
Trespass laws  
for 

NM, CO, TX, AZ & WY  



New Mexico (Deer Only) 

• Deer hunts:  It shall be unlawful for any 
person: 

•                     (5)     To hunt private 
property without possessing a valid deer 
permit, the proper deer license and 
written permission;  

• Compliance Timeline = 4 years 



Colorado 

• 33-6-116.  HUNTING, FISHING OR TRAPPING ON PRIVATE 
PROPERTY  

• (1) It is unlawful for any person to enter upon privately owned 
land or lands under the control of the state board of land 
commissioners to hunt or take any wildlife by hunting, 
trapping, or fishing without first obtaining permission from 
the owner or person in possession of such land. 

• (2) It is unlawful for any person to post, sign, or indicate that 
any public lands within this state, not held under an exclusive 
control lease, are privately owned lands. 

• (3) Any person who violates this section is guilty of a 
misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by 
a fine of one hundred dollars and an assessment of twenty 
license suspension points. 

• Compliance Timeline = > 22 years in place. 



Texas 

• 61.022.  TAKING WILDLIFE RESOURCES WITHOUT 
CONSENT OF LANDOWNER PROHIBITED.   

• (a)  No person may hunt or catch by any means or 
method or possess a wildlife resource at any time and 
at any place covered by this chapter unless the owner of 
the land, submerged land, or water, or the owner's 
agent, consents. 

• (b)  Except as provided by Subsection (c), a person who 
violates Subsection (a) the first time commits an offense 
that is a Class A Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor and 
is punishable in addition by the revocation or suspension 
under Section 12.5015 of hunting and fishing licenses and 
permits. 

• Compliance Timeline = numerous years (unknown by 
respondent) 



Wyoming 

• 23-3-305  Hunting from highway; entering 
enclosed property without permission; penalty; 
hunting at night without permission prohibited. 

• No person shall enter upon the private 
property of any person to hunt, fish, or trap 
without the permission of the owner or 
person in charge of the property.   
Violation of this subsection constitutes a low 
misdemeanor punishable as provided in W.S. 
23-6-202(a)(v). 

• Compliance Timeline = > 17 years in place. 



Arizona 
• 13-1502 Criminal trespass in the third degree. 

• A person commits criminal trespass in the third 
degree by; 

• Knowingly entering or remaining unlawfully on 
any real property after a reasonable request to 
leave by the owner or any other person having 
lawful control over such property, or reasonable 
notice prohibiting entry. 

• Compliance Timeline = > 50 years in place. 

 



State Law Average 
Cit/year Fine Amt. Revocation % Private 

Land 

New Mexico 
(deer only) 

Landowner 
Consent 
Required 

21 $50-500 Up to 3 years (only if 
kill a deer) 49.5 

New Mexico Criminal 
Trespass 38 $1000 Up to 3 years 49.5 

Colorado 
Landowner 
Consent 
Required 

300 $ 100 Up to 5 years 45 

Colorado Criminal 
Trespass 27 $50-500 Possible 45 

Texas 
Landowner 
Consent 
Required 

94 $25-500 Up to 5 years 90+ 

Texas Criminal 
Trespass 450 $25-500 No 90+ 

Wyoming 
Landowner 
Consent 
Required 

250 $210 After 2nd offense 46 

Wyoming Criminal 
Trespass N/A N/A No 46 

Arizona 
Landowner 
Consent 
Required 

N/A N/A N/A 30 

Arizona Criminal 
Trespass < 20 $75-300 Up to 5 years 30 

 



Summary  

   4 states currently have some legal requirements 
in place where a hunter must obtain consent or 
permission to enter private property even 
though no posting or notice requirement is 
necessary. Failure to obtain consent can results 
in a violation and subject the person to criminal 
punishment and revocation. 

   AZ has a knowingly entering or remaining 
provision similar to NM  & differs from the other 
4 states (which puts the responsibility on the 
hunter).  
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