal -  
NM Resident Only

Dec  10-14 ELK-1-104 S 100 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only / Youth Only

Dec  10-14 ELK-1-105 S 50 A

Unit 2C  
(NM Residents Only)
Any Legal Dec  3-7 ELK-1-106 S 50 A

Unit 4  
(NM Residents Only)
Bow1 Sep  1-14 ELK-2-134 Q 10 ES
Bow 1 Sep  15-24 ELK-2-135 Q 10 ES
Bow2, 3 Sep  1-14 ELK-2-142 S 10 ES
Bow2, 3 Sep  15-24 ELK-2-143 S 10 ES
Any Legal1 Oct  8-12 ELK-1-136 Q 10 MB/A
Any Legal1 Oct  15-19 ELK-1-137 Q 10 MB/A
Any Legal1 Oct  22-26 ELK-1-138 Q 10 MB/A
Any Legal1 Oct  29-Nov 2 ELK-1-139 S 10 MB/A
Any Legal1 Nov  5-9 ELK-1-140 S 10 A
Any Legal Youth Only1 Nov  5-9 ELK-1-141 S 10 A
Any Legal2, 3 Oct  8-12 ELK-1-144 S 15 MB/A
Any Legal2, 3 Oct  15-19 ELK-1-145 S 15 MB/A
Any Legal2, 3 Nov  5-9 ELK-1-146 S 10 A
Any Legal Youth Only2, 3 Nov  5-9 ELK-1-147 S 15 A
Any Legal 3 Nov  12-16 ELK-1-148 S 15 A

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us

1 Sargent WMA; 2 Humphries WMA; 3 Rio Chama WMA

Premium Statewide Elk Hunt (see page 36)
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Unit 5A
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-107 S 5 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-108 S 5 ES
Any Legal Oct  8-12 ELK-1-109 S 10 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Oct  8-12 ELK-1-110 S 10 A

Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-111 S 10 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Oct  15-19 ELK-1-112 S 10 A

Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-113 S 10 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Oct  22-26 ELK-1-114 S 10 A

Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 ELK-1-115 S 10 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Oct  29-Nov 2 ELK-1-116 S 10 A

Unit 5B
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-149 S 76 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-150 S 75 ES
Any Legal Oct  8-12 ELK-1-151 S 86 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Oct  15-19 ELK-1-152 S 59 A

Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-153 S 86 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Oct  29-Nov 2 ELK-1-154 S 59 A

Any Legal Nov  5-9 ELK-1-155 S 87 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  12-16 ELK-1-156 S 59 A

Any Legal Dec  17-21 ELK-1-157 HD 87 MB

Unit 6A
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-184 HD 150 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-185 HD 102 ES
Muzzle Oct  8-12 ELK-3-186 S 104 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-187 S 100 MB
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-188 S 103 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Oct  29-Nov 2 ELK-1-189 S 99 A

Unit 6B 
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-190 Q/HD 25 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-191 Q/HD 25 ES
Muzzle Oct  8-12 ELK-3-192 Q/HD 15 ES
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-193 Q/HD 15 ES
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-194 Q/HD 20 ES
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only / Youth Only

Oct  29-Nov 2 ELK-1-195 S 30 A

Elk Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

(Hunter orientation is required, see Valles Caldera page 36)
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Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  5-9 ELK-1-196 S 35 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  19-23 ELK-1-197 S 35 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only / Youth Only

Nov  26-30 ELK-1-198 S 30 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-1-199 S 35 A

Unit 6C
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-201 S 150 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-202 HD 105 ES
Muzzle Oct  8-12 ELK-3-203 HD 155 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-204 S 105 MB
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-205 HD 105 MB
Any Legal -  
NM Resident Only

Oct  29-Nov 2 ELK-1-206 S 110 A

Any Legal -  
NM Resident Only

Nov  26-30 ELK-1-207 S 110 A

Unit 7
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-208 S 15 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-209 S 14 ES
Muzzle Oct  8-12 ELK-3-210 S 24 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-211 S 30 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Oct  22-26 ELK-1-212 S 50 A

Unit 9
Bow - Marquez WMA / 
NM Resident Only

Sep  1-14 ELK-2-117 S 5 ES

Bow - Marquez WMA / 
NM Resident Only

Sep  15-24 ELK-2-118 S 5 ES

Bow - Including Water 
canyon WMA

Sep  1-14 ELK-2-122 S 117 ES

Bow - Including Water 
canyon WMA

Sep  15-24 ELK-2-123 S 117 ES

Muzzle - Marquez WMA 
/ NM Resident Only

Oct  8-12 ELK-3-119 S 4 MB

Muzzle - Marquez WMA 
/ NM Resident Only

Oct  15-19 ELK-3-120 S 5 MB

Muzzle - Marquez WMA 
/ NM Resident Only

Oct  22-26 ELK-3-121 S 5 MB

Muzzle - Including Water 
canyon WMA / Mobility 
Impaired Only

Oct  8-12 ELK-3-124 S 30 ES

Muzzle - Including Water 
canyon WMA

Oct  15-19 ELK-3-125 S 50 MB

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Muzzle - Including Water 
canyon WMA

Oct  22-26 ELK-3-126 S 50 MB

Muzzle - Including Water 
canyon WMA

Oct  29-Nov 2 ELK-3-127 S 30 MB

Unit 10
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-128 S 125 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-129 HD 125 ES
Muzzle Oct  8-12 ELK-3-130 S 70 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-131 S 70 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only / Youth Only

Nov  12-16 ELK-1-132 S 120 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  17-21 ELK-1-133 S 100 A

Unit 12
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-213 HD 36 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-214 HD 35 ES
Bow Dec  10-14 ELK-2-222 S 25 APRE/6
Any Legal Oct  8-12 ELK-1-215 HD 35 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-216 HD 60 MB
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-217 S 80 MB
Any Legal Nov  5-9 ELK-1-218 HD 80 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  19-23 ELK-1-219 S 60 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  26-30 ELK-1-220 S 60 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-1-221 S 64 A

Unit 13
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-223 HD 190 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-224 Q/HD 138 ES
Muzzle - Youth Only Oct  8-12 ELK-3-225 HD 30 ES
Muzzle Oct  15-19 ELK-3-226 Q/HD 80 MB
Muzzle Oct  22-26 ELK-3-227 HD 117 MB
Muzzle Nov  19-23 ELK-3-228 HD 117 MB
Muzzle - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-3-229 S 110 A

Muzzle - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  10-14 ELK-3-230 S 108 A

Unit 14
Any Legal Oct  8-12 ELK-1-356 S 10 ES

Unit 15
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-231 HD 350 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-232 Q/HD 250 ES
Muzzle - Youth Only Oct  8-12 ELK-3-233 HD 25 ES

Elk Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Muzzle Oct  15-19 ELK-3-234 Q/HD 200 MB
Muzzle Oct  22-26 ELK-3-235 HD 245 MB
Muzzle Nov  19-23 ELK-3-236 HD 250 MB
Muzzle - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-3-237 S 250 A

Muzzle - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  10-14 ELK-3-238 S 250 A

Unit 16A
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-239 HD 250 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-240 Q/HD 150 ES
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Oct  8-12 ELK-1-241 Q/HD 25 MB

Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-242 Q/HD 75 MB
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-243 HD 125 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-1-244 S 75 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  10-14 ELK-1-245 S 75 A

Units 16B, 22
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-246 HD 225 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-247 Q/HD 165 ES
Any Legal Oct  8-12 ELK-1-248 Q/HD 25 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-249 Q/HD 135 MB
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-250 HD 160 MB

Unit 16C
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-251 HD 144 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-252 Q/HD 100 ES
Any Legal - Youth Only Oct  8-12 ELK-1-253 S 25 ES
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-254 Q 50 MB
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-255 S 91 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-1-256 S 50 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  10-14 ELK-1-257 S 48 A

Unit 16D
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-258 HD 90 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-259 Q/HD 60 ES
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Oct  8-12 ELK-1-260 Q/HD 25 MB

Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-261 Q/HD 55 MB
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-262 HD 50 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-1-263 S 50 A

Any Legal - NM Res  Only Dec  10-14 ELK-1-264 S 50 A

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Unit 16E
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-265 S 90 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-266 Q 60 ES
Muzzle Oct  15-19 ELK-3-268 Q/HD 70 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Oct  8-12 ELK-1-267 S 25 ES
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-269 S 70 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-1-270 S 75 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  10-14 ELK-1-271 S 75 A

Unit 17
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-272 HD 125 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-273 Q/HD 75 ES
Muzzle - Youth Only Oct  8-12 ELK-3-274 HD 25 ES
Muzzle Oct  15-19 ELK-3-275 Q/HD 100 MB
Muzzle Oct  22-26 ELK-3-276 HD 100 MB
Muzzle Nov  19-23 ELK-3-277 HD 25 MB
Muzzle - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  19-23 ELK-3-278 S 25 A

Muzzle - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-3-279 S 100 A

Muzzle - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  10-14 ELK-3-280 S 100 A

Unit 18
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-357 S 25 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-358 HD 25 ES
Any Legal Oct  1-5 ELK-1-359 HD 10 ES

 
Any Legal - Mandatory 
check-in/check-out1

Jan  13-15, '23; 
Jan  27-29, '23

ELK-1-360 S 3 ES

Unit 21A
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-281 HD 50 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-282 HD 50 ES
Bow Dec  17-21 ELK-2-287 S 15 MB
Any Legal Oct  8-12 ELK-1-283 HD 15 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-284 HD 35 MB
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-285 HD 55 MB
Any Legal -  
NM Resident Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-1-286 S 30 A

Elk Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

Unit 19 White Sands Missile Range (CWD detected in this area, see page 37)

1 White Sands Missile Range (WSMR) ONLY, mandatory check-in/check-out   WSMR will charge a $100 per 
hunter access fee   Successful WSMR applicants will receive an email from WSMR with instructions for fee 
payment   Hunters are responsible for timely payment and will not be allowed to hunt if the access fee has 
not been paid by the specified deadline.  Chronic wasting disease (CWD) detected in this area.
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Unit 21B
Bow Sep. 1-14 ELK-2-288 S 25 ES
Bow Sep. 15-24 ELK-2-289 S 25 ES
Bow Dec. 17-21 ELK-2-297 S 15 MB
Any Legal Oct. 8-12 ELK-1-290 S 10 MB
Any Legal Oct. 15-19 ELK-1-291 S 15 MB
Any Legal Oct. 22-26 ELK-1-292 S 25 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov. 19-23 ELK-1-293 S 15 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov. 26-30 ELK-1-294 S 15 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec. 3-7 ELK-1-295 S 15 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec. 10-14 ELK-1-296 S 20 A

Unit 23
Bow Sep. 1-14 ELK-2-298 S 125 ES
Bow Sep. 15-24 ELK-2-299 HD 75 ES
Bow Dec. 17-21 ELK-2-304 S 15 MB
Muzzle Oct. 15-19 ELK-3-301 S 75 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Oct. 8-12 ELK-1-300 HD 25 ES
Any Legal Oct. 22-26 ELK-1-302 HD 75 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec. 3-7 ELK-1-303 S 20 A

Unit 24 (Excluding  
Ft. Bayard mgmt. area)
Bow Sep. 1-14 ELK-2-305 S 15 ES
Bow Sep. 15-24 ELK-2-306 S 10 ES
Muzzle Oct. 15-19 ELK-3-307 S 15 MB
Any Legal Oct. 22-26 ELK-1-308 S 15 MB

Unit 24 (Including  
Ft. Bayard mgmt area)

 

Any Legal - Youth Only Oct. 8-12 ELK-1-309 S 5 ES
Any Legal - Youth Only Oct. 22-26 ELK-1-310 S 5 A

Unit 28 McGregor 
Range (CWD detected 
in this area, see page 37)
Any Legal - McGregor 
range / Military Only

Dec. 10-14 ELK-1-361 HD 10 ES

Any Legal - McGregor 
range

Dec. 10-14 ELK-1-362 HD 10 ES

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Elk Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

Unit 30
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-363 S 10 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-364 S 10 ES
Any Legal Oct  1-5 ELK-1-365 S 10 ES
Any Legal Oct  8-12 ELK-1-366 HD 20 ES

Unit 34 (CWD 
detected in this area,  
see page 37)
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-311 HD 200 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-312 HD 200 ES
Bow Dec  17-21 ELK-2-321 S 200 APRE/6/A
Muzzle Oct  15-19 ELK-3-316 HD 250 ES
Any Legal - Youth Only Oct  8-12 ELK-1-313 HD 75 ES
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only / Youth Only

Oct  8-12 ELK-1-314 S 120 A

Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Oct  8-12 ELK-1-315 S 50 ES

Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-317 S 150 ES
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  26-30 ELK-1-318 S 350 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-1-319 S 350 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  10-14 ELK-1-320 S 350 A

Unit 36
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-322 HD 133 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-323 HD 132 ES
Muzzle Oct  8-12 ELK-3-324 HD 140 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-325 HD 140 MB
Any Legal Oct  29-Nov 2 ELK-1-326 HD 140 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  26-30 ELK-1-327 S 100 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-1-328 S 100 A

Unit 37
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-367 S 40 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-368 HD 30 ES
Bow Dec  3-7 ELK-2-372 S 50 APRE/6
Muzzle Oct  1-5 ELK-3-369 HD 30 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-370 S 30 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  26-30 ELK-1-371 S 45 A
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Unit 38
Any Legal Oct  1-5 ELK-1-373 S 10 ES
Any Legal Oct  8-12 ELK-1-374 S 10 ES

