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OHV ACT
Sections 66-3-1001 through 
66-3-1021 NMSA 1978 

2005 Signed Into Law
Tourism Department & OHV Safety Board
• Trail Safety Fund created (Revenue from 

registrations, user fees, grants, donations)

2009 Law Amended
New Mexico Department of Game and Fish
• OHV Advisory Board created
• 7 members appointed by Governor; 2-year 

terms (staggered), no more than 4 can 
expire (year)

Directs NMDGF To:
• Adopt and promulgate rules, develop a 

management plan, create grant system, 
create a statewide OHV safety education 
and OHV law enforcement strategy.



TRAIL SAFETY 
FUND
OHV Program’s Annual Budget: 
$795,100.00

• OHV Act requires no more than 30% used 
for administrative overhead

• At least 50% shall be devoted to OHV law 
enforcement and education

Grants ($210,00.00)
• Offered when funding is available 
• Law enforcement & non-law enforcement
• Maximum per grant is $15,000.00
• Valid for fiscal year awarded
• Advertised and accepted mid-November 

through March



REGISTRATIONS
Taxation & Revenue Department (MVD)

Resident 
• Shall display registration decal or plate on OHV
• Must register OHV’s used on public land, OHV must 

have spark arrestor
• No registration requirement for private land or 

agricultural purposes
• 2-year  registration costs up to $53, on-paved roads 

$7 (one time purchase)

Non-Resident
• Shall display registration decal or plate on OHV
• Must register OHV’s used on public land, OHV must 

have spark arrestor (User Fee)
• User decal issued by NMDGF (90-day $18, 2 year 

$48, on-paved $7)
• Reciprocity given to states with OHV registrations 

much like N. M. expect for 16 states; Alaska, 
Alabama, S. Carolina, Illinois, Florida, Tenn., etc. 

• ≈71% of the money generated from these sales is 
paid to NMTRD

• Beautification fund, TRD/DOT/MVD Suspense & 
Operating Fund also TRD/DOT/MVD Operating 
Fund for the on-paved roads registration



Statute Violation PA+Fee 2 or more 
citations within 
3 years PA + Fee

Class 1 Violations
66-3-1010.3.A.8 Failure to possess registration/Non-res permit $67 ($61) $107 ($101)
66.3.1010.3.A.10 Violation with headlight or taillight $67 ($61) $107 ($101)
66.3.1010.3.B.2 Failure to possess OHV safety permit $67 ($61) $107 ($101)
66.3.1010.3.E Selling a OHV > 96 decibels $67 ($61) $107 ($101)
66-3-1010.3 Any other violation OHV not defined elsewhere $67 ($61) $107 ($101)

Class 2 Violations
66-3-1010.2 Failure to complete OHV training course $107 ($101) $157 ($151)

66.3-1010.3.A.7 Excess 10 mph within 200 feet of a business, horseback rider, bicyclist pedestrian, livestock or 
occupied dwelling $107 ($101) $157 ($151)

66-3-1010.3.C Person between 15 & 18 years of age operates OHV in violations of supervision  requirements $107 ($101) $157 ($151)
66.3.1010.3.A.11 Operating OHV > 96 decibels $107 ($101) $157 ($151)
66-3-1011.E.1,2 Unauthorized installation, removal, destruction or defacing of a motor vehicle sign $107 ($101) $157 ($151)

Class 3 Violations
66-3-1010.3.A.9 Operating OHV without approved spark arrester $157 ($151) $257 ($251)

66-3-1010.3.A.3 Operating OHV while in pursuit of and intent to hunt or take protected animal or bird in violation State 
Game Commission rules $157 ($151) $257 ($251)

66-3-1010.3.A.4 Operating OHV in pursuit or harassment of livestock or in any manner that negatively affects livestock 
condition

$157 ($151) $257 ($251)

66-3-1010.3.A.5 Operating OHV within an earthen tank or other structure meant to water livestock or wildlife $157 ($151) $257 ($251)

66-3-1010.3.A.6 Operating a motor vehicle in a manner that has a direct negative effect or interferes with people 
engaged in agriculture practices $157 ($151) $257 ($251)

66-3-1010.3.B.1 Person < 18 years of age operating an OHV without wearing eye protection and safety helmet $157 ($151) $257 ($251)
66-3-1010.3.B.3 Person < 18 years of age operating an OHV while carrying a passenger $157 ($151) $257 ($251)
66-3-1010.3.C Person between 10 & 15 years of age who operates an OHV in violation of the supervisions  

requirements
$157 ($151) $257 ($251)

66-3-1010.3.D.1 Person < 10 years of age operating an OHV that is not an age-appropriate size-fit or in violation of the 
supervision requirement $157 ($151) $257 ($251)

Class 4 Violations

66-3-1010.3.A.1 Operating and OHV in a careless, reckless or negligent manner so as to endanger the person or 
property of another $257 ($251) $457 ($451)

66-3-1010.3.A.12 Operating an OHV on any road or area closed to OHV traffic under local, state or federal regulations $257 ($251) $457 ($451)
66-3-1011.A.1,2 Operating and OHV on a limited-access highway or freeway any paved street or highway $257 ($251) $457 ($451)

List of Penalty Assessments for violations of OHV Act and Fees (Bernalillo County) 
Effective AUGUST 31, 2016



Mission
To provide education and 
outreach of the laws 
pertaining to OHV use to the 
public. We implement a 
statewide safety education 
program that promotes safe 
and environmentally 
responsible OHV recreation 
and a respect for private 
property. We encourage 
responsible use of our public 
lands; use that leaves the 
land healthy and unspoiled 
that protect our traditional 
uses, custom, culture, 
wildlife, habitat and allows 
for the continued enjoyment 
of these lands for our 
families and future 
generations.  