Units 42, 47, 59
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-375 S 10 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-376 S 10 ES
Any Legal Oct  1-5 ELK-1-377 S 10 ES

Unit 43
Any Legal Oct  1-5 ELK-1-378 S 30 ES

Unit 45
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-329 HD 75 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-330 HD 73 ES
Muzzle Oct  8-12 ELK-3-331 HD 136 MB
Muzzle - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  12-16 ELK-3-334 S 49 A

Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-332 S 140 MB
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-333 S 140 MB

Unit 48
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-335 S 93 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-336 S 92 ES
Muzzle Oct  8-12 ELK-3-337 S 50 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-338 S 74 MB
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-339 S 50 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  5-9 ELK-1-340 S 50 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-1-341 S 54 A

Unit 49
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-342 S 60 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-343 HD 59 ES
Any Legal Oct  8-12 ELK-1-344 S 77 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-345 S 76 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  5-9 ELK-1-346 S 77 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  12-16 ELK-1-347 S 77 A

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Unit 50
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-158 S 60 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-159 S 55 ES
Any Legal Oct  8-12 ELK-1-160 S 120 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-161 S 125 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  5-9 ELK-1-162 S 42 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  19-23 ELK-1-163 S 45 A

Unit 51
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-164 HD 180 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-165 HD 180 ES
Muzzle Dec  3-7 ELK-3-172 S 145 ES
Any Legal Oct  8-12 ELK-1-166 HD 220 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-167 S 220 MB
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-168 S 220 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  5-9 ELK-1-169 S 251 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  12-16 ELK-1-170 S 251 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  19-23 ELK-1-171 S 252 A

Unit 52
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-173 HD 230 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-174 HD 230 ES
Muzzle - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Oct  8-12 ELK-3-175 S 50 MB

Muzzle Oct  8-12 ELK-3-176 HD 120 MB
Muzzle - NM Resident 
Only

Oct  8-12 ELK-3-177 S 50 A

Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-178 S 230 MB
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-179 S 230 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only / Youth Only

Nov  12-16 ELK-1-180 S 80 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only / Mobility Impaired 
Only

Nov  19-23 ELK-1-181 S 56 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Nov  19-23 ELK-1-182 S 73 A

Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Dec  3-7 ELK-1-183 S 115 A

Elk Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Unit 53
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-348 S 65 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-349 HD 60 ES
Muzzle - (exc  Cerro 
portion)

Oct  8-12 ELK-3-350 S 50 ES

Any Legal - (exc  Cerro 
portion)

Oct  15-19 ELK-1-351 S 80 MB

Any Legal - (exc  Cerro 
portion)

Oct  22-26 ELK-1-352 S 131 MB

Any Legal - (exc  Cerro 
portion) / NM Resident 
Only

Nov  12-16 ELK-1-353 S 94 A

Any Legal - (exc  Cerro 
portion) / NM Resident 
Only

Nov  19-23 ELK-1-354 S 94 A

Any Legal - (North of 
Sunshine Valley road) / 
NM Resident Only

Jan  7-22, '23 ELK-1-355 S 40 A

Unit 54, 55 Colin 
Neblett WMA  
(NM Residents Only)
Bow - WMA Sep  1-14 ELK-2-388 S 20 ES
Bow - WMA Sep  15-24 ELK-2-389 S 20 ES
Muzzle - WMA Oct  8-12 ELK-3-390 S 40 MB
Any Legal - WMA Oct  15-19 ELK-1-391 S 40 MB
Any Legal - WMA Oct  22-26 ELK-1-392 S 40 MB
Any Legal - WMA Nov  5-9 ELK-1-393 S 40 A

Unit 55A ES 
Barker WMA  
(NM Resident Only)
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-394 S 5 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-395 S 5 ES
Any Legal Oct  8-12 ELK-1-396 S 10 MB

Unit 55A  
Urraca WMA  
(NM Resident Only)
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-397 S 5 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-398 S 5 ES
Muzzle Oct  8-12 ELK-3-399 S 10 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-400 S 10 MB
Any Legal Nov  5-9 ELK-1-401 S 10 MB
Any Legal Nov  12-16 ELK-1-402 S 15 A
Any Legal Nov  26-30 ELK-1-403 S 15 A

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Unit 55A Valle 
Vidal (Once-in-a-
lifetime, see page 65)
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-404 Q/HD 25 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-405 Q/HD 25 ES
Muzzle Oct  8-12 ELK-3-406 Q/HD 20 MB
Any Legal Oct  15-19 ELK-1-407 Q 35 MB
Any Legal Oct  22-26 ELK-1-408 Q 40 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Oct  29-Nov 2 ELK-1-409 Q 20 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only; 
NM Resident Only

Nov  5-9 ELK-1-410 Q 35 A

Any Legal; NM Resident 
Only

Nov  12-16 ELK-1-411 Q 40 A

Any Legal; NM Resident 
Only

Nov  19-23 ELK-1-412 Q 45 A

Unit 56
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-379 S 5 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-380 S 5 ES
Any Legal Oct  1-5 ELK-1-381 S 10 MB
Any Legal - NM Resident 
Only

Oct  8-12 ELK-1-382 S 10 A

Unit 57 (Sugarite 
Canyon State Park Only)
Bow Sep  1-14 ELK-2-383 S 3 ES
Bow Sep  15-24 ELK-2-384 S 2 ES

Units 57, 58 
(excluding Sugarite 
Canyon State Park)
Any Legal Oct  1-5 ELK-1-385 S 5 MB
Any Legal Oct  8-12 ELK-1-386 S 10 MB
Any Legal Dec  10-14 ELK-1-387 S 10 A

Elk Licenses
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
Encouragement Hunts 
Encouragement Elk Hunts: Online Purchase Only
Only New Mexico residents are eligible. Only youth hunters are eligible during the first 14 days of 
the online sale. The resident youth hunter must have applied for at least one draw hunt for bighorn 
sheep, Barbary sheep, deer, elk, ibex, oryx or pronghorn but must not have drawn any hunt. 
Resident youth hunters must be 17 years of age or younger on opening day of the hunt and must 
have a valid hunter education number (page 18). 
After 14 days, remaining licenses will also be available to New Mexico resident senior hunters  
(age 65 and older) who have applied for at least one draw hunt for bighorn sheep, Barbary sheep, 
deer, elk, ibex, oryx or pronghorn, but must not have drawn any hunt. 
Hunts will only be offered online on a first-come, first-served basis. Hunts will be available online 
until 14 days before each hunt start date. Please note: rejected applicants are ineligible. For more 
information call the NMDGF Information Center: 1-888-248-6866.

Encouragement Elk Seasons (N M  Residents Only)
The number of licenses available for these hunts may be adjusted based on changes in 
population levels and harvest rates. License fee: $58.

Hunt Dates Hunt Code Fee Type Licenses Bag Limit

Unit 5B
Any Legal Nov  25-29 ELK-1-501 S 20 A

Unit 6A
Any Legal Nov  25-29 ELK-1-502 S 50 A
Any Legal Dec  26-30 ELK-1-503 S 50 A

Unit 6C
Any Legal Nov  25-29 ELK-1-504 S 50 A
Any Legal Dec  26-30 ELK-1-505 S 50 A

Unit 10
Any Legal Nov  25-29 ELK-1-506 S 35 A

Unit 13
Muzzle Nov  25-29 ELK-3-507 S 60 A
Muzzle Dec  26-30 ELK-3-508 S 60 A

Unit 15
Muzzle Nov  25-29 ELK-3-509 S 75 A
Muzzle Dec  26-30 ELK-3-510 S 75 A

Unit 16A
Any Legal Nov  25-29 ELK-1-511 S 75 A
Any Legal Dec  26-30 ELK-1-512 S 75 A
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Unit 16C
Any Legal Nov  25-29 ELK-1-513 S 75 A
Any Legal Dec  26-30 ELK-1-514 S 75 A

Unit 16D
Any Legal Nov  25-29 ELK-1-515 S 75 A
Any Legal Dec  26-30 ELK-1-516 S 75 A

Unit 16E
Any Legal Nov  25-29 ELK-1-517 S 75 A
Any Legal Dec  26-30 ELK-1-518 S 75 A

Unit 17
Muzzle Nov  25-29 ELK-3-519 S 60 A
Muzzle Dec  26-30 ELK-3-520 S 60 A

Unit 34
Any Legal Dec  26-30 ELK-1-521 S 80 A

Unit 36
Any Legal Nov  25-29 ELK-1-522 S 60 A
Any Legal Dec  26-30 ELK-1-523 S 60 A

Unit 49
Any Legal Nov  25-29 ELK-1-524 S 50 A

Unit 50
Any Legal Dec  26-30 ELK-1-525 S 60 A

Unit 51
Any Legal Nov  25-29 ELK-1-526 S 75 A
Any Legal Dec  26-30 ELK-1-527 S 75 A

Unit 52
Any Legal Nov  25-29 ELK-1-528 S 50 A

Unit 53
Any Legal Nov  25-29 ELK-1-529 S 60 A
Any Legal Dec  26-30 ELK-1-530 S 60 A

Encouragement Hunts 
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Pronghorn
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us

General Information
• While in The Field You Must Have All of the Following (page 8)
• All Pronghorn Harvests Must Be Tagged (pages 29–30)
• License Requirements and Fees (see pages 8–13)
• Legal Sporting Arms for Pronghorn Hunting (specified by hunt code,  

see page 28)
• Hunting on Military Reservations (see page 40)
• Mobility-impaired Hunts (see pages 14–15) 
• Youth-only Hunts (see page 14)
• It is Legal to Harvest a Marked Animal (see page 5)

Pronghorn Draw Licenses
The deadline to apply for pronghorn draw licenses is March 16, 2022. Up to four hunters may apply 
per application for a public-land pronghorn draw license.
Successful applicants will be mailed a public-land pronghorn draw license/tag unless the E-Tag option 
is chosen. The license includes a hunt code and description of the unit, sporting-arm type, season 
dates and bag limit. Tags include instructions for proper tagging.

Bag Limit 
(see glossary, pages 121–123)

MB A pronghorn with at least one horn longer 
than its ears 

F–IM Any female pronghorn or any male 
pronghorn without horns or with both horns 
shorter than its ears 

ES Either sex (any one pronghorn) 

Private-land Only Pronghorn Licenses  
Over-the-counter private-land pronghorn licenses are not valid on any public land. To hunt on private 
land only, hunters must obtain a private-land only pronghorn license and tag, available at NMDGF 
offices, license vendors, or online and by telephone. Online and telephone purchases must be made at 
least 14 days prior to the hunt start date to allow mailing of tags. When obtaining a private-land only 
pronghorn license, the hunter must select a hunt code corresponding with a pronghorn-draw hunt code 
for the unit(s), bag limit, sporting arm type and season date. Public-land draw hunt codes are listed on  
pages 85–90. Written permission from the landowner is required while hunting.

2022–2023



 84 

Pronghorn
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

Private-land Pronghorn Hunting in Units 4, 14, 46, 48, 54 and 55
Private-land hunters in these units must select one of the hunt codes listed below.

Hunt Dates Hunt Code Fee Type Licenses Bag Limit
Unit 4
Bow Aug  9-17 ANT-2-301 S Unlimited MB
Muzzle - Youth Only Aug  6-8 ANT-3-300 S Unlimited ES
Muzzle Aug  20-22 ANT-3-302 S Unlimited MB
Muzzle Aug  27-29 ANT-3-303 S Unlimited MB

Unit 14
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-304 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-305 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-306 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-307 S Unlimited MB

Unit 46
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-308 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-309 S Unlimited ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-310 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-311 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-312 S Unlimited MB

Unit 48
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-313 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-314 S Unlimited ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-315 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-316 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-317 S Unlimited MB

Unit 54
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-318 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-319 S Unlimited ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-320 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-321 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-322 S Unlimited MB

Unit 55
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-323 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-324 S Unlimited ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-325 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-326 S Unlimited MB
Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-327 S Unlimited MB
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Pronghorn Conservation Recognition Program (PCRP)
Private landowners may enter the PCRP and be granted alternative season hunt dates as approved  
by NMDGF. Landowners must conduct and maintain substantial habitat improvements and/or 
land management practices that directly and significantly benefit pronghorn. A PCRP application 
and conservation management plan are required. To participate or for more information, contact 
NMDGF at 505-476-8042.
Ranch-wide Agreements
Ranch-wide agreements allow private landowners to enroll their ranch’s private deeded and public 
leased acres as one contiguous ranch for access by public draw hunters. Landowners are issued 
authorizations for pronghorn licenses valid on that property’s deeded and public leased acres.  
To participate or for more information, contact NMDGF at 505-476-8042.

Pronghorn Draw Licenses
The public-land pronghorn draw license authorizes the hunter to hunt on any open public land 
within the specified unit(s) or hunt area, on participating ranches with signed NMDGF ranch-wide 
hunting agreements, or on any other private land in the unit(s), with written permission from the 
landowner of the property.

Hunt Dates Hunt Code Fee Type Licenses Bag Limit
Units 2, 7, 9, 10
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-100 S 15 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-101 S 3 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-102 S 15 MB

Unit 12
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-103 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-104 S 3 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-105 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-106 S 10 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-107 S 10 MB

Unit 13
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-108 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-109 S 2 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-110 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-111 S 10 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-112 S 5 MB

Unit 15
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-113 S 20 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-114 S 5 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-115 S 5 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-116 S 5 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-117 S 3 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-118 S 10 MB
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Unit 16
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-119 S 20 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-120 S 5 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-121 S 10 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-122 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-123 S 3 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-124 S 20 MB

Unit 17
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-125 S 20 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-126 S 5 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-127 S 5 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-128 S 5 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-129 S 3 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-130 S 10 MB

Unit 18
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-131 S 25 MB
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-132 S 15 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-133 S 15 MB

Unit 19 (White 
Sands Missile Range)1

Any Legal -  
Youth Only1

Oct  7-9 ANT-1-134 S 5 ES

Unit 20
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-135 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-136 S 2 ES
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-137 S 10 MB

Units 21, 24
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-138 S 25 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-139 S 10 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-140 S 5 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-141 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-142 S 8 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-143 S 15 MB

1 White Sands Missile Range (WSMR) ONLY, mandatory check-in/check-out   WSMR will charge a $50 per 
hunter access fee   Successful WSMR applicants will receive an email from WSMR with instructions for fee 
payment   Hunters are responsible for timely payment and will not be allowed to hunt if the access fee has 
not been paid by the specified deadline.
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Units 22, 23
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-144 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-145 S 5 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-146 S 5 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-147 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-148 S 3 MB

Units 25, 26, 27
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-149 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-150 S 5 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-151 S 5 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-152 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-153 S 3 MB

Unit 28
Muzzle - McGregor 
range

Sep  3-4 ANT-3-154 S 5 MB

Muzzle - McGregor 
range / Military Only

Sep  3-4 ANT-3-155 S 10 MB

Unit 29
Muzzle - Youth Only Aug  20-22 ANT-3-156 S 5 ES
Muzzle Aug  20-22 ANT-3-157 S 15 MB
Muzzle Aug  27-29 ANT-3-158 S 25 MB

Unit 30
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-159 S 25 MB

Unit 31 (North  
of US Highway 380)
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-160 S 25 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-161 S 5 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-162 S 5 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-163 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-164 S 5 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-165 S 15 MB

Unit 31 (South  
of US Highway 380)
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-166 S 50 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-167 S 5 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-168 S 10 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-169 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-170 S 5 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-171 S 20 MB
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Unit 32  
(East of Pecos River)
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-172 S 25 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-173 S 5 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-174 S 10 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-175 S 5 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-176 S 5 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-177 S 15 MB

Unit 32  
(West of Pecos River)
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-178 S 20 MB
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-179 S 15 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-180 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-181 S 5 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-182 S 15 MB
Any Legal - Roswell 
hunt area 

Dec  1-15 ANT-1-183 S 15 F-IM

Unit 33
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-184 S 30 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-185 S 5 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-186 S 25 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-187 S 20 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-188 S 5 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-189 S 25 MB

Units 36, 37
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-190 S 20 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-191 S 5 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-192 S 10 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-193 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-194 S 5 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-195 S 15 MB

Unit 38
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-196 S 20 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-197 S 10 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-198 S 15 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-199 S 20 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-200 S 10 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-201 S 30 MB
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Unit 39
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-202 S 5 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-203 S 5 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-204 S 10 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-205 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-206 S 5 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-207 S 10 MB

Unit 40
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-208 S 5 MB
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-209 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-210 S 5 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-211 S 10 MB

Unit 41
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-212 S 35 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-213 S 5 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-214 S 30 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-215 S 30 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-216 S 5 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-217 S 35 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Oct  15-17 ANT-1-218 S 10 F-IM

Unit 42
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-219 S 5 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-220 S 10 ES
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-221 S 10 MB
Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-222 S 10 MB

Units 8, 43
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-223 S 5 MB
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-224 S 10 MB

Unit 47
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-225 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-226 S 5 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-227 S 25 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-228 S 30 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-229 S 5 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-230 S 35 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Oct  15-17 ANT-1-231 S 20 F-IM
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Units 50, 52
Bow Aug  9-17 ANT-2-233 S 20 MB
Muzzle - Youth Only Aug  6-8 ANT-3-232 S 40 ES
Muzzle Aug  20-22 ANT-3-234 S 40 MB
Muzzle Aug  27-29 ANT-3-235 S 40 MB

Unit 56
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-236 S 50 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-237 S 50 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-238 S 5 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-239 S 45 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-240 S 5 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-241 S 50 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Oct  15-17 ANT-1-242 S 40 F-IM

Unit 57
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-243 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-244 S 10 ES
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-245 S 10 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Oct  15-17 ANT-1-246 S 10 F-IM

Unit 58
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-247 S 35 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-248 S 15 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-249 S 25 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-250 S 30 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-251 S 5 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-252 S 40 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Oct  15-17 ANT-1-253 S 30 F-IM

Unit 59
Bow Aug  4-12 ANT-2-254 S 50 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  13-15 ANT-1-255 S 45 ES
Any Legal Aug  13-15 ANT-1-256 S 5 MB
Any Legal Aug  20-22 ANT-1-257 S 40 MB
Any Legal - Mobility 
Impaired Only

Aug  20-22 ANT-1-258 S 10 MB

Any Legal Aug  23-25 ANT-1-259 S 50 MB
Any Legal - Youth Only Oct  15-17 ANT-1-260 S 40 F-IM
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General Information
• While in The Field You Must Have All of the Following (page 8)
• All Bighorn Sheep Harvests Must Be Tagged (pages 29–30)
• License Requirements and Fees (see pages 8–13)
• Legal Sporting Arms for Bighorn Sheep Hunting (specified by hunt code, 

see page 28)
• Hunting on Military Reservations (see page 40)
• Mobility-impaired Hunts (see pages 14–15) 
• Youth-only Hunts (see page 14)
• Bag Limit (see glossary, page 120)
• It is Legal to Harvest a Marked Animal (see page 5)

Draw Licenses for Rocky Mountain and Desert Bighorn Sheep
The deadline to apply for bighorn sheep draw licenses is March 16, 2022. Only one person may  
apply per application. Successful applicants will be mailed a bighorn sheep draw license/tag unless 
the E-Tag option is chosen. The license includes a hunt code and description of the unit, sporting-
arm type, season dates and bag limit. Tags include instructions for proper tagging.
Hunters are eligible to draw one Rocky mountain bighorn sheep ram license and one desert bighorn 
sheep ram license in a lifetime. A person who has held a license to hunt a desert bighorn sheep ram 
may apply for a draw license to hunt a Rocky mountain bighorn sheep ram and vice versa.
Youth hunters (17 years or younger on the first day of the hunt) are eligible to draw one youth-only 
Rocky mountain bighorn sheep ram license and one youth-only desert bighorn sheep ram license.
Hunters may apply for up to three bighorn sheep (BHS) hunt codes in the same license year. 
Hunters applying for both desert and Rocky mountain bighorn must do so on the same application.
Individuals who have previously held a bighorn sheep enhancement license (page 35) may still apply 
for draw licenses. 

Bighorn Sheep Ram Heads Must Have a Seal
All bighorn sheep rams taken in New Mexico must have a seal inserted in one horn by NMDGF. 
Sealing must occur within 10 days of harvest, or prior to leaving New Mexico (whichever occurs 
first). Bighorn sheep heads found in the field must remain where found. Bighorn sheep heads may 
not be possessed without a receipt from NMDGF. Bighorn sheep heads brought into New Mexico 
must be sealed by NMDGF within 10 days of entry into the state (NMDGF will seal unsealed out-
of-state heads only if origin can be verified). Bighorn sheep legally harvested and sealed by another 
jurisdiction (state, tribal entity or country) do not have to be resealed by NMDGF. 

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
Bighorn Sheep
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Application Procedure for Bighorn Sheep (BHS) Hunts 
Hunts are divided into four BHS hunt codes (BHS-1-201, BHS-1-202, BHS-2-203 and  
BHS-1-204). Applicants may choose, in the order preferred, up to three hunt codes. 
Hunt Areas and Hunt Dates: Each BHS hunt code lists the available hunt areas and hunt 
dates for that hunt code. For each BHS hunt code chosen, applicants may select, in the order 
preferred, up to three hunt areas and hunt dates for that hunt code.

Rocky Mountain Bighorn Ram: Hunt Code BHS-1-201 
Legal Sporting Arms

Hunt Area Hunt Dates Licenses Bag

GMUs 16B, 22, 23, 24 (San Francisco River / Turkey Creek) Jan  1–31, '23 2 Ram

GMU 45 (Pecos) Aug  5–14 5 Ram

GMU 45 (Pecos) Aug  19–28 4 Ram

GMU 45 (Pecos) - Youth Only Aug  19–28 1 Ram

GMU 53 (Wheeler Peak) 1 Aug  6–15 2 Ram

GMU 53 (Wheeler Peak) 1 Sept  1–10 2 Ram

GMUs 53 and 55 (Latir) 2 Aug  5–14 1 Ram

GMUs 53 and 55 (Latir) 2 Aug  19-28 1 Ram

GMUs 49, 50 and 53 (Rio Grande Gorge) 3 Aug  10–24 3 Ram

GMUs 49, 50 and 53 (Rio Grande Gorge) 3 Sept  1–15 3 Ram

GMU 58 (Dry Cimarron) 5 Aug  15–Jan  15, '23 2 Ram
1 GMU 53 south of NM 38 and east of NM 522.
2 GMU 53 north of NM 38 and east of NM 522, and GMU 55 south of NM 196 / FS Rd. 1950.
3 GMU 53 west of NM 522.
4 GMU 55 north of NM196/FS Rd 1950.
5 Herds in GMU 58 often are dispersed, and rams may not be present year-round. Hunters should be 

prepared to hunt when rams are present. The dates for this hunt are extended as a result. Hunt will 
most likely occur on private land. If considering this hunt, it is advised to contact the NMDGF Information 
Center: 1-888-248-6866 before applying.

Rocky Mountain Bighorn Ewe: Hunt Code BHS-1-202 
Legal Sporting Arms

Hunt Area Hunt Dates Licenses Bag

GMU 45 (Pecos) Sept  17–21 10 Ewe

GMU 45 (Pecos) Oct  1–5 8 Ewe

GMU 45 (Pecos) - Youth-only Oct  1–5 2 Ewe

GMUs 49, 50 and 53 (Rio Grande Gorge) 1 Oct  8–16 7 Ewe
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Rocky Mountain Bighorn Ewe: Hunt Code BHS-1-202 (cont.) 
Legal Sporting Arms
Hunt Area Hunt Dates Licenses Bag

GMUs 49, 50 and 53 (Rio Grande Gorge) — Youth-only 1 Nov  12–20 7 Ewe

GMUs 49, 50 and 53 (Rio Grande Gorge) 1 Dec  10–18 7 Ewe
1GMU 53 west of NM 522.

Rocky Mountain Bighorn Ewe: Hunt Code BHS-2-203 
Bow Only

Hunt Area Hunt Dates Licenses Bag

GMU 45 (Pecos) Sept  2–11 10 Ewe

GMUs 49, 50 and 53 (Rio Grande Gorge) 1 Sept  16–30 7 Ewe
1GMU 53 west of NM 522.

Desert Bighorn Ram: Hunt Code BHS-1-204
Legal Sporting Arms

Hunt Area Hunt Dates Licenses Bag

GMUs 13 and 17 (Ladrones) Dec  1–31 3 Ram

GMU 19 (San Andres) 1 Dec  14–21 3 Ram

GMU 19 (San Andres) 1 Dec  27–Jan  3 '23 2 Ram

GMU 20 South (Caballos) 2 Nov  16–30 4 Ram

GMU 20 South (Caballos) 2 Dec  1–15 3 Ram

GMU 20 North (Fra Cristobal) 3 Aug  12–21 1 Ram

GMU 20 North (Fra Cristobal) 3 March 3–12 1 Ram

GMU 26 (Hatchets) Oct  1–15 2 Ram

GMU 26 (Hatchets) Oct  16–31 2 Ram

GMU 27 (Peloncillos) Nov  1–30 3 Ram
1 Access through the White Sands Missile Range (WSMR) is required for this hunt. In addition to the 

bighorn sheep license, validation and stamp fees, WSMR charges a $150 per hunter access fee. 
Successful applicants will receive an instruction email from WSMR detailing payment of the fee, 
including payment deadline. Hunters should anticipate the most opportune times to hunt during the 
8-day hunt period will be on weekends, non-duty days and holidays. Military authorities may delay 
or cancel hunts. WSMR Security: See page 40.

2 GMU 20 south of NM 51.
3 GMU 20 north of NM 51. Hunts occur on private land only. Landowner may place restrictions on 

these hunts. For information contact the Armendaris Ranch at: armendarisranch@retranches.com  
or (575) 894-6782.
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General Information
• While in The Field You Must Have All of the Following (page 8)
• All Ibex Harvests Must Be Tagged (pages 29–30)
• License Requirements and Fees (see pages 8–13)
• Legal Sporting Arms for Ibex Hunting (specified by hunt code,  

see page 28)
• Youth-only Hunts (see page 14)

Ibex Draw Licenses 
The deadline to apply for ibex draw licenses is March 16, 2022. Up to two persons may apply per 
application.
Successful applicants will be mailed an ibex draw license/tag unless the E-Tag option is chosen. The 
license includes a hunt code and description of the unit, sporting-arm type, season dates and bag 
limit. Tags include instructions for proper tagging.
Any valid ibex license can be used for the year-round IBX–1–528 hunt. Licenses for the IBX–1–525 
any legal sporting arm hunt are once-in-a-lifetime. Hunters must apply by March 16, 2022 to be 
considered for this hunt on the Florida Mountains hunt area. A hunter may apply for this once-in-
a-lifetime ibex draw license, if she/he has not previously held an IBX–1–525 license. 

Cougar Hunting in Unit 25, Florida Mountains Hunt Area
Cougar hunting is closed in the Florida Mountains hunt area during any ibex season, except by 
licensed ibex hunters who also possess a cougar license. Cougar hunters must adhere to the allowed 
sporting arm type and season dates specified on their ibex license.

Bag Limit
F–IM: Any female or any immature ibex with horns less than 15 inches in length  See page 121 

ES Either sex (any one ibex) 

Over-the-Counter License
The over-the-counter ibex license for outside the Florida Mountains hunt area is hunt code  
IBX–1–528. Licenses are valid year-round and can be purchased online, by telephone and at license 
vendors and NMDGF offices. An IBX–1–528 license holder may take an unlimited number of 
animals. Each ibex must be tagged. Additional tags are available at the NMDGF Las Cruces 
office. Do not hunt without a valid tag.
If planning to hunt within 14 days of online or telephone purchase, hunters may be required to 
obtain a tag at a license vendor or NMDGF office. Please note: Ibex draw applicants may not 
purchase the OTC license before the draw results are released.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
Ibex
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Ibex Draw Licenses
Hunt Dates Hunt Code Licenses Bag Limit

Bow - 25 Oct  1-15 IBX-2-535 100 ES
Bow - 25 Jan  15-29, '23 IBX-2-536 100 ES
Muzzle - 25 Dec  6-20 IBX-3-540 25 ES
Any Legal - 25 / Youth Only Dec  27-Jan 10, '23 IBX-1-500 15 ES
Any Legal - 25 Feb  4-12, '23 IBX-1-520 20 F-IM
Any Legal - 25 Feb  18-26, '23 IBX-1-521 20 F-IM
Any Legal - 25 Mar  4-12, '23 IBX-1-522 20 F-IM
Any Legal - 25 Mar  18-26, '23 IBX-1-523 20 F-IM
Any Legal - 25 once-in-a-lifetime Nov  15-29 IBX-1-525 25 ES

 
Any Legal Apr  1-Mar 31, '23 IBX-1-528 Unlimited ES

Florida Mountains 
Hunt Area
Portion of Unit 25 (shaded): 
bounded by U.S. Hwy. I-10 on the 
north; the U.S./Mexico border on the 
south; N.M. Hwy. 11 on the west; 
and the Doña Ana/Luna County line 
on the east.

Unit 25 (Florida Mountains)

Over-the-Counter: Statewide (off-Florida Mountains)
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Barbary sheep (top): Both males and 
females have shaggy front quarters 
and are sand colored. Males have 
crescent-shaped horns. NMDGF photo.

Bighorn sheep (right) are grey-brown  
colored and have white hindquarters.  
Immature males that do not have fully 
grown horns may resemble Barbary 
sheep at first glance. NMDGF photo by 
Clint Henson.
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Barbary Sheep
General Information
• While in The Field You Must Have All of the Following (page 8)
• All Barbary Sheep Harvests Must Be Tagged (pages 29–30)
• License Requirements and Fees (see pages 8–13)
• Legal Sporting Arms for Barbary Sheep Hunting (specified by hunt code, 

see page 28)
• Hunting on Military Reservations (see page 40)

Barbary Sheep Draw Licenses
The deadline to apply for Barbary sheep draw licenses is March 16, 2022. Up to four persons may 
apply per application.
Successful applicants will be mailed a Barbary sheep draw license/tag unless the E-Tag option is 
chosen. The license includes a hunt code and description of the unit, sporting-arm type, season dates 
and bag limit. Tags include instructions for proper tagging.

Bag Limit: Either sex (any one Barbary sheep).

All public draw Barbary sheep licenses (with the exception of McGregor range license holders who 
are stationed at Fort Bliss, El Paso, Texas and have paid the resident fees) shall also be valid for  
over-the-counter hunt areas with any big-game sporting arm. 

Hunt Dates Hunt Code Licenses Bag Limit

Any Legal Dec  31, '22-Jan  1, '23 BBY-1-110 20 ES
Any Legal - Military 
Only

Dec  31, '22-Jan  1, '23 BBY-1-111 20 ES

Units 29, 30
Bow Jan  1-15, '23 BBY-2-105 75 ES
Any Legal Oct  8-12 BBY-1-106 100 ES
Any Legal Dec  3-16 BBY-1-107 250 ES
Any Legal Jan  20, '23-Feb 2, '23 BBY-1-108 250 ES
Any Legal Feb  11-24, '23 BBY-1-109 250 ES

Bow Jan  1-15, '23 BBY-2-100 75 ES
Any Legal Oct  8-12 BBY-1-101 75 ES
Any Legal Dec  3-16 BBY-1-102 225 ES
Any Legal Jan  20, '23-Feb 2, '23 BBY-1-103 225 ES
Any Legal Feb  11-24, '23 BBY-1-104 225 ES

1 Barbary sheep hunters in GMU 34 should be aware that bighorn sheep may be present  
(see page 96).

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Unit 28 McGregor Range

Units 32, 34, 36, 37
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Over-the-Counter Licenses
Bag Limit: Either sex (any one Barbary sheep).

Statewide Licenses: Open units (listed below)
Over-the-counter barbary sheep licenses for public and private lands are available at license vendors, 
NMDGF offices, online: www wildlife state nm us or by telephone: 1-888-248-6866.  
If planning to hunt within 14 days of online or telephone purchase, hunters may be required to 
obtain tags at a license vendor or NMDGF office. Please note: Barbary sheep draw applicants may 
not purchase the OTC license before the draw results are released.

Hunt Dates Hunt Code Licenses Bag Limit

Any Legal Apr  1-Mar 31, '23 BBY-1-300 Unlimited ES

(1) The western portion of GMU 34 shall be open to over-the-counter licenses. The eastern portion of 
GMU 34 shall be closed to any license holder of a BBY-1-300 license. The boundary dividing the western 
portion of GMU 34 is the line beginning at the junction of NM Hwy 244 and the Mescalero Apache Indian 
Reservation and traveling south to US Hwy 82. Hwy 82 to NM Hwy 130 south to NM Hwy 6563 continuing 
south as it transitions to County Road E12 (Sacramento River Road). County Road E 12 south to the Unit 
34/GMU 28 boundary. Barbary sheep hunters in GMU 34 should be aware that bighorn sheep may be 
present (see page 96).

Private-land Only Barbary Sheep Licenses
To hunt on private land only, hunters must obtain a private-land only Barbary sheep license and 
tag—available at NMDGF offices, license vendors, online and by telephone. Online and telephone 
purchases must be made at least 14 days prior to hunt start date to allow mailing of tags, unless the 
E-Tag option is chosen. When obtaining a private-land only Barbary sheep license, the hunter must 
select a hunt code corresponding with a Barbary sheep-draw hunt code for the unit(s), bag limit, 
sporting arm type(s) and season date. Written permission from the landowner is required  
while hunting.
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Barbary Sheep
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866

Units 2, 4-7, 9, 10, 12, 15, 17, 18, 19 (portion outside  
WSMR and Fort Bliss), and 21, 25, 31, 33, 34, 38-59
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Oryx
General Information
• While in The Field You Must Have All of the Following (page 8)
• All Oryx Harvests Must Be Tagged (pages 29–30)
• License Requirements and Fees (see pages 8–13)
• Legal Sporting Arms for Oryx Hunting (specified by hunt code,  

see page 28)
• Hunting on Military Reservations (see page 40)
• Mobility-impaired Hunts (see pages 14–15) 
• Youth-only Hunts (see page 14)
• It is Legal to Harvest a Marked Animal (see page 5)

Oryx Draw Licenses
The deadline to apply for oryx draw licenses is March 16, 2022. Up to two persons may apply 
per application. The majority of these hunts occur on the White Sands Missile Range (WSMR). 
Successful applicants will be mailed an oryx draw license/tag unless the E-Tag option is chosen.
All once-in-a-lifetime, broken-horn and youth-only oryx hunts are three-day hunts. Friday will be 
primarily for checking into WSMR. If no military missions are scheduled, hunting may be allowed 
on Friday afternoons after check-in. Additional information concerning Friday opportunities will be 
emailed to each license holder.
WSMR will charge a $150 per hunter access fee. Successful WSMR applicants will receive an email 
from WSMR with instructions for fee payment. Hunters are responsible for timely payment and 
will not be allowed to hunt if the access fee has not been paid by the specified deadline. Military 
authorities may delay or cancel hunts.

Bag Limit (Glossary, page 121)
ES Either sex (any one oryx) 

BHO Any broken-horn oryx (missing a minimum of 25% of one horn) 

White Sands Missile Range (WSMR) Security
Hunters who successfully draw a WSMR hunt, and their guests, must first complete a security- 
background check to be allowed on WSMR. Security-background registration forms will be sent 
in advance to all successful license holders prior to the hunt. All hunters and guests must have 
completed forms approved prior to being allowed access to WSMR. Vehicles entering WSMR are 
subject to search by WSMR security officers. 
WSMR bans all alcoholic beverages, camcorders, radar detectors and concealed weapons. Discovery 
of banned items and/or failure to comply with WSMR requirements or other laws and regulation 
can result in revocation of hunting privileges on WSMR. If escorted off WSMR, license fees are 
nonrefundable.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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White Sands Missile Range (WSMR) Security—continued.

Special Restrictions
•  All WSMR draw oryx hunts with an either-sex bag limit are once-in-a-lifetime hunts and 

may not be applied for if previously held. If another oryx license type that is not once-in-a-
lifetime has been previously held, applicants remain eligible and may still apply for once-in-a-
lifetime hunts. 

• For eligibility questions contact any NMDGF area office or call: 1-888-248-6866.
•  Successful applicants will receive an email from WSMR with instructions for check-in and 

check-out at WSMR. A hunt-area map will be provided at check-in to identify closed areas 
where no hunting will be allowed.

•  No more than three guests may accompany each licensed hunter to assist in cleaning and load-
ing a downed oryx. Only U.S. citizens may be guests of permitted hunters, unless the guest(s) 
of an approved foreign-national hunter with an official escort. No additional help for cleaning 
and loading will be available. Guests may not help the licensed hunter kill the oryx.

• Foreign nationals may apply for once-in-a-lifetime hunts; if drawn they must be escorted at all 
times by an authorized WSMR official while on WSMR.

• Blaze-orange clothing: Hunters and their guests must wear at least 244 square inches of blaze-
orange clothing while hunting on WSMR. 

Outfitted Hunts: WSMR allows use of outfitters and guides only for oryx once-in-a-lifetime, 
broken-horn, youth-only and mobility-impaired hunts. Only those outfitters and guides registered 
with WSMR in advance of the hunt will be allowed to operate on the range. Outfitters and 
guides are not authorized for population-management hunts. It is the hunter’s responsibility 
to verify that an outfitter or guide is in compliance with WMSR policies. For further information 
about registration requirements contact WSMR at: (575) 678-7909 or (575) 678-2993 

Oryx Draw Licenses
Once-in-a-Lifetime Hunts
Hunt Area Hunt Dates Hunt Code Licenses Bag Limit
Stallion Range Sep  9-11 ORX-1-100 65 ES
Rhodes Canyon Sep  23-25 ORX-1-101 65 ES
Rhodes Canyon Oct  21-23 ORX-1-102 65 ES
Stallion Range Nov  4-6 ORX-1-103 65 ES
Rhodes Canyon Dec  2-4 ORX-1-104 65 ES
Stallion Range Jan  13-15, '23 ORX-1-105 65 ES
Stallion Range Jan  27-29, '23 ORX-1-106 65 ES
Rhodes Canyon Feb  10-12, '23 ORX-1-107 65 ES
Red Canyon Feb  24-26, '23 ORX-1-108 65 ES
Stallion Range -  
Mobility Impaired Only 

Oct  7-9 ORX-1-109 20 ES
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Once-in-a-Lifetime Hunts—continued.
Returning Iraq/Afghanistan Resident Veterans Only Hunts
The hunts listed below have been established for New Mexico resident veterans who have served on 
active military duty in Iraq or Afghanistan (see Oryx Hunts for Iraq-Afghanistan Returnees,  
page 17). All hunts are held on White Sands Missile Range (WSMR). No more than two persons 
may apply on each application. Application must be made by March 16, 2022. 
Proof of Military Service Required: Each year, applicants must provide proof of military 
service in Iraq or Afghanistan prior to application. A copy of orders or DD-214 can be emailed: 
specialhunts@state nm us, faxed: (505) 476-8180, or mailed to: NMDGF,  
Special Hunts Office, P.O. Box 25112, Santa Fe, N.M. 87504. 
White Sands Missile Range (WSMR) - Iraq / Afghanistan Resident Veterans Only

Hunt Area Hunt Dates Hunt Code Fee Type Licenses Bag Limit

Stallion Range Sep  9-11 ORX-1-110 S 5 ES

Rhodes Canyon Sep  23-25 ORX-1-111 S 5 ES

Rhodes Canyon Oct  21-23 ORX-1-112 S 5 ES

Stallion Range Nov  4-6 ORX-1-113 S 5 ES

Rhodes Canyon Dec  2-4 ORX-1-114 S 5 ES

Stallion Range Jan  13-15, '23 ORX-1-115 S 5 ES

Stallion Range Jan  27-29, '23 ORX-1-116 S 5 ES

Rhodes Canyon Feb  10-12, '23 ORX-1-117 S 5 ES

Red Canyon Feb  24-26, '23 ORX-1-118 S 5 ES

Youth-only Hunt (This is not a Once-in-a-Lifetime Hunt )
Stallion Range -  
Youth Only

Oct  7-9 ORX-1-119 40 ES

Broken-Horn Oryx Hunts (These are not Once-in-a-Lifetime Hunts ) 
Those who have held an once-in-a-lifetime oryx license may apply for a broken-horn oryx hunt.

Stallion Range Sep  9-11 ORX-1-120 15 BHO

Rhodes Canyon Sep  23-25 ORX-1-121 15 BHO

Rhodes Canyon Oct  21-23 ORX-1-122 15 BHO

Stallion Range Nov  4-6 ORX-1-123 15 BHO

Rhodes Canyon Dec  2-4 ORX-1-124 15 BHO

Stallion Range Jan  13-15, '23 ORX-1-125 15 BHO

Stallion Range Jan  27-29, '23 ORX-1-126 15 BHO

Rhodes Canyon Feb  10-12, '23 ORX-1-127 15 BHO

Red Canyon Feb  24-26, '23 ORX-1-128 15 BHO

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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McGregor Range Hunts (These are not Once-in-a-Lifetime Hunts ) 
Hunts are on lands administered by Fort Bliss. All hunters may apply for the ORX–1–224 
and the ORX–1–226 hunt. Applicants for military-only hunts must submit proof of current 
active-duty status prior to application. Veterans and reservists are not eligible for military-only 
hunts. Hunters are required to possess proof of passing a certified hunter education course, are 
required to wear a blaze-orange vest, and will be subject to security searches. Hunters may be 
required to visit El Paso, Texas to obtain an access pass. For further information, contact Fort Bliss: 
christopher a taylor154 civ@mail mil 

Unit 28  
(McGregor Range)

Hunt Dates Hunt Code Fee Type Licenses Bag 
Limit

Any Legal Dec  17-18 ORX-1-224 S 25 ES

Any Legal - Military Only Dec  17-18 ORX-1-225 S 25 ES

Any Legal Jan  7-8, '23 ORX-1-226 S 25 ES

Any Legal - Military Only Jan  7-8, '23 ORX-1-227 S 25 ES

Off-Range Hunts (These are not Once-in-a-Lifetime Hunts)
Open Areas: Lands administered by the Forest Service, BLM, State Trust Land, and private 
property with written permission. Closed Areas: GMU 28, White Sands Missile Range, Jornada 
Experimental Range, San Andres National Wildlife Refuge, Holloman Air Force Base, Fort Bliss/
McGregor Range in GMU 19, and other lands closed to hunting.  

Statewide - Off-range Hunt Dates Hunt Code Licenses Bag Limit

Any Legal Jun  1-30 ORX-1-204 80 ES

Any Legal - Youth Only Jun  1-30 ORX-1-205 20 ES

Any Legal Jul  1-31 ORX-1-206 80 ES

Any Legal - Youth Only Jul  1-31 ORX-1-207 20 ES

Any Legal Aug  1-31 ORX-1-208 80 ES

Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  1-31 ORX-1-209 20 ES

Any Legal Sep  1-30 ORX-1-210 80 ES

Any Legal - Youth Only Sep  1-30 ORX-1-211 20 ES

Any Legal Oct  1-31 ORX-1-212 80 ES

Any Legal - Youth Only Oct  1-31 ORX-1-213 20 ES

Any Legal Nov  1-30 ORX-1-214 80 ES

Any Legal - Youth Only Nov  1-30 ORX-1-215 20 ES

Any Legal Dec  1-31 ORX-1-216 80 ES

Any Legal - Youth Only Dec  1-31 ORX-1-217 20 ES

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
Oryx
2022–2023
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Any Legal Jan  1-31, '23 ORX-1-218 80 ES

Any Legal - Youth Only Jan  1-31, '23 ORX-1-219 20 ES

Any Legal Feb  1-28, '23 ORX-1-220 80 ES

Any Legal - Youth Only Feb  1-28, '23 ORX-1-221 20 ES

Any Legal Mar  1-31, '23 ORX-1-222 80 ES

Any Legal - Youth Only Mar  1-31, '23 ORX-1-223 20 ES

Population Management Hunts (These are not Once-in-a-Lifetime Hunts )
Oryx population management hunts may occur on or outside WSMR. Hunts may occur on two 
types of areas, standard-hunt areas and secure-hunt areas (formerly Security Badged Hunt areas).
Standard-hunt areas (excluding WSMR and McGregor Range): Applicants should 
choose the 5th-choice oryx hunt option when applying. 
Secure-hunt areas (WSMR only): To be eligible for secure-hunt areas in addition to standard-
hunt areas, applicants must have obtained a hunt authorization code from an approved WSMR 
2022 security sponsor. This sponsor must apply and be approved for a WSMR security-sponsor 
permit by February 15, 2022. The applicant must enter that authorization code in his/her oryx 
5th-choice population management hunt application. Only U.S. citizens may apply for WSMR 
population management hunts.  
Do not apply unless you have a valid hunt authorization code. Hunters unaccompanied by a 
sponsor will be denied access to the hunt. If uncertain about your eligibility, please call NMDGF: 
1-888-248-6866. 

Private-land Hunts (These are not Once-in-a-Lifetime Hunts)
Private-land oryx licenses are valid only on deeded private land. Hunters must possess written 
permission from the landowner. Private-land oryx licenses must correspond to the hunt dates, 
eligibility requirements/restrictions, sporting arm type and bag limits listed for the statewide,  
off-range hunts listed on page 102. 
Statewide private-land, off–range licenses are also available for April (ORX-1-200) and  
May (ORX-1-202). Licenses are available at NMDGF offices and license vendors, online:  
www wildlife state nm us, or by telephone: 1-888-248-6866. Online and telephone purchases 
must be made at least 14 days prior to hunt start date to allow mailing of tag unless the E-Tag 
option is chosen. Please note: Oryx draw applicants may not purchase a private-land license before 
the draw results are released.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Turkey
General Information
• While in The Field You Must Have All of the Following (page 8)
• All Turkey Harvests Must Be Tagged (pages 29–30)
• License Requirements and Fees (see pages 8–13)
• Legal Sporting Arms for Turkey Hunting (shotguns, bows or crossbows, 

see page 29)
• Youth-only Hunts (see page 14)
• It is Legal to Harvest a Marked Animal (see page 5)

Turkey Draw Permits 
The deadline to apply for turkey draw permits is February 9, 2022. Up to two persons may apply  
per application.
Successful applicants must purchase an over-the-counter (OTC) turkey license with tags unless 
the E-Tag option is chosen. A game-hunting license or game-hunting & fishing license is required. 
Draw hunt areas are open only during the dates listed on the permit. If planning to hunt within 14 
days of online or telephone purchase, hunters may be required to obtain tags at a license vendor or 
NMDGF office. Tags include instructions for proper tagging.  

Spring Over-the-Counter (OTC) License Hunts
OTC turkey licenses are available at NMDGF offices, license vendors, online or by telephone: 1-888-
248-6866. Hunters may purchase both spring and fall licenses. 
Areas Open for Spring OTC License Hunts: April 15–May 10                  
STATEWIDE: Except the closed areas listed below.
CLOSED: Unit 2A (areas east of U.S. Hwy. 550 and north of NM Hwy. 173); Unit 2B (areas in 
the Carson National Forest), Unit 2C (areas in the Carson National Forest); Units 6B, 8, 19, 25, 
26, 27, 28, 30, 31; Bernardo WMA, Bill Evans WMA, Double E WMA, Jackson Lake WMA,  
La Joya WMA, Lake Roberts WMA, Marquez WMA, Prairie Chicken WMAs, Red Rock WMA, 
River Ranch WMA, Valle Vidal, W.S. Huey WMA.
Youth-only Spring OTC License Hunt: April 8–10
An early youth-only turkey hunt is available on April 8–10 in all units listed open for  
spring hunting. Draw Permit areas are not open for youth-only spring OTC hunting, unless 
specified on permit.

Bag Limit for Spring Season
The bag limit is 2 bearded turkeys, except in permitted areas.(1) The beard and a patch of feathers 
surrounding the beard must remain on the bird until it is delivered to the place where it will be 
eaten or placed in final storage.
(1) Turkey draw permit holders may kill only the number of turkeys authorized on their permit in the 

permitted area. If only one turkey is allowed they may hunt in any open over-the-counter area during 
the spring season for a second turkey.  

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Turkey Draw Permits Seasons  
(OTC Turkey License Required)

Hunt Dates Hunt Code Licenses Bag Limit
Unit 2A (Areas east of U.S. 550  
and north of NM Hwy. 173)
Any Legal - Youth Only Apr  15-May 10 TUR-1-102 5 1 bearded 

turkey
Unit 2B and 2C (Carson National Forest)
Any Legal Apr  15-May 10 TUR-1-100 115 1 bearded 

turkey
Any Legal - Youth Only Apr  15-May 10 TUR-1-101 50 1 bearded 

turkey

Unit 6B (Valles Caldera National Preserve)
Any Legal 1 Apr  15-30 TUR-1-103 20 1 bearded 

turkey
 1Hunter orientation required (page 38).

Unit 8
Any Legal 2 Apr  15-May 10 TUR-1-104 15 2 bearded 

turkeys

Unit 9 - Marquez WMA
Any Legal - NM Resident Only Apr  15-May 10 TUR-1-105 5 2 bearded 

turkeys
Unit 30 
Washington Ranch 3 (Youth Only)
Any Legal Apr  29-May 1 

or May 6-8
TUR-1-106 4 1 bearded 

turkey
3 This is a special hunting opportunity for youth hunters to harvest a Rio Grande turkey at Washington 
Ranch. Successful draw applicants will be assigned either the April 29–May 1 or May 6–8 hunt date and 
will be contacted with additional hunt details. Hunter orientation is required and will be held on the Friday 
afternoon before the designated hunt begins. Youth hunters will be paired with a conservation officer for a 
Saturday and Sunday hunt. For additional information about this opportunity, contact the Southeast Area 
office:  (575) 624-6135.

Unit 33 - W.S. Huey WMA  
(NM Residents Only)

Hunt Dates Hunt Code Licenses Bag Limit

Any Legal - Youth Only Apr  8-10 TUR-1-107 2 1 bearded turkey
Any Legal - Youth Only Apr  15-17 TUR-1-108 2 1 bearded turkey

Unit 55 - Valle Vidal
Any Legal Apr  15-30 TUR-1-109 20 1 bearded turkey

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Fall OTC License Hunts
Sept. 1–30 (bow only) and Nov. 1–30 (shotgun, bow or crossbow) 

STATEWIDE: Except the closed areas listed below.
CLOSED: Unit 2A (areas east of U.S. Hwy. 550 and north of NM Hwy. 173); Unit 2B (areas in 
the Carson National Forest); Unit 2C (areas in the Carson National Forest); Units 6B, 8, 14, 18, 
19, 20, 25, 26, 27, 28, 30, 31, 33, 38, 43, 49, 50, 53; Bernardo WMA, Bill Evans WMA, Double E 
WMA, Edward Sargent WMA, Jackson Lake WMA, La Joya WMA, Lake Roberts WMA, Marquez 
WMA, Prairie Chicken WMAs, Red Rock WMA, Rio Chama WMA, River Ranch WMA, Sugarite 
Canyon State Park, Valle Vidal, W.A. Humphries WMA and W.S. Huey WMA.

Bag Limit for Fall Season
The bag limit is any one turkey. If a hunter does not harvest a turkey during the September bow-
only hunt, she/he may hunt again in November using legal sporting arms for turkey. 

Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge Youth Spring Turkey Hunt 
The Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge (NWR) will conduct youth spring turkey 
hunts for hunters 17 years of age and younger. Hunts will be held on weekends during April and 
May, 2022 in conjunction with NMDGF seasons. The bag limit is one bearded turkey. Eligible 
hunters will be drawn from a pool of qualified applicants. An application fee of $6 is required per 
application. More information will be available in January 2022 at:  
https://www fws gov/refuge/bosque_del_apache/.  For more information about hunting 
opportunities at Bosque del Apache NWR call: (575) 835-1828.

Turkey
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us

DON’T SHOOT!
Most wildlife is legally protected and may be hunted only with a license 
during open season — this includes occasional visitors such as moose, 

jaguars, red deer and many other non-native and exotic species.
➤ If you see a species that is not typically found in New Mexico,  

it likely is protected and may not be hunted.  

ALWAYS contact your local Game Warden before 
you hunt or kill an unusual animal seen in the wild.  
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Javelina
General Information
• While in The Field You Must Have All of the Following (page 8)
• All Javelina Harvests Must Be Tagged (pages 29–30)
• License Requirements and Fees (see pages 8–13)
• Legal Sporting Arms for Javelina Hunting (specified by hunt code,  

see page 28)
• Hunting on Military Reservations (see page 40)
• Youth-only Hunts (see page 14)
• Bag limit: one javelina

Javelina Draw Licenses
The deadline to apply for javelina draw licenses is March 16, 2022. Up to four persons may apply 
per application. Successful applicants will be mailed a javelina draw license/tag unless the E-Tag 
option is chosen. The license includes a hunt code and description of the unit, sporting-arm type, 
season dates and bag limit. Tags include instructions for proper tagging.
WMAs open to javelina hunting: Prairie-Chicken WMAs - Black Hills (East and West), Claudell; 
Crossroads 1–5; Gallina Wells 1, 1A, 1B and 2–6; Liberty; Marshall; Milnesand; Bluitt (North, South and East); 
Wayside; Antelope Flats; Bledsoe; Little Dipper; Pitchfork; Ranger Lake; and Sandhills Prairie Conservation 
Area. JAV-1-100, JAV-1-104 and JAV-2-103 Hunts: Javelina will be in small, isolated groups 
except in Units 23–27. Before hunting on McGregor Range/Fort Bliss, all hunters are required to 
have proof of passing a certified hunter education course (page 18). 

Hunt Area Hunt Dates Hunt Code Licenses Bag 
Limit

Statewide (excluding  Unit 28) 
Youth Only

Jan  1–Mar  31, '23 JAV–1–100 150 ES 

Units 19, 23–27 Jan  1–31, '23 JAV–2–101 300 ES
Units 19, 23–27 Feb  1–Mar  1, '23 JAV–1–102 1000 ES
Unit 28 McGregor Range - 
Military Only

Dec  31, '22–Jan  1, '23 JAV–1–105 5 ES

Unit 28 McGregor Range Dec  31, '22–Jan  1, '23 JAV–1–106 5 ES
Extended Seasons for Javelina: (JAV-1-100, JAV-1-104  and JAV-2-103)
Properly licensed deer or elk hunters who possess a JAV-1-100, JAV-1-104 or JAV-2-103 license may 
hunt javelina outside of the published javelina hunt dates, but only during the dates and in the unit or 
units of their deer or elk hunt, if open for javelina hunting. Hunters must use the same weapon type 
listed on their deer or elk license. 

Over-the-Counter Licenses 
Hunt Area Hunt Dates Hunt Code Licenses Bag Limit
Statewide (excluding  
Units 19, 23–28)

Jan  16–Mar  31, '23 JAV–1–104 1000 ES

Statewide (excluding  
Units 19, 23–28)

Jan  1–31, '23 JAV–2–103 300 ES

Licenses and tags are available at NMDGF offices, license vendors, online and by telephone. Online and tele-
phone purchases must be made at least 14 days prior to hunt start date to allow mailing of tags unless the E-Tag 
option is chosen.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
Bear
General Information
• While in The Field You Must Have All of the Following (page 8)
• All Bear Harvests Must Be Tagged (pages 29–30)
• License Requirements and Fees (see pages 8–13)
• Legal Sporting Arms for Bear Hunting (see page 28)
• Youth-only Hunts (see page 14) 
• Bear Licenses must be purchased at least two calendar days before 

hunting
• It is Legal to Harvest a Marked Animal (see page 5)

Restrictions and Requirements
Bag Limit: The bag limit is one bear. No cub younger than one-year old or any female 
accompanied by a cub(s) may be taken. 
Closed Areas: Rio Grande Wild and Scenic River Area, including Taos Valley Overlook; all 
wildlife management areas (WMAs are open only to hunters with a valid bear draw permit and bear 
hunting license during draw seasons for that area.); and unit 6B (Valles Caldera National Preserve). 
Electronic Calls: Electronic calls are allowed for bear hunting.   

Bear Management Zones and Harvest Limits (map, page 112): New Mexico is divided 
into 14 bear management zones, enabling NMDGF to better manage regional bear populations. 
Each zone has two harvest limits: 1) the total number of bears that may be harvested (total limit); 
and 2) the number of female bears that may be harvested (female limit). Harvest limits for each bear 
management zone are listed in the table on page 112. Bear management zones close when harvests 
reach 90% of the total limit, 90% of the female limit, or when the season has ended—whichever 
occurs first.
Bow Only: Sandia Ranger District in Zones 8 and 14, and Sugarite Canyon State Park. 
Zone Closure: Before hunting, hunters must verify their preferred zone is still open.  
Check online: www wildlife state nm us/hunting/information-by-animal/big-game/bear/  
or call: 1-877-950-5466 
Pelt Tags Required: Harvested bears must be both carcass tagged and pelt tagged. The carcass 
tag must be properly notched and attached immediately after the animal is harvested. The hunter 
must present the carcass tag, skull, and hide for pelt tagging to any conservation officer or any 
NMDGF office within five days of killing the bear before the pelt can be frozen, processed, tanned 
or salted by a taxidermist or before transporting the hide outside New Mexico, whichever occurs 
first. Hunters who appoint a designee to transport the harvested bear for pelt tagging are 
required to contact a conservation officer prior to pelt tagging to receive a designee code.
Hunters or their designee are required to present the unfrozen skull of any bear killed with the 
mouth fixed open for removal of a premolar tooth. Hunters or their designee must provide all 
required information at the time of pelt tagging including, but not limited to, sex of the animal, 
and date and location of harvest. The pelt tag must remain attached to the hide until the hide is 
processed. Improperly tagged hides will be seized by NMDGF.
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Proof of Sex: The testicles, penis and/or baculum of a male, or the vulva of a female, must 
remain naturally attached to the hide and be visible to the NMDGF tagging official. NMDGF 
will pelt tag a harvested bear only if proof of sex is attached to the hide and readily visible to the 
tagging official. Bears presented to NMDGF for tagging without proof of sex attached will  
be seized. 

Use of Dogs: Dog use is not allowed on wildlife management areas (WMAs) or during 
September bow seasons. Dog use is allowed to hunt bears elsewhere during hunts for any legal 
sporting arm (see table, page 110). When dogs are used to hunt bears, the licensed hunter who 
harvests the bear must be present continuously from the time any dog is released. Dogs may be 
released only during legal hunting hours. There is no pursuit or training season outside the regular 
open season.

Baiting and Trapping: Baiting and trapping are not legal methods for taking bear. If 
accidentally trapped, the bear must be released. For assistance releasing a bear, contact NMDGF.

Valle Vidal: It is unlawful to hunt bears on the Valle Vidal, except for hunters who successfully 
draw a bear draw permit and purchase a game-hunting license and an over-the-counter bear license. 
Dogs are allowed during the April 15–May 20 and the Aug. 1–31 hunts.
Properly licensed Valle Vidal elk hunters may also hunt bears on the Valle Vidal provided they:  
1) Possess a Valle Vidal rifle, muzzleloader or bow elk license; 2) Possess an OTC bear license and 
tag; 3) Use the sporting arm type specified for their elk hunt; 4) Hunt only during the dates of their 
elk hunt; and 5) The harvest limit in Bear Management Zone 5 has not been met and the season is 
still open.

Livestock Damage: Landowners, lessees or their regular employees do not need a license 
to kill a bear that has killed domestic livestock or presents an immediate threat to human life or 
property. Any person taking such action must report the incident to NMDGF within 24 hours. 
Pelts, claws and other parts of depredating animals taken under this provision are the property of 
the State of New Mexico and must be delivered to NMDGF.

Over-the-Counter (OTC) License Hunts
An OTC bear license may be purchased at license vendors, NMDGF offices, online:  
www wildlife state nm us or by telephone: 1-888-248-6866. If planning to hunt within 14 days 
of online or telephone purchase, hunters may be required to obtain tags at a license vendor or 
NMDGF office, unless the E-Tag option is chosen.
Bear Licenses must be purchased at least two calendar days before hunting. 
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Bear
Over-the-Counter Seasons
Zone: Open Units Hunt Dates Sporting Arm Dog Use Total Limit Female Limit
Zone 1 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed 158 63
Units: 4–7, 51, 52 Sept  25–Nov  15 Any Legal Allowed
Zone 2 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed 15 6
Unit 2 Sept  25–Nov  15 Any Legal Allowed
Zone 3 Aug  16–31 Any Legal Allowed 65 26
Units: 49, 50, 53 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed 

Sept  25–Nov  15 Any Legal Allowed
Zone 4 Aug  16–31 Any Legal Allowed 109 43
Units: 45, 46, 48 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed

Sept  25–Nov  30 Any Legal Allowed
Zone 5 Aug  16–31 Any Legal Allowed 92 37
Units: 54, 55 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed

Sept  25–Nov  15 Any Legal Allowed
Zone 6 Aug  16–31 Any Legal Allowed 33 13
Units: 39-43, 47, 59 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed

Sept  25–Nov  15 Any Legal Allowed
Zone 7 Aug  16–31 Any Legal Allowed 35 14
Units: 56–58 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed

Sept  25–Nov  15 Any Legal Allowed
Zone 8 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed 11 4
Unit 8 Oct  15–Nov  15 Any Legal * Allowed

* USFS Sandia Ranger District is bow only.

Zone 9 Aug  16–31 Any Legal Allowed 36 14
Units: 9, 10 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed

Sept  25–Nov  15 Any Legal Allowed
Zone 10 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed 146 58
Units: 12, 13, 15–18, 
20–24, 26, 27

Sept  25–Dec  15 Any Legal Allowed

Zone 11 Aug  16–31 Any Legal Allowed 36 14
Units: 37, 38 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed

Sept  25–Nov  30 Any Legal Allowed
Zone 12 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed 33 13
Unit 34 Sept  25–Dec  15 Any Legal Allowed
Zone 13 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed 16 6
Unit 36 Sept  25–Nov  30 Any Legal Allowed
Zone 14 Sept  1–24 Bow Only Not Allowed 19 7
Unit 14 Oct  15–Nov  15 Any Legal Allowed
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Bear Draw Permits (OTC bear license required)
Deadline to apply for bear draw permits is February 9, 2022. Only one person may apply  
per application.
Successful applicants must purchase an over-the-counter bear license with tags unless the E-Tag 
option is chosen. A game-hunting license or game-hunting & fishing license and applicable stamps 
are required. Licenses and tags are available at NMDGF offices, license vendors, online and by 
telephone. Online and telephone purchases must be made at least 14 days prior to hunt start date to 
allow mailing of tags unless the E-Tag option is chosen. Tags include instructions for proper tagging.
Bear draw permits are available for the areas listed in the table below. Only New Mexico residents 
may apply for WMA bear draw permits.  Hunters may hunt during the over-the-counter season 
if they have not taken a bear during their draw hunt. During draw hunts, dogs are prohibited on 
WMAs and Sugarite Canyon State Park, and are allowed only in the Valle Vidal.

Bear Draw Permits
Date Hunt Code Permits 

Unit 2
Any Legal - Youth Only Aug  1–31 BER–1–100  5

Unit 4 Sargent WMA Only
Any Legal - NM Resident Only Aug  1–31 BER–1–101 10

Unit 4 Humphries WMA Only
Any Legal - NM Residents Only Aug  1–31 BER–1–102  5

Unit 9 Marquez WMA Only
Any Legal - NM Resident Only Aug  1–31 BER–1–103  5

Units 54 and 55A - Urraca, E.S. Barker, and Colin 
Neblett WMAs, and Valle Vidal 
Any Legal Aug  1–31 BER–1–104 32

Unit 55A - Valle Vidal Only
Any Legal Apr  15–May 20 BER–1–105 20

Unit 57 - Sugarite Canyon State Park Only
Bow Only Aug  1–31 BER–2–106 5 
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General Information
• While in The Field You Must Have All of the Following (page 8)
• All Cougar Harvests Must Be Tagged (pages 29–30)
• License Requirements and Fees (see pages 8–13)
• Legal Sporting Arms for Cougar Hunting (see page 28)
• Hunting on Military Reservations (see page 40)
• Cougar Licenses must be purchased at least two calendar days  

before hunting 
• It is Legal to Harvest a Marked Animal (see page 5)

Over-the-Counter (OTC) Licenses
An OTC cougar license may be purchased at license vendors, NMDGF offices, online:  
www wildlife state nm us or by telephone: 1-888-248-6866. Before purchasing an over-the-counter 
(OTC) cougar license, hunters must purchase or possess a game-hunting license or game-hunting & 
fishing license. If planning to hunt within 14 days of online or telephone purchase, hunters may be 
required to obtain tags at a license vendor or NMDGF office. Tags include instructions for  
proper tagging.
Cougar licenses must be purchased at least two calendar days before hunting.

Bag Limit: The bag limit is two cougars. No spotted kitten(s) or any female accompanied by a 
spotted kitten(s) may be taken.

Mandatory Cougar Identification Course
NMDGF requires all cougar hunters to successfully complete a cougar identification course.  
The cougar ID number is issued upon successful completion of the course through your NMDGF 
online account. 

Cougar Seasons
Statewide Cougar Season: April 1, 2022–March 31, 2023.

Cougar Management Zones and Harvest Limits
New Mexico is divided into 18 cougar management zones, enabling NMDGF to better manage 
regional cougar populations. Each zone has two harvest limits: 1) the total number of cougars that 
may be harvested (total limit); and 2) the number of female cougars that may be harvested (female 
limit). Harvest limits for each cougar management zone are listed on page 115. 

Cougar management zones will close and hunting will cease when harvests reach 90% of the total 
limit, 90% of the female limit or when the season has ended, whichever occurs first.

Zone Closures
Before hunting, hunters must verify their preferred zone is still open. Check online:  
www wildlife state nm us/hunting/information-by-animal/big-game/cougar  
or call: 1-877-950-5466.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
Cougar
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Baiting and Trapping: Baiting and trapping are not legal methods of taking cougar.  If 
accidentally trapped, the cougar must be released.  Should assistance be needed to release a cougar, 
contact NMDGF.

Pelt Tags Required
Harvested cougars must be both carcass tagged and pelt tagged. The carcass tag must be properly 
notched and attached immediately after the animal is harvested. The hunter must present the carcass 
tag, skull, and hide for pelt tagging to any conservation officer or NMDGF office within five days 
of killing the cougar before the pelt can be frozen, processed, tanned or salted by a taxidermist, or 
before transporting the hide outside New Mexico, whichever occurs first. Hunters who appoint 
a designee to transport the harvested cougar for pelt tagging are required to contact a 
conservation officer to receive a designee code prior to pelt tagging. Hunters or their designee 
are required to present to any NMDGF office the unfrozen skull of any cougar killed with the 
mouth fixed open for removal of a premolar tooth. Hunters or their designee must provide all 
required information at the time of pelt tagging including, but not limited to, sex of the animal, 
and date and location of harvest. The pelt tag must remain attached to the hide until the hide is 
processed. Improperly tagged hides will be seized by NMDGF. 

Proof of Sex
The testicles, penis and/or baculum of a male, or the vulva of a female, must remain naturally 
attached to the hide and be visible to the NMDGF’s tagging official. NMDGF will pelt tag a 
cougar only if proof of sex is attached to the hide and readily visible to the tagging official. Cougar 
hides presented to the NMDGF for tagging without proof of sex attached will be seized.

Livestock Damage
Landowners, lessees and/or their regular employees are not required to have a license to kill any 
cougar that has killed domestic livestock or presents an immediate threat to human life or property. 
Any person taking such action must report the incident to NMDGF within 24 hours. Pelts, 
claws and other parts of depredating animals taken under this provision are the property of the State 
of New Mexico and must be delivered to NMDGF.
Use of Dogs 
Dog use is not allowed on wildlife management areas (WMAs) or to pursue cougars during 
September 1-24 bow seasons. Dogs use is allowed to hunt cougars elsewhere during hunts for 
any legal sporting arm. When dogs are used to hunt cougars, the licensed hunter who harvests the 
cougar must be present continuously from the time any dog is released. 
Dogs may be released only during legal hunting hours. There is no pursuit or training season 
outside the regular open season. 

Florida Mountains Hunt Area–Unit 25: Cougar hunting is not allowed in the Florida 
Mountains hunt area during any ibex season, except by licensed ibex hunters (only for sporting arm 
type and season dates as specified on the ibex license). 

Electronic calls: Electronic calls may be used for cougar. 
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Closed Areas: Sugarite Canyon State Park; Rio Grande Wild and Scenic River Area, 
including Taos Valley Overlook; Unit 6B (Valles Caldera National Preserve). 

Wildlife Management Areas: Cougar hunting by licensed deer and/or elk hunters who 
also possess a valid cougar license is allowed in the E.S. Barker, Colin Neblett, Humphries, 
Marquez, Sargent and Urraca WMAs, and the Valle Vidal. All other wildlife management areas are 
closed. Licensed deer and elk hunters may hunt cougar in open WMAs provided they: 1) Possess 
a valid deer or elk license for the WMA; 2) Possess a cougar license with tags; 3) Use the sporting 
arm type specified for their deer or elk hunt; 4) Hunt only during the dates of their deer or elk 
hunt; and 5) The harvest limit in the cougar zone has not been met. Dogs are not allowed. 

Cougar Management Zones
Cougar management zone locations in New Mexico are designated in the map on page 116.

Zones and Season Limits
Zone Open Units Total Limit Female Limit
A 2, 7 42 13
B 5, 6, 50, 51 25 8
C 43, 45, 46, 48, 49, 53 57 17
D 41, 42, 47 , 59 15 5
E 9 , 10 43 13
G 13 , 17 50 15
H 18, 19, 20 29 9
I 36, 37, 38 24 7
J 15, 16, 21 84 25
K 22, 23, 24 45 14
L 25, 26, 27 19 8
M 31, 32, 33, 39, 40 25 7
N 4 , 52 13 4
O 12 17 5
P 56, 57 , 58 14 7
Q 28–30 , 34 35 11
R 54 , 55 26 8
S 8 , 14 17 5
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New rule available January 2021: www.wildlife.state.nm.us/home/publications

Wolves Are a Federally Protected Species
The Mexican Wolf Experimental Population Area includes portions of New Mexico. Wolves are 
protected by the federal Endangered Species Act and by the New Mexico Wildlife Conservation Act. 
Federal penalties for shooting a wolf can include a year in jail and a $50,000 fine with additional 
New Mexico state penalties for violating the Wildlife Conservation Act .
Rewards up to $45,000 for information leading to arrest and prosecution of wolf poachers 
are offered by federal and state agencies and conservation organizations jointly. 

It is illegal to:
• Kill or injure a wolf because it is near you or your property.
• Kill or injure a wolf if it attacks your pet.
• Kill or injure a wolf feeding on dead livestock.
• Enter posted closures around release pens, active dens and rendezvous sites.
• Shoot a wolf because of mistakenly identifying it as a coyote or anything else (page 118).

However, it is legal to kill, injure or harass a wolf if:
• The wolf is in the act of killing, wounding or biting cattle, sheep, horses, mules or  

burros owned by you and which are on private or tribal land.
• Acting in defense of human life.
Any person taking such action must report the incident within 24 hours to the Mexican Wolf 
Interagency Field Office: 1-888-459-9653 or the NMDGF 24-hour dispatch telephone:  
1-800-432-4263.  For more information about Mexican wolves and the USFWS Wolf Recovery 
Program, visit: www fws gov/southwest/es/mexicanwolf/.

Mexican Gray Wolf
2022–2023
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Wolf Encounters and Identification 
The Gila National Forest and surrounding areas are locations where wolf encounters may occur. 
Mexican gray wolves typically weigh between 50–80 pounds, stand 28–32 inches at the shoulder 
and measure 5-1/2 feet from snout to tail (approximately the size of a large German shepherd). Coat 
color varies, but solid black or white Mexican wolves do not occur. 

Coyotes (top) and Mexican gray wolves 
(bottom) can be difficult to differentiate 
at a distance or at quick glance; Mexican 
gray wolves weigh two to three times 
more, have larger, blocky heads with 
more rounded ears, and feet larger in 
proportion to the body. Not all wolves 
have radio collars. Photo courtesy of the 
Mexican Wolf Inter-agency Field Team.

General information: 1-888-248-6866 Operation Game Thief:1-800-432-4263
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Use this certificate if you give game animals or parts to a person or organization.

I, _______________________________________________________________tel.: (____) ____–______,
Full name of license holder. Telephone number. Please print. 

Address: _______________________________________________________________, 
Address of license holder required. Please print.

on this day: ___/___/___ at:  _________________________________________________________ , 
Date of transaction; Place of transaction.

hereby convey to: _______________________________  the following game animal(s) or parts: 
 Full name of person receiving game animal(s) of parts.
_________________________________________________________________________________,

Detailed description of the kind and number of animals donated or the kind, approximate weight and specific parts donated.  
(Example: one elk hind quarter weighing approximately 75 lbs.) 

for the purpose of:, ______________________________________________________ ,
Donation, taxidermy and/or meat processing.

taken in GMU ______  under license #: ______________________  and taken on: ___/___/___.

Donor: _______________________________   Recipient: _______________________________
(Signature of license holder) (Signature of recipient)

By signing we understand and acknowledge to postdate, predate or otherwise falsify a Possession Certificate is unlawful.

#

Possession  Certificate

Skulls Are State Property
Skulls are both fascinating and valuable. When found in the field, the skulls of all protected species 
remain the property of New Mexico—unless from an animal legally taken by a licensed hunter 
during an approved hunting season. This rule applies to all individuals, whether hunting or not. 
This important law enables conservation officers to better regulate the taking of big-game animals 
solely for the head or trophy.
Deer and elk shed antlers each year. Although possession of shed antlers is legal, possession of antlers 
attached to a skull found in the field is not. Antlered skulls may be available for purchase from 
NMDGF. If purchased, the receipt must be retained by the owner. Should probable cause suggest 
an animal was killed or is possessed unlawfully, conservation officers may confiscate such skulls.  
If you find the skull of a protected animal, leave it where it is found and contact an NMDGF 
conservation officer.

New Mexico Department of Game and Fish  Conserving New Mexico's Wildlife for Future Generations
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Active Duty Military (N.M. Resident) Discount: Current active duty in the 
Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps or Coast Guard for a minimum period of 90 days. 
Members of the National Guard or Military Reserve Component and commissioned 
officers of the U.S. Public Health Service or National Oceanic and Atmospheric 
Administration who have completed a minimum of six years of continuous honorable 
service. This definition does not apply to military-only hunts (page 123).

Antlerless (A) Deer or Elk: Any deer or elk without antlers. 

Antler Point Restricted Elk (APRE/6): A legal APRE/6 elk must have six or more 
points of any length on at least one antler for an APRE/6 hunt. A brow tine or eye guard 
counts as one point. A burr at the base of the antler does not count as a point.

Antler Point Restricted Elk or Antlerless (APRE/6/A): Antler-point-restricted 
elk (six or more points on at least one antler) or an antlerless elk.

Any Legal Sporting Arm: Any firearm, muzzle-loader, compressed air gun, shotgun, 
bow or crossbow. All firearms, except handguns, must be designed to be fired from the 
shoulder. Legal sporting arms for each species are defined on pages 28–29.

Arrow or Bolt: Only arrows or bolts having broadheads with cutting edges may be 
used, except that “judo”, “blunt” or similar small game points may be used for upland 
game and migratory game bird hunting.  

Bag Limit: The protected species, qualified by species, number, sex, age, antler/horn 
requirement, or size allowed by state game commission rule that a legally licensed person 
may attempt to take or take. 

Bait: Any salt, mineral, grain, feed, commercially produced game attractant or any other 
organic material which is attractive to wildlife. An area must be completely free of bait 
(including feeders) for at least 10 days prior to hunting.

Baiting: The placing, exposing, depositing, distributing, or scattering of any bait on 
or over areas where any person is attempting to take protected game mammals or game 
birds as defined in 17-2-3 NMSA 1978.

Big Game Species: Includes Barbary sheep, bear, bighorn sheep, cougar, deer, elk, 
ibex, javelina, oryx and pronghorn.

Bighorn Sheep Ewe: Any female bighorn sheep.

Bighorn Sheep Ram: Any male bighorn sheep.

Bow: Compound, recurve, or long bow, which is not equipped with a mechanical device 
(draw lock) which locks the bow string at full draw. Sights on bows shall not project 
light, however, illuminated pins/reticles and scopes of any magnification  
are allowed. 

Glossary of Terms
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Broken-horn Oryx: An oryx of either sex that has one or more horns missing at least  
25% of its normal length. This may be determined by comparing the broken horn’s 
length to the remaining horn or where it is readily apparent the terminal end would not 
taper to a point for another 25% of growth.
Bullet: A single projectile fired from a firearm which is designed to expand or fragment 
upon impact. Tracer or full metal jacket ammunition is not legal for the take or 
attempted take of any big game species.
Cellular or Satellite Camera: Any remote camera which transmits or is capable of 
transmitting images or video wirelessly via a cellular, Wi-Fi or satellite connection.
Compressed Air Gun: Handgun or rifle that propels a single, nonspherical projectile 
by compressed air. Compressed air guns must be at least .22 caliber or larger for hunting 
javelina and cougar.
Crossbow: A device with a bow limb or band of flexible material that is attached 
horizontally to a stock and has a mechanism to hold the string in a cocked position. 
Sights on crossbows shall not project light; however, illuminated pins/reticles and scopes 
of any magnification are allowed.
Depredation Damage Fee: A fee required of all big-game hunters that is included 
in the price of each big-game license. The fee is $3 for each resident and $10 for each 
nonresident big-game license. Money generated is being used to develop permanent 
solutions to chronic wildlife depredation problems throughout the state.
Drone: Any device used or designed for navigation or flight in the air that is unmanned 
and guided remotely or by an onboard computer or onboard control system. Drones 
may also be referred to as “unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV)” or “unmanned aerial vehicle 
systems (UAVS)”.
Either Sex (ES): Any male or female of a big-game species.
Either Sex White-tailed Deer (ESWTD): Any male or female white-tailed deer.
Established Road: 1) A road, built or maintained by equipment, which shows no 
evidence of ever being closed to vehicular traffic by such means as berms, ripping, 
scarification, reseeding, fencing, gates, barricades or posted closures; or 2) A two-track 
road which shows use prior to hunting seasons for other purposes such as recreation, 
mining, logging, and ranching and which shows no evidence of ever being closed to 
vehicular traffic by such means as berms, ripping, scarification, reseeding, fencing, gates, 
barricades or posted closures.
Female or Immature Ibex (F–IM): Any female ibex, or any male ibex with horns 
less than 15 inches long. This measurement is the length along the top of the horn from 
the base to the tip of the horn (measurement of the longest horn).

Female or Immature Pronghorn (F–IM): Any female pronghorn or any pronghorn 
without horns or with both horns shorter than its ears.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Fork-Antlered Deer (FAD): Any deer possessing an antler which has a definite fork, 
showing two or more distinct points. A burr at the base does not constitute a point or 
fork. 
Fork-Antlered Mule Deer (FAMD): Any mule deer possessing an antler which has a 
definite fork, showing two or more distinct points. A burr at the base does not constitute 
a point or fork. 
Fork-Antlered White-tailed Deer (FAWTD): Any white-tailed deer possessing an 
antler which has a definite fork, showing two or more distinct points. A burr at the base 
does not constitute a point or fork. 
Fourth-Choice Deer or Elk Hunt: By selecting a fourth-choice quadrant, applicants 
indicate they will accept a deer or elk license for any hunt in that quadrant of the state. Be 
aware success rates for some fourth-choice hunts may be low, due to small and localized 
populations of deer or elk. A hunter drawing a fourth-choice elk hunt could receive a 
license with an antlerless bag limit, even if all other hunt choices were for a mature bull. 
Refunds will not be made to successful applicants. The fourth-choice assignment will 
always be for the same sporting-arm type as the first choice on an application. Not all 
draw hunts are included in the fourth-choice pool.
Game-Hunting License: All hunters must purchase a game-hunting license in order 
to apply for any big-game license or before purchasing any over-the-counter big-game 
or turkey license. It also is valid for hunting all small game. Licenses may be purchased 
at license vendors statewide, including all NMDGF offices, call: 1-888-248-6866 and 
online: www wildlife state nm us  

Game Management Unit (GMU): A subdivision of the state used to manage big 
game species and turkey as described in 19.30.4 NMAC, Boundary Descriptions for 
Game Management Units. 
Habitat Management & Access Validation: All hunters, trappers and anglers 18 
years of age and older on any lands must purchase and possess a $4 Habitat Management 
& Access Validation once per license year. This validation is not required for hunters, 
trappers and anglers younger than 18 years of age, resident anglers 70 years and older 
and 100% disabled resident veterans.
Habitat Stamp (Habitat Improvement Stamp): All hunters on any U.S. Forest 
Service or BLM lands must purchase and possess a $10 habitat stamp once per license 
year. All anglers 12 years and older must purchase and possess this stamp, except resident 
anglers 70 years and older and 100% disabled resident veterans in conjunction with their 
free licenses.

Handicapped Hunter: New Mexico resident with a severe physical or developmental 
disability that substantially limits one or more major life activities.

High-Demand (HD) Hunt: An elk or deer draw hunt with at least 22% nonresident 
applicants for the previous two license years. Nonresidents must pay a higher fee (page 12).

Glossary of Terms
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Junior Hunting License: Reduced-fee licenses are available to resident hunters 
17 years of age or younger. 

Legal Shooting Hours: Legal shooting hours for big game and turkey are from 1/2 
hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset, unless otherwise noted. Mountain Standard 
Time (MST) changes to Mountain Daylight Time (MDT) beginning Sunday, March 
13, 2022 at 2 a.m. and ending Sunday, Nov. 6, 2022 at 2 a.m.

License Year: The period from April 1 through March 31 annually.

Management Zones (Bear and Cougar): Bear or cougar hunt areas consisting of 
one or more GMUs, as described in 19.31.11 NMAC.

Mature Buck (MB) Pronghorn: A pronghorn with at least one horn longer than  
its ears. 

Mature Bull (MB) Elk: A male elk with at least one brow tine extending six or more 
inches from the main beam or at least one forked antler with both branches six or more 
inches long (spike bulls are not legal, page 125).

Mature Bull / Antlerless (MB/A) Elk: Any male elk with at least one brow tine 
extending six or more inches from the main beam or at least one forked antler with both 
branches six or more inches long (spike bulls are not legal, page 125) or any antlerless elk.

Mentor-Youth Hunter Program: This program permits first-time hunters 8 to 17 
years of age to hunt under the supervision of a licensed adult hunter before completing a 
hunter education course. For information see page 19.

Mobility-impaired Hunter (MI): An individual with permanent impairment(s) and/
or disabilities that substantially limit their ability to walk and are certified by a doctor. 
For further information see pages 14–15.

Military-only Hunt: Applicants must be on full-time active duty in the military and 
must provide proof of current military assignment to the Special Hunts Office in Santa 
Fe prior to application. Veterans and reservists are not eligible for these hunts.

Muzzleloader (Muzzle): Sporting arm in which the charge and projectile(s) is loaded 
through the muzzle. Only blackpowder or equivalent blackpowder substitute may be used.  
Use of smokeless powder is prohibited. Also see page 125, Restricted Muzzleloader.

NMDGF: New Mexico Department of Game and Fish.

Nongame Hunting: Nongame species include prairie dogs, ground squirrels, 
Himalayan tahr, porcupine, rabbits, coyotes and skunks. See page 32.

Once-in-a-Lifetime License: A draw license that can be issued only once in an 
applicant’s lifetime. Hunters who have previously held a once-in-a-lifetime-license may 
not apply again. 

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Over-the-Counter (OTC) License: A license available from vendors, NMDGF 
offices, online: www wildlife state nm us and by telephone: 888-248-6866  No drawing 
is required to purchase these licenses.

Population Management Hunt: A hunt designed to manage the number of big 
game on public or private lands where animals have damaged property or may interfere 
with military operations.

Private-land Authorization: Documentation obtained from a private landowner that 
allows a hunter to purchase a private-land elk or pronghorn license.

Private-land Only Deer License: A license authorizing hunters to hunt deer only 
on private land with written permission. Hunters must enter a hunt code from a public-
land hunt for the game management unit (GMU) where the private land is located. Not 
available from license vendors for units 2A, 2B, 2C, 4 and 5A.

Protected Furbearers: Protected furbearers that may be harvested during open 
season include raccoon, badger, weasel, fox, ringtail, bobcat, beaver, muskrat and nutria.  

Protected Species: Protected species include all big game, turkey, squirrels and 
game birds. All protected species are defined in NMSA 1978 Sections: 17-2-3, 17-5-2, 
17-2-13, 17-2-14 and 17-2-4.2. All animals listed as endangered or threatened species or 
subspecies as stated in 19.33.6 NMAC are also protected species.

Public Lands: Public lands include U.S. Forest Service, BLM and State Trust Lands. 
Descriptions of federal and state public lands are listed on pages 38–43.

Quality (Q) Hunt: These hunts are designed to increase opportunities for successful 
harvest, provide wider selections of mature deer or elk, and/or provide a pleasurable 
experience based on timing of the hunt and/or hunter density. Quality hunts are 
determined by the New Mexico State Game Commission, and nonresidents must pay a 
higher fee (page 12).

Ranch-wide Agreements (Pronghorn): Ranch-wide agreements allow private 
landowners to enroll their ranch’s private deeded and public leased acres as one contiguous 
ranch for access by public draw hunters. Landowners are issued authorizations for 
pronghorn licenses valid on that property’s deeded and public leased acres. 

Restricted Muzzleloader (for specific deer hunts): Any muzzle-loading rifle using 
open sights, black powder or equivalent propellant and firing a full bore diameter bullet 
or patched round ball.  The use of in-line ignition, scopes and smokeless powder  
are prohibited.

Senior Hunting Licenses: Reduced-fee deer, elk and game-hunting & fishing 
licenses are available to New Mexico resident hunters 65 years of age and older.

Shotgun: Any centerfire shotgun or muzzle-loading shotgun not larger than 10 gauge.  

Small game: Includes upland game and migratory game birds.

Glossary of Terms
Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: 1-888-248-6866
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Spike Bull: Any antlered male elk with no second fork on any antler

Standard (S) Hunt: Deer or elk hunts which are charged a regular license fee rather 
than a quality or high-demand fee.

State Trust Land: Lands administered by the Commissioner of Public Lands.

U. S. Military (N.M. Resident): Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast 
Guard, or their Reserve Components, Army National Guard, Air National Guard, and 
commissioned members of the U.S. Public Health Service and the National Oceanic and 
Atmospheric Administration.

Veteran (N.M. Resident) Discount: New Mexico resident veteran with a minimum 
of 90 days active duty service in the U.S. Military, or six continuous years in the 
National Guard, Military Reserve Component, or commissioned officers of the U. S. 
Public Health or National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Veterans must 
have been honorably discharged from military service.

Wildlife Management Area (WMA): Properties owned or managed by and under 
the control of the State Game Commission as described in 19.34.5 NMAC.

Written Permission: A document (which may include a valid hunting, trapping 
or fishing license) that asserts the holder has permission from the private land owner 
or their designee to hunt, fish, trap or drive off road on the landowner’s property.  The 
information on the document must be verifiable and include the name of the person(s) 
receiving permission, activity permitted, property’s location and name (if applicable), 
name of person granting permission, date and length of time the permission is granted, 
and phone number or e-mail of the person granting the permission.  Licenses issued for 
private land which have the ranch name printed on them constitute written permission 
for that property and no other permission is required except for private land elk licenses 
in the secondary management zone pursuant to 19.30.5 and 19.31.14 NMAC. 

Youth-only Hunt: To be eligible for a youth-only hunt, each applicant must be 17 
years of age or younger on opening day of the hunt.

Licenses, applications, harvest reporting and general information: www.wildlife.state.nm.us
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Free GPS on Your Phone
New Mexico Hunting, Land Status and Recreation Maps
BLM-New Mexico has partnered with the New Mexico Department of Game and Fish 
(NMDGF) to provide free maps of big-game hunting units and recreational areas on 
public lands. Download the CarryMap app to your mobile device, then download New 
Mexico maps at: www blm gov/nm/huntingmaps

Some of the many features include: 

• Up-to-date land-status maps.

• NMDGF Game Management Units,  
Wildlife Management Areas, Unitization  
Agreements and other designated areas.

• NMDGF Officer Districts and contact 
information.

• State Trust land hunting access points,  
lands withdrawn from hunting, and  
campsite locations.

• GPS mapping capability.

• Record tracks, mark waypoints, and  
share data.

www.blm.gov/maps/frequently-requested/new-mexico/hunting-maps
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Off-Highway Vehicles
Know the Laws, Operate Safely and Enjoy!
New Mexico's off-highway vehicle (OHV) laws are to ensure safe and responsible use of OHVs to protect all 
citizens. OHVs include all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), recreational off-highway vehicles (ROVs), off-highway 
motorcycles and snowmobiles. All OHVs must be registered or properly permitted and equipped with a Forest 
Service-approved spark arrestor. Nonresidents may register an OHV in their home state or can purchase a New 
Mexico nonresident permit at www.B4uRide.com.

All operators and passengers younger than 18 years of age must wear a Department of Transportation (DOT) 
approved helmet, and goggles or safety glasses. Operators younger than 18 years of age must carry proof of 
successful completion of an OHV safety training. Every rider is responsible for knowing and obeying the laws. 
Before riding on public land, visit www.B4uRide.com 

New Mexico OHV Code of Ethics
• Learn about the area where you are planning to ride. Before you ride, contact public land managers or private 

property owners to understand area restrictions and ask for permission. Obtain maps of the area(s) and 
remain on roads, trails and/or areas designated for OHV use.

• Be courteous on the trail. Allow right-of-way to hikers and horseback riders. If you encounter horses pull off 
the trail on the low side, stop your engine, remove your helmet, and speak to the rider. Wait until all horses 
have passed 50 feet beyond your location before restarting your engine.

• Minimize the OHV's impact on other hunters and anglers using the trail. Respect seasonal closures. Avoid 
operation during peak hunting hours. If retrieving game with an OHV, operate at midday to minimize 
disturbance to others. Cross streams where designated and at a 90-degree angle wherever possible.

• Leave gates and fences as you found them, and remember it’s unlawful to travel or hunt on private property 
without the owner’s permission.

• Leave areas cleaner than you found them. A plastic trash bag and bungee cords can be helpful to  
remove trash.

• Obey trail markers and closure signs. If it’s posted closed, stay out!

• Keep your OHV quiet. Excessive sound stresses wildlife and annoys property owners and other recreational 
users. It also contributes to your own riding fatigue. Less sound allows you to ride more comfortably and 
others to enjoy their outdoor experience.

• Approach livestock or wildlife on the trail slowly. Sometimes range cattle will pass the afternoon under shade 
trees along the trail. If you startle them, they may run directly into your path. Give them time to react, allow 
as wide a berth as possible. Remember, it is unlawful to pursue or harass livestock.

• Never mix riding with alcohol or drugs. It’s illegal, and it's dangerous.

• Familiarize yourself with New Mexico’s laws and requirements for OHV use by visiting:  
www.B4uRide.com or telephoning: (505) 222-4728.

Registration and information: www.B4uRide.com
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New Mexico Department of Game and Fish

Electronic Tag  (E-Tag)
E-Tag option is now available for all big game 
and turkey. Operational smartphone required. 

Validate your tag electronically with the NM E-Tag app. 

Works on a supported Android or Apple smartphone even when off-line. 

Information on pages 8–9, 29–30 and 61.


